We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thought it would be better.”

Ontario Science Centre
Ranked #40 of 515 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Ontario Science Centre has welcomed more than 50 million visitors since it opened in 1969, implementing an interactive approach now adopted by science centres around the world. Today, the Science Centre is an international leader in free-choice science learning and a key contributor to Ontario’s education and innovation ecosystem, offering lifelong learning through hands-on, engaging experiences. The Ontario Science Centre is an agency of the Government of Ontario funded in part by the Ontario Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport. As a publicly assisted organization, the Science Centre relies on generous individuals, corporations and foundations who share a commitment to science and education for additional operating support.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Hamilton
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Thought it would be better.”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I havn't been here for about 25 years. I was quite disappointed. Realistically there is only one level of stuff to do. There was quite a bit to see but it just wasn't worth the money. I let them know as we left but they didnt seem to care. Probably won't come back again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank merquisez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    610
    450
    240
    114
    57
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not the Science Centre it Used to Be”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I was appalled that it cost $60 (US) for us just to walk through the door. This place has changed since I was in middle school, and not for the better. Displays have been minimized in favor of IMAX theaters. Spent time with the few hands-on exhibits in the lower hall. Hoped to find exhibit-themed t-shirts in the gift shop, but alas, it was filled with toys and astronaut ice cream. Less than two hours after arriving, we high-tailed it out of there.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roadie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Could be Updated a Bit”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Although I'd like to see this place more on the cutting edge of science, I realize that could be difficult. A great place for kids and adults who still have an interest in the wonders of the scientific world. Any place that can help steer the kids away from all the supernatural hocus pocus out there is fine by me!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelincanuck_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fun things to do”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We tried to visit the Science Museum during the weekend but we gave up and tried again as the building was so busy due to being free. Once we returned on the weekday it was much quieter.

The museum itself felt a bit old in some places but interesting enough. We did find a great interactive section where despite being aimed more at children we found it enjoyable. Including a camera set up to allow you to record your own stop motion films, a few craft challenges for kids to attempt to make from bits and pieces and lots of machines to try out. I imagine that it would be fantastic for kids to play and engage with.

I think it was worth a visit despite it being aimed at children.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ruinme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Kids attraction”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Been there with the Toronto City Pass, so it wasn't waste of money, but the only thing that we adults enjoyed was the Science of Rock and Roll exhibit, which is only a temporary one. Basically it is an interactive learning experience for kids, whom seemed to be enjoying this very much. But it gave nothing to grown ups who graduated high school.
The rock and roll exhibit was a bit simple too,with a small history section, than you can fiddle around with different kind of instruments, then gift shop. All of this in a rather old, socialist building. Not what I had in mind after New York. Yeah and they charged ten for parking.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AdamAntal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ontario Science Centre also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Ontario Science Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing