We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised! Affordable & Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Strathcona Hotel
Ranked #55 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I had a colleage stay at the Strathcona a few months back and she had nothing but great things to say so I thought I'd give them a try as well. The room rates are compariable to most hotels but the location is fabulous. You're in the heart of the city with every convenience you can imagine. It is a boutique hotel so the rooms are not the largest but very clean and stylist. A nice surprise! The staff were pleasant and always quick to say hello. I even ventured into (or rather discovered) the pub downstairs. It's a quiet, low lit place. Nothing special about the menu or what they have on tap but still a nice hangout.
I would reco this place to anyone staying in TO on business - it's a step above.

Room Tip: Avoid a room facing the street - it gets rather loud at night. However all the other rooms face a ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeniseMcDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
locationvaluefresh, General Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

All the team members at the Strathcona hotel downtown toronto join me in thanking you for your feedback and we feel particularly happy that the stay was to your entire satisfaction. We all look forward to having yet another oppourtunity to host your next stay in downtown Toronto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,186 - 1,192 of 1,648 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2011

My wife and I have stayed at the Strathcona on our last few visits to Toronto. We have found the rooms to be very comfortable, clean and well appointed.Staff are always very friendly and helpful and they always have time to help us find a good restaurant or pub. The Strathcona is very conveniently located to the theatre district and is close to everything we want to see!

Even though parking is offsite, access to the hotel from the street is convenient and trouble free. After years of visiting Toronto for both personal and business reasons, I have to say that the value at the Strathcona cannot be beat!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fjmtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
locationvaluefresh, General Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Our team feels particulary proud that they have been able to meet with your complete satisfaction over and over again on your regular visits to downtown Toronto. We greatly appreciate your patronage and thank you for it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Strathcona in August and had a fabulous stay. We live in the suburbs but wanted to go into the city for a night out. The hotel staff were very friendly and professional and the check in was a breeze. Our room wasn't huge but was just fine for our needs (we're sleeping there, not spending our vacation there!). The room was clean and modern and the bed was very comfortable. The rate for the room was very good for downtown Toronto and you can't beat the location - it's close to everything you could want: Union station, great restaurants, theatre district! We also had a few drinks in the pub downstairs which is very nice - warm, welcoming atmosphere, friendly staff and the food is great too!

Overall, the Strathcona is a great hotel and very affordable compared to the going rates at other hotels downtown. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigGuy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
locationvaluefresh, General Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

The staff of the Strathcona Hotel downtown Toronto will be very pleased to learn that they made a difference when you selected to stay with us for a special night out. Thank you for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We have stayed at this hotel 4 or 5 times over the past 4 years. The location is the best you can find for downtown Toronto. The staff is very accomodating and friendly. The rooms were very clean. I will stay their again, and recommend it to friends!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank leafsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
locationvaluefresh, General Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Thank you for your words of appreciation especially so of your expereince with the courtesy and freindliness of the hotel staff. We have a great team and each and every one takes great pride in being able to put smiles on the guests of the hotel. We all look forward to having you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

This hotel is good for several reasons. First of all, it very (and i mean very!) inexpensive for its location. Its basically close to the most touristically attractive places in the Downtown Toronto. Secondly, the staff that we have dealt with was professional and friendly, which seems to be a fairly rare thing in the GTA. Finally, even though the rooms were not as big as expected, the lack of space was made up for by the neatness of them. It might not be the best hotel, if you are planing to stay in the Downtown and watch TV...but if you are here to see what Toronto has to offer, its an awesome place to stay

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anton G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
locationvaluefresh, General Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

All the staff at the hotel join me in thanking you for your feedback and we are glad that your experience of stay at the hotel was to your entire satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Small clean room and very centrally located to CN Tower, Air Canada Centre and subway. It doesn't have it's own parking lot but one was close by. The room had a view of a brick wall and the toilet seat had no cover so naturally something fell in. My biggest issue was that is was advertised as "the deal of the day" on Expedia for $120/night but by 10am that was gone and we ended up paying $280/night. Then when I phoned the hotel I could get a 2 twins for $165/night but by then could not cancel the reservation I had made. Now I am constantly be spammed by advertisements on my computer for the Strathcona to get lowest rate! I find that insulting ..like ha, ha..look what we got you to pay! It certainly is a centrally located hotel and I found it to be clean but with no amenities which I was not interested in, anyway as I was there to be downtown. It would have gotten a better rating if only I hadn't paid so much. NOT good value for the money but generally a nice hotel none-the-less.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. Ours didn't have one but the room across the hall certainly did. Tor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelingal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
locationvaluefresh, General Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Thank you for your apprreciation of the hotels cleanliness and location.

Hotels allocate a part of their inventory to third parties. Such inventory is contracted with terms and conditions that all parties adhere to.

It would appear from your comment that Expedia had exhausted its "Deal Of The Day" inventory and you purchased the room at regular rate. As per contract all reservations made by Expedia are prepaid and non cancellable. We feel very sorry that you were not able to take advantage of a lower priced room type which became available later on, presumably after we may have received a cancellation. I know it can all get very confusing for a guest. I can assure you that our business partners and us are constantly evolving ways and means to be able to make a booking expereince as seemless as possible. Thank you for sharing this experience as it will definately help us to serve you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This hotel was very clean, the personnel friendly and helpful. The rooms are on the small side, but very European style and manageable. We were there for 10 nights and managed quite well. Downtown location, close to train station, restaurants, and a short walk to the theatre district.

Room Tip: Ask for the deluxe room - a bit larger for not much more money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misterwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 137 in Toronto
1,068 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#58 of 137 in Toronto
2,721 reviews
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#46 of 137 in Toronto
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 137 in Toronto
3,563 reviews
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strathcona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathcona Hotel

Address: 60 York St | At Wellington St., Toronto, Ontario M5J 1S8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: £92 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathcona Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Strathcona Hotel Downtown Toronto. Come home to the best location in Downtown Toronto. Imagine all the comforts of home combined with one of the best locations in downtown Toronto and you’ve got The Strathcona Hotel. Stay.Play.Work.Meet.Explore. We can handle it all. And just outside our doors is the best of downtown Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is across the street from the historic Fairmont Royal York Hotel, Union Station / VIA Rail and within two blocks of the Air Canada Centre, Rogers Centre, Metro Toronto Convention Centre, CN Tower, and more located in the midst of the theatre and financial districts. The guest rooms and suite accommodations at The Strathcona Hotel downtown Toronto combine style and substance and have been designed for the contemporary wireless world. We provide easy access to all you need to do by day or night including dining at The York Street Café, dinner and drinks at The Strath Pub, or a workout followed by a massage at the Wellington Fitness Club located right next door. Life here is fresh, functional, friendly, and fun. Sure you can work here, but you’ll do it with a smile. As an independently managed hotel, the good news is that we can break all the rules to do what it takes to make you feel warm, welcome, and worry-free. We get that it’s all about best value for dollar, well-maintained rooms, functional meeting and event space, accommodating staff, and, of course, location, location, location! Come to play. Come to meet. Come to get down to business. We’re more than happy to welcome you home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelClick, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Strathcona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathcona Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing