We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfortunately, Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bata Shoe Museum

Bata Shoe Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$32.94*
and up
Toronto City Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #29 of 500 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Bata Shoe Museum: For Every Shoe There's a Story The Bata Shoe Museum is home to the world's largest, most comprehensive collection of shoes and footwear-related objects. The mission of the BSM is to contribute to the knowledge and understanding of the role of footwear in the social and cultural life of humanity. Through acquiring, conserving, researching, communicating and exhibiting material evidence related to the history of footwear and shoemaking, the Museum illustrates the living habits, the culture and the customs of people from every corner of the world.
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Unfortunately, Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

My wife loves shoes so visiting the Bata Shoe Museum was definitely somewhere we wanted to visit. Unfortunately, even though the advertising we saw had lots of fancy womens shoes (we got the impression that this was the type of thing we would see) but it was about the history of shoes (which was fair enough) but the other parts of the exhibitions were pretty poor and we were suprised how rude the staff were.

Overall, we would recommend not wasting your money and visiting more interesting parts of Toronto.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank barneystinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    357
    124
    22
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“stepping through history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

You needn't be a shoe-aholic or historian or anthropologist to appreciate the parade of shoes on display here. But you will learn something about the cultures and peoples of the world through the development of footwear dating back to the ancient Egyptian sandals that were discovered buried in the graves. It takes about an hour to cover the 4 floors,representing thousands of years of shoes and boots from six continents. But I found the lower level exhibition of women's footwear through the ages the most fascinating. I saw several pairs of 7.62 cm (3 inches) long shoes that were considered the ideal size for women's feet in China, the high platform fashionable footwear of the Renaissance, the buckles and jewels on 18th century Baroque-period shoes, the T-straps of the 1920s, the feminine 50s stillettos and the low heel pumps of working women in the 80s. Bring your boyfriends, your kids and your camera (no flashes). There's something to amaze everyone.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawnafreeman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fascinating exhibits w/ 4400-yr. history of footwear”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Bata Shoe Museum definitely exceeded my expectations. Not only is the museum collection fascinating, the design of the exhibits is extraordinary - rich with imagery and short, but informative historic info. The BSM truly provides a history of the world through footwear. Some of my favorites: Ella Fitzgerald's blue velvet pumps, Marilyn Monroe's red stilettos, chestnut cracking shoes, intricate beading on footwear from many Native North American tribes, and so much more. Loved it! Suggestions: Add cowboy boots (true works of art!) and more dance shoes. Very easily accessible from the St. George subway stop. I'm so glad I ventured out from my conference hotel to see this unique place!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WeezieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

we can simply say its good i visited there with my girl friend i saw everything, i like there but my girl friend like more then me

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
534 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Fun shoe museum where you learn the history of shoe making”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

This museum is four stories tall but the rooms are smaller than some museums and it is shoe-centric and definitely worth the admission price. The top floor has a cool sneaker exhibit and the museum has done its best to appeal to both men and women. It houses shoes from famous people (John Lennon, Elvis, Elisabeth Taylor, Madonna, and even Justin Bieber). The first floor (basement) showcases shoes worn by certain religions and has shoe history that is just fascinating. It's worth a look even if you aren't really into shoes.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JLFERG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bata Shoe Museum also viewed

 

Been to Bata Shoe Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing