We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Feel wealthy when you're not!"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Strathcona Hotel
Ranked #49 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“"Feel wealthy when you're not!"”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My husband and I were very fortunate when we discovered the Strathcona Hotel...right in the center of Toronto. This busy and vital city is a wonderful way to just get away from everything and discover it's fabulous diversity. (from fabulous shows, sports, a huge variety of ethnic foods, markets, one of a kind and funky shops, China Town, cultural adventures and on and on and on) The only problem for us was....How could we afford to pay for two nights in down- town Toronto? The Strathcona Hotel! THAT'S HOW WE COULD AFFORD it! (just swear you won't tell a soul!) This treasure is a wonderful surprise! Clean, friendly, very accommodating, and they provide everything a guest could possibly want for a relaxing stay, and probably a host of other goodies that I haven't thought of. The best part of this hotel is their staff. From the front desk to the housekeeper (who always seems to be busy and available on the floor if you need anything!) This is a must try! I just hope that when it becomes really popular the prices don't go up! If anything isn't up to your standards....just ask!!! Don't write a bad review!

Room Tip: All I can suggest is that if you are not satisfied with your room (for ANY reason!) go to the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hi Linda,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We appreciate any and all reviews, as they show us where we are thriving and where we can improve as well.

I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed everything to do with your stay!

It is true that we have a Satisfaction Guarantee, so if there is anything we could do to make your stay more comfortable, always ask!

Please feel free to contact me directly the next time you are in the area.

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    643
    375
    151
    77
See reviews for
190
535
195
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel in May 2014. The first room I was given was dirty, you could see the dirt build up in the blinds. It did not look clean. I then decided to upgrade my room, which I found to be a lot cleaner. However, when I lifted the toilet seat, I found urine under the seat. There was a long black hair in the towels. You could see the pipes under the sink in the bathroom, which looked dirty. On my last day there, my train left at 6:30 pm at night, so I wanted to see if I could get a later checkout. I heard the man at the desk the day before tell a guest he could extend his check out time to 1:00 with no charge. When we went he told us 12:00,was latest and anything after would cost $50.00.
The location of the hotel was great! Walking distance to many attractions and restaurants. If I were to stay in Toronto again, I would pay a little more money to get something cleaner, where I would feel more comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashleyalex2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hi Ashleyalex2107,

First and foremost I would like to apologize for any negative experience you had while staying with us. Though I am happy you enjoyed your prime location, we strive for excellence in all areas, Customer Service and Cleanliness obviously being two of the areas most focused on. So to read your review was quite disappointing.

If you could please email me with your check out date, as well as the name your room was under as I was not made aware of your situation, and would like to further investigate. This will allow me to verify certain staff members on at the time to provide further training where necessary.

An extended check out up until 1pm is in fact at no charge. Between 1pm to 3pm is $50. And anything there after is a full nights charge. Once I hear from you I will also be able to verify if indeed a late-fee refund is due.

If you are ever back in Toronto, please feel free to contact me directly, and I would be more than happy to offer you an Upgraded room, so you can experience The Strathcona Hotel Downtown Toronto as we intend it to be!

Hope to speak with you soon.

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hotel beats the pricier hotels in the vicinity. It is smaller and therefore not as frantic as the larger properties in the area. The rooms are small - but so are the basic rooms at the Fairmont Royal York which is right across the street. Green P parking is just a few doors down - really convenient. It is a very quick walk to the Convention Centre and near many restaurants as well as shopping. Union Station is also within a quick walk. We found the hotel staff to be friendly and extremely helpful. We're in Toronto several times a year and have stayed at all of the nearby properties. This one is our new favourite. We will be returning to The Strathcona on our next visit!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PROSCALER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hi Proscaler,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review.

I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

So, I pre-booked in October, the room I was given didn't even have a view just other rooms without views either. So much for pre-booking. I got free wi-fi first night with a code and than had to pay $6 the next day, the code I was given changed. My TV was still in analog and could barely see some of the channels. On my last night, I was given a torn/ripped towel, how many hotels do you know still re-use them? Some of the staff couldn't even give you directions, "That's too far to walk, take cab", hello I'm here for a half marathon. On the bright side it was close to a lot of amenities and some staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the street, otherwise you feel caged in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hi Glen,

Thank you very much for leaving your review!

Some guests that may be very noise sensitive prefer our inside facing rooms, whereas other quests prefer facing the street. We tend to have a fairly even mix of requests. If you are ever back in Toronto, please feel free to contact me directly to arrange your room, and I will ensure you receive a room facing the street.

Our Wi-Fi options are either $6 per day, $10 for three days or $15 for a week.

Regarding the TV and Towels, I am sorry I was not made aware of this as we certainly would not knowingly put a torn towel in the room, and all of our Televisions are in fact digital.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Warmest regards,

Meg Brooke
Front Office Manager
fom@thestrathconahotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My partner and I stayed at this hotel just before the new year in December 2013 and don't have a bad thing to say about it.

There is absolutely no better location in Toronto where a tourist would want to stay. It's a 2 minute walk from Union Station, about 5 minutes to the CN Tower, Rogers Centre and the new Ripley's aquarium and less than a 10 minute walk to the Air Canada Centre. The best part, it was across the street from a Tim Hortons, which as a Canadian who's been living in the UK for 8 years, this was a huge plus for me!

The hotel itself was super clean with comfortable beds where we had a great night's sleep. Luckily, we weren't looking for space - as we certainly didn't get much. We got what we need though; a nice place to rest our tired heads!

I'd definitely recommend this hotel, it doesn't get much better!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elabela82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hi Elabela82,

Thank you very much for your review.

I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
151 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We chose this hotel for it's proximity to the train station, which is virtually across the road. This hotel is in a central location, easy walking distance to most attractions. The downfall to this hotel is that breakfast is not included in the price. There's a Tim Horton's across the road which is where we ate. Our room was small but clean and comfortable and the bathroom also clean. The tower is behind the hotel by a couple of blocks and there is Steam Whistle brewery across the road from it. The lobby to the hotel is very nice and it's an affordable option in the heart of Toronto.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cajhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hi Cajhm,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

If you are ever back in the area, please feel free to contact me directly and I would be happy to arrange your stay.

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This small hotel is located very close to Union Station in downtown Toronto. It is very close to CBC television station, the CN tower, shopping underground and the Eaton's center, as well as lots of restaurants and theaters. The price is very good, the rooms are small but clean. Very basic amenities, but sufficient for a short stay. Because the hotel is small, you are close to road level, and the noise (garbage trucks etc) was very loud at night. I wouldn't have been impressed if I was paying the Royal York prices across the street and have to listen to that racket all night. Good value for it's location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachy026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi Beachy026,

Thank you for leaving your review!

I am happy to hear you enjoyed our location, value and cleanliness!

I am sorry to hear you experienced noise during the night though. As a future tip, our Executive Rooms are on the higher floors (Floors 8-12), and you can request a room not facing the street.

Please feel free to contact me directly the next time you are in Toronto, and I will be sure you receive a quiet room.

Thank you again for your review, and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 136 in Toronto
1,023 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#57 of 136 in Toronto
2,610 reviews
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#45 of 136 in Toronto
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 136 in Toronto
2,977 reviews
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strathcona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathcona Hotel

Property: The Strathcona Hotel
Address: 60 York St. | At Wellington St., Toronto, Ontario M5J 1S8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathcona Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Strathcona Hotel Downtown Toronto. Come home to the best location in Downtown Toronto. Imagine all the comforts of home combined with one of the best locations in downtown Toronto and you’ve got The Strathcona Hotel. Stay.Play.Work.Meet.Explore. We can handle it all. And just outside our doors is the best of downtown Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is across the street from the historic Fairmont Royal York Hotel, Union Station / VIA Rail and within two blocks of the Air Canada Centre, Rogers Centre, Metro Toronto Convention Centre, CN Tower, and more located in the midst of the theatre and financial districts. The guest rooms and suite accommodations at The Strathcona Hotel downtown Toronto combine style and substance and have been designed for the contemporary wireless world. We provide easy access to all you need to do by day or night including dining at The York Street Café, dinner and drinks at The Strath Pub, or a workout followed by a massage at the Wellington Fitness Club located right next door. Life here is fresh, functional, friendly, and fun. Sure you can work here, but you’ll do it with a smile. As an independently managed hotel, the good news is that we can break all the rules to do what it takes to make you feel warm, welcome, and worry-free. We get that it’s all about best value for dollar, well-maintained rooms, functional meeting and event space, accommodating staff, and, of course, location, location, location! Come to play. Come to meet. Come to get down to business. We’re more than happy to welcome you home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Strathcona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathcona Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing