We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strathcona hotel Toronto Canada”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Strathcona Hotel
Ranked #49 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Strathcona hotel Toronto Canada”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Very close to the main train staion where we arrived after travelling across from Vancouver. Claen, welcoming and friendly. Comfortable rooms too. Close to the stadium and the CN Tower. Easy pick up for Niagara Falls bus.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ros237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Hi Ros237,

Thank you for your review!

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    643
    375
    151
    77
See reviews for
190
535
195
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was my second stay and second review of the hotel. Pretty much exactly the same experience, very good. Comfortable bed in a great location. If you plan on spending most of your time exploring Toronto or working, this is the place for you. I took a room with a small work desk and it was perfect for my one night stay.

Front desk staff seems to also take reservations which can result in line ups at the front desk. They work very hard to speed through everyone but might want to consider keeping at least 2-staff on at all times; otherwise, no real negatives. At $110-$140/night it is great value for location and quality of room. Right across from the Billy Bishop shuttle stop and across from Union station which can save you even more time and money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Hi Kevin,

Thank you so very much for your review.

Though I am sorry you had to wait for the staff to finish a reservation, I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed the rest of your stay on both visits!

If you are ever back in Toronto please feel free to contact me directly and I will be more than happy to arrange your room for you.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Strathcona this past weekend and we would definitely return. We took the go train and had tickets to a jays game on Saturday afternoon. Although we got to the hotel extremely early before check in time we were able to leave our bags with the front desk and go to the game.

The room was small but perfect for the two of us.

The location was perfect. We were close to everything that we wanted to be close to (The Go train, the Rogers Centre, Ripleys aquarium, downtown restaurants).

The service was great, the staff are friendly and accommodating.

The York street cafe for breakfast was amazing. I recommend the eggs Benedict with peameal bacon.

Even after we checked out and we wanted to walk around Toronto more before leaving they let us store our bags at the front desk until we were ready to leave.

We will be going back here for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRichardson88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Hi JRichardson88,

Thank you so much for your review.

Happy to hear you had such a great stay! =)

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in walking distance of some great bars and restaurants the room was clean and nicely furnished , the AC unit was very noisy, the toilet and bath are very low , not great for older people, the reception team I can't fault they were super helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them , the coffee machine in the reception area was exceptional as my husband kept returning to it , we didn't eat in the hotel but the breakfast room look great as we walked past, if you want wi-fi you have to pay for it which I think for a hotel of it size is a rip off and also if you want ice take you key card with you as it's in a locked room !

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Hettylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hi Hettylee,

Thank you very much for your review.

I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed the location, cleanliness and staff! Certainly just a few of our top priorities.

In regards to the WiFi, internet that is included is often built into the rate. Since everyone does not use internet. We try to keep our rates competitive/fair and only charge for those who use it.

If you are ever in the area again, please feel free to contact me directly and I would be more than happy to arrange your reservation for you.

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devonport tasmania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Wonderful reception, lovely clean quiet room. Helpful staff. Very close to Union Station. Very close to the hop on hop off tour bus. Coffee shops and cafes opposite. Near CNN tower. Nice secure area to leave your luggage after checking out. Hotel also had a brochure stand and a map board that lit up the areas, so we could plan our stay.
There was construction work going on around the area, but this did not affect our sleep.
Thanks for the superb hospitality. Definately value for money.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room further away from the construction that is going on near t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbiegordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights while on a getaway with my daughter. Had a room with two double beds, 4 pillows, beds were comfy. Room clean and bathroom stocked with plenty of towels. Quick walk to Union Station, coffee shops, plenty of restaurants. The Lion King was wonderful and the new aquarium great to see. Would definitely stay here again for a short stay. Staff very pleasant and accommodating.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jayOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 136 in Toronto
1,023 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#57 of 136 in Toronto
2,611 reviews
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#45 of 136 in Toronto
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 136 in Toronto
2,979 reviews
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strathcona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathcona Hotel

Property: The Strathcona Hotel
Address: 60 York St. | At Wellington St., Toronto, Ontario M5J 1S8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathcona Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Strathcona Hotel Downtown Toronto. Come home to the best location in Downtown Toronto. Imagine all the comforts of home combined with one of the best locations in downtown Toronto and you’ve got The Strathcona Hotel. Stay.Play.Work.Meet.Explore. We can handle it all. And just outside our doors is the best of downtown Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is across the street from the historic Fairmont Royal York Hotel, Union Station / VIA Rail and within two blocks of the Air Canada Centre, Rogers Centre, Metro Toronto Convention Centre, CN Tower, and more located in the midst of the theatre and financial districts. The guest rooms and suite accommodations at The Strathcona Hotel downtown Toronto combine style and substance and have been designed for the contemporary wireless world. We provide easy access to all you need to do by day or night including dining at The York Street Café, dinner and drinks at The Strath Pub, or a workout followed by a massage at the Wellington Fitness Club located right next door. Life here is fresh, functional, friendly, and fun. Sure you can work here, but you’ll do it with a smile. As an independently managed hotel, the good news is that we can break all the rules to do what it takes to make you feel warm, welcome, and worry-free. We get that it’s all about best value for dollar, well-maintained rooms, functional meeting and event space, accommodating staff, and, of course, location, location, location! Come to play. Come to meet. Come to get down to business. We’re more than happy to welcome you home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Strathcona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathcona Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing