We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it”

The AGO, Art Gallery of Ontario
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
US$366.12*
and up
Ritz and Glamour Toronto - VIP Entertainment Tour
Ranked #9 of 505 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: With a collection of more than 90,000 works of art, the Art Gallery of Ontario (AGO) is among the largest and most distinguished art museums in North America. An international landmark, the AGO is also one of Canada’s most innovative cultural destinations. Highlights of the Gallery’s world-class collection include iconic Canadian and Inuit works, along with European and contemporary art – all on view in a spectacular building transformed by renowned Toronto-born architect Frank Gehry. After spending time with the AGO’s vast collection, be sure to enjoy a meal or glass of wine at the Gallery’s award-winning restaurant FRANK. Visit shopAGO for a unique collection of artful gifts, one-of-a-kind jewelry, and beautiful art books.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love it”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Love the AGO. Beautiful building and so easy to while away a few hours there. Very relaxing and always a lovely, calm experience. I can go see the Group of Seven exhibitions over and over again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,986
    933
    233
    57
    24
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Fascinating”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

While there were some signage problems with the Bowie exhibit, overall it was extremely good. The majority of the special shows mounted by the AGO are excellent,the current photography exhibits being but 2 examples.
Check out the smaller collections, such as the Thompson model ship collection. Then stroll through the adjacent gallery of ancient treasures, and realize they were all owned, and donated,by one man.
Finish off with an espresso or glass of wine in the new gallery addition overlooking Dundas Street.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
227 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Always something of interest and to challenge”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We love the AGO.
We recently went to the Ai Weiwi exhibit and were blown away. He is such an inspiration. See the film to get a better idea of the context. We bought the DVD "Never Sorry" and learned even more....
But that exhibit is over. Rest assured another great one will come along.
There is wonderful variety at the AGO. Spending a lot of time in just one gallery can be worthwhile.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BandB-1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dazzling”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I have always had an inclination towards anything artistic and this was a fine opportunity that presented itself during my stay in Toronto. Even though I had a tight schedule, I could not resist visiting this beautiful art gallery. The place is simply huge. The pieces on display were intriguingly beautiful. The gallery has a distinguished architecture and the designs are very unique. This is a place which haunts you long after you have visited it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“If only the staff were half as good as the collections”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I visited AGO a few days ago. From the moment I stepped in, the jerk at the front desk couldn't be bothered to explain zero, nada, rien de tout about the hours, collections, nothing at all. It went downhill from there. It's very pricey for a gallery. Maybe that's the problem: European City attitude and prices to match. Overall, it's not an experience I would recommend and I would suggest that, if the weather is tolerable, go somewhere else. Toronto has lots of things to offer but AGO isn't one of them, in my view. If, on the other hand, you can swallow the arrogance and self-importance of some of their staff, you'll enjoy the exhibits provided the poorly organized traffic, groups of random passers by and so on don't bother you.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank windfootsteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The AGO, Art Gallery of Ontario also viewed

 

Been to The AGO, Art Gallery of Ontario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing