We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Strathcona Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$427
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$326
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$296
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$283
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$337
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$333
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$277
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$283
Delta Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$373
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,726)
Filter reviews
1,727 results
Traveller rating
359
692
418
161
97
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
359
692
418
161
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunion stationyork streetgreat locationcn towerrooms are smalltim hortons across the streetair canada centrerogers centreroyal yorkexecutive roomwithin walking distanceshort staywi fihockey hall of fameheart of downtownbed was comfortablefront desk staff
Filter
Updating list...
804 - 809 of 1,727 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We came back. It is very clean.
The pillows are wonderful.
The downside was the alarm was not reset before checkin and went off and we got not one but two wakeup calls.
We ate at the York Street cafe for breakfast and the waiter was quite accommodating to supplement the buffet. Then we ate downstairs at the Pub and the service and food was good.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here several nights and found it to be Comfortable, Friendly, and gives possibly the best breakfast in Toronto. Very convienent to Harbor, Yonge, and Train Stn. Have no problem booking it again on my next visit to Toronto !

Room Tip: Try and book one from 3rd floor up, for a really quiet night !
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hi Sean,

First I'd like to say, what a cute dog in your profile picture!

And a big thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. I am so pleased to hear you had such a great stay with us!

Please feel free to contact me directly the next time you are in town, to arrange your reservation.

Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Good location when attending a convention at the Air Canada Centre, close walk away.
Short cab ride to the entertainment district or Chinatown. Rooms were a good size, clean and tidy.
Staff nice and friendly and helpful. Plenty of places to eat close by. Avis one block away made it easy to pick up car. Valet parking at hotel. Nice bar downstairs for a quick drink if you want.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grumpy_1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hi Grumpy_1938, (Great name by the way! Ha!)

Thank you very much for your review. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and found the location convenient to everything in the area.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I recently took a long weekend trip to Canada, we found this hotel on hotels.com. It was in a great location, walking distance from everything. We took an airport shuttle which dropped us off right near the hotel. They were super friend and accommodating. The rooms were good size for two people.

We would ask for directions to places and good local suggestions and they were more than happy to help. On the last day we were there they tagged out bags and put them in a back room so we could explore before our flight. My only complaint is there is not an ice machine on every floor, only the 3rd floor. But that is not so bad for the price of the rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flipfloplife5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hi Flipfloplife5,

Thank you so very much for your review.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy your trip to Toronto!

We do have one ice machine on 3rd floor, and one more on the lower level, just outside of The Strath Pub. If you're ever back in the area and prefer to be close to the ice machine just let me know and I'll be sure you're on the third floor. :)

Please feel free to contact me directly if you're back in Toronto, and I would be happy to arrange your room.

Enjoy your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Booked this hotel last minute, based on Trip Advisor reviews. Nice friendly hotel, excellent service, we arrived early, having a reservation at CN Tower for lunch at 1.30pm, valet parking available and brilliant just to drop car off, there is a charge for parking but that seems to be the norm at hotels. We asked to drop off our bags but the receptionist checked and rooms were ready so allowed us to check in early, which was fantastic. Room lovely, clean and tidy, bit smaller than I thought bit it did not matter. Later in the evening after sight seeing we went to the pub which is attached to hotel and it was really good for pitchers of beer at reasonable cost. Also had some nachos to share and they were very tasty too. My husband says best Chilli ever on the nachos!!!!! During the night however, there was a constant noise which I think was coming from an air conditioning unit outside, which did disturb my sleep. There is a breakfast restaurant attached to hotel, we had buffet breakfast, food was not great unfortunately, tepid to say the least. However, you can choose to eat their or not, so don't stop it booking this hotel, it is great value, very good service and good location for attractions including CN Tower, Rogers Centre and ferry to Toronto Islands.

Room Tip: We had a back room and there was a buzzing noise which did disturb sleep, not sure if front rooms would have same noise.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LorraineKirkcaldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews