We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good service, and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Strathcona Hotel
Ranked #49 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean, good service, and great value”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed at the Strathcona Hotel for one night in November with two friends. We shared the executive queen with a cot. Reception was warm and efficient, and they did everything they could to ensure we received the cot we requested, even though the number of cots is limited. The room was clean and nicely decorated in a contemporary style, if a bit small for the three of us. The beds were comfortable and the cot was fine. Room service in the morning was prompt. The buffet breakfast, at $16, was good value. We were a bit late but they quite willingly topped up the buffet with fresh eggs and bacon. When they saw the sad state of a waffle we'd made with the self-serve machine, they made us a new one themselves. The location is wonderful -- right downtown and steps from the train station. We will stay there again next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dressage01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Hi Dressage01,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us!

I assume by your name you were here for the Royal Winter Fair, so hope you enjoyed your time there as well.

I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and we certainly hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    643
    375
    151
    77
See reviews for
190
535
195
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Convenient to some downtown attractions providing you brought comfortable shoes. Room was very nice, hardwood floor verses carpet room would have been tight if there were two staying but was fine for one. There did seem to be some truck noises late at night but there a lot of construction going on.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Hi Louise,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Rooms are small but bright and modern. The hotel in general was spic and span clean. The staff was nice and helpful and the price was right and right downtown. What else could you want?

Oh, I did get burned by thinking the hotel had a free continental breakfast. Ended up costing me $35. It went from the best continental breakfast I ever had to the worst buffet breakfast I ever had.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaleShaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Hi Dale,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review, they are always appreciated!

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

However, I'm sorry to hear you were not aware of our Breakfast buffet charge. It is $14.95 plus tax, however we do certainly keep our prices competitive with other downtown properties. I'm happy to hear you found the food delicious though! =)

If you're ever back in the area again, please feel free to contact me directly to arrange your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey bc
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed here again this year but upgraded to a King room. This allows for a little more floor space than 2 twins. The room was very clean, beds and pillows super comfy and the staff was fantastic.
We love that it is easy to walk to everything - the trains, subway and buses as well as lots of great restaurants. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bizinthecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Hi BizInTheCity,

I am overjoyed to hear you enjoyed your stay so much!

Thank you for taking time out of your day to leave us your review.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed twice this summer, the first time I was upgraded to a king size room because a queen was unavailable. This was nice, and the staff was friendly enough. I had issues with having someone sent to the room to help turn the closed captions on the tv. It took almost a whole day to have someone sent up.

The second time, I wasnt in my room much, but in the morning, the phone disturbed me in the morning and someone tried to come into the room while I was in the shower... long before checkout time. It was sort of annoying. Theres no view from the rooms I was in, and not enough lights in the room. But overall It was good for the value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JennyFJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Hi Jenny,

First and foremost, thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the time to leave us your review. Any and all feedback is always much appreciated.

I am sorry to hear it took so long for someone to come and correct your closed captioning. I will certainly follow up with Maintenance regarding this.

Your feedback regarding housekeeping on your second stay is also very valuable, and I will be sure to share your review with them, and provide further training where needed.

I am however, happy to hear you found good value in the hotel.

If you are ever in the area again, I would suggest you ask for a room facing York Street, for more sunlight and a better view.

Please feel free to contact me directly. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed only one night! The staff is very attentive and helpful. But the rooms are small. I was in the room, the toilet was all cracked, endangering the user, this kind of situation unacceptable for a hotel worth its salt.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdsonXavyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Hi EdsonXavyer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your review. The information provided by guests like you is very valuable to us in continuously improving our service.

I am very please to hear you found our staff attentive and helpful!

I am sorry to hear of your toilet seat though, and have now had our Maintenance replace it. So, thank you very much for bringing that to my attention.

If you are ever in the area again, please feel free to contact me directly to arrange your booking.

Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Small room with very modern decor. Located downtown - very near Union Station, Cn Tower, Eaton Mall etc. As for now- Oct 2013, many construction sites near the hotel. (Union Station renovations).Quite noisy during daytime. Peaceful at night though.
Room has hair dryer, Iron & Ironing board, coffee machine. Bad view from my room - Building wall !
No parking lot near. Wi-FI not included.You have to pay. (In my opinion that won't help their business cuz most hotel provide free service for wi-fi)
Tim Hortons is located right in front of hotel - where u can get free wi-fi.
Can not comment on breaskast since I left early.
Only inconvenience- No soap bars - Liquid body soap in bottle - attached to the wall outside the shower- I had to put some soap in a glass..."/$%?&* Duh!!!

Room Tip: If you want to have a better view, ask for a room - front side of the hotel. From my room 821- all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Hello PB,

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us for the most part and that you enjoyed location as well. It truly is central to most everything in the city!

Thank you for letting me know what room you were in, as I will have housekeeping verify the location of the liquid soap. There should in fact be one inside the shower, so thank you for bringing this to my attention!

If you are in the are again, feel free to contact me directly, and I will ensure you have a room with a view. (Tip: For more of a view, request a room facing York Street).

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 136 in Toronto
1,023 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#57 of 136 in Toronto
2,611 reviews
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#45 of 136 in Toronto
2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 136 in Toronto
2,979 reviews
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strathcona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathcona Hotel

Property: The Strathcona Hotel
Address: 60 York St. | At Wellington St., Toronto, Ontario M5J 1S8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathcona Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Strathcona Hotel Downtown Toronto. Come home to the best location in Downtown Toronto. Imagine all the comforts of home combined with one of the best locations in downtown Toronto and you’ve got The Strathcona Hotel. Stay.Play.Work.Meet.Explore. We can handle it all. And just outside our doors is the best of downtown Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is across the street from the historic Fairmont Royal York Hotel, Union Station / VIA Rail and within two blocks of the Air Canada Centre, Rogers Centre, Metro Toronto Convention Centre, CN Tower, and more located in the midst of the theatre and financial districts. The guest rooms and suite accommodations at The Strathcona Hotel downtown Toronto combine style and substance and have been designed for the contemporary wireless world. We provide easy access to all you need to do by day or night including dining at The York Street Café, dinner and drinks at The Strath Pub, or a workout followed by a massage at the Wellington Fitness Club located right next door. Life here is fresh, functional, friendly, and fun. Sure you can work here, but you’ll do it with a smile. As an independently managed hotel, the good news is that we can break all the rules to do what it takes to make you feel warm, welcome, and worry-free. We get that it’s all about best value for dollar, well-maintained rooms, functional meeting and event space, accommodating staff, and, of course, location, location, location! Come to play. Come to meet. Come to get down to business. We’re more than happy to welcome you home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelClick, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Strathcona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathcona Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing