We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Strathcona Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Omni King Edward Hotel(Toronto)
US$248
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$439
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$365
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$311
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$541
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$494
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$610
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$550
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$513
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$427
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$540
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$482
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$412
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$348
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$466
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$398
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$351
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$252
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,709)
Filter reviews
1,709 results
Traveller rating
352
686
414
160
97
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
352
686
414
160
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunion stationyork streetgreat locationcn towerrooms are smalltim hortons across the streetair canada centrerogers centreroyal yorkexecutive roomwithin walking distanceshort staywi fihockey hall of fameheart of downtownbed was comfortablefront desk staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,074 - 1,079 of 1,709 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Great location opposite the Royal York, walking distance to the Air Canada Centre if you are planning on going there or the Rogers Centre. Small room, but very clean. Helpful staff, small fee for WiFi. 10-15 minute walk to the Eaton Centre or $7 cab ride.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

If you are staying in Toronto for one or two nights and looking for great location at a great price, this is your place. Rooms are not large, but comfortable and clean. I would definitely consider staying at The Strathcona in the future for any nights out, shopping trips or ACC events.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Service was top notch.

Room was small, although always clean, and they charged a small fee for wifi service.

Close to everything, malls, restaurants, etc.

A little noisy on my first night, but I'll forgive them, since Toronto had just won the Grey Cup!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WyldKnyght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshokNarula, General Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Dear Guest of the hotel,

Thank you for your feedback! We are glad that your stay was largely to your satisfaction. We had the entire hotel dispenser spouts checked and found a couple with dry shampoo around the spout....definately should have been spotlessly cleaned before you checked in. Dispensers being more environmentally friendly (reduces plastics) have been installed. As a back up we also provide soap bars and individually packed shampoo bottles on an "On Request" basis. Thanks once again. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

This hotel was a great find! The price was just right for a city hotel and the location was in walkable distance from everything! The CN tower and convention center were just 5 minutes away from the hotel! The service was friendly and quick! The manager even offered me free wifi for the day and I thought that was a great gesture considering that the wifi was so $$ for the day :)

The rooms were smaller than I had hoped but kept very clean. The only complaint I had was about the soap..they don't have the normal travel sized toiletries for you but instead a communal soap dispenser that was shared with previous guest that had stayed there, I only complain because there was mood growing in the dispenser and I thought it was gross luckily I bring my own soap and shampoo!

Overall a great, cheap find!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sars04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

For first time visitors to Toronto (no car), we found this conveniently located hotel to meet all of our needs quite well. We easily walked to restaurants and the hop on-hop off bus. The front desk staff, housekeeping and wait staff in the restaurant all were exceptionally helpful. Breakfast (buffet or a la carte) was excellent value. At first glance, the small room size was startling but the updated decor and design layout actually worked fine for two people though one person would find it perfect. The room was very clean and a welcome note greeted us. The pub downstairs below reception has excellent food and favorite beverages. Of note: we left our Visa card in the check holder and it was hand delivered by our waitress to our room. Wow!

Room Tip: Upon check-in ask for a possible room upgrade. There may be coupons in reception.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBfans66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews