We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Ranked #52 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I spent 4 nights here with my wife earlier this month. We were looking for a cheap city break and the price is quite reasonable. The hotel itself could definitely do with a bit of updating but it was clean and for the price was acceptable. The location however is fantastic, right in the centre of things, near shopping district, near transport etc although we walked most places as it was so close to everything. Good budget accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
AndrewAdventurer, we're so glad to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope the weather cooperated with you on your walking trip around Toronto, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    672
    353
    121
    54
See reviews for
293
412
137
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Bed bug bites on me and my daughter. Hotel steamed clothing but offered no compensation for lost morning waiting for clothes or inconvenience Managers thought they helped by trying to ensure I went home with no bugs

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Louise1969caa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Louise1969caa, thank you for bringing this to our attention.
We take these issues very seriously, and called an outside pest control company to perform an inspection of your room.
Rest assured, they found no traces of bed bugs in your room.
Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel a little tired and in need of updating. We had a small room and the hotel corridors not designed for lots of bags or wheelchairs !
Good location in the middle of town, access to local transport. Room needed some decorating but generally clean and tidy.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 18Kel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
18Kel, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We have forwarded your comments regarding the updates to our Director of Engineering and Housekeeping to incorporate into their preventative maintenance plans.
We're glad to hear you were able to take advantage of our great location, and that you found our rooms to be clean and tidy.
Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Had a quick 3 day stop over in TO and wanted a reasonably priced hotel close to the action. The Holiday Inn fit the bill. Check in was smooth and staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were good sized and clean. I think the hotel recently had a reno done so rooms were also in good condition. The only compaint I had was the availability of Hot water - it was very sporadic and it didn't seem to matter what time of day, it was difficult to get hot water for the entire 5-7 min showers. Air conditions worked well and were pretty quite. All in all, a good hotel for those quick trips.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smyzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
smyzzz, thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Our hotel underwent a $24 million dollar renovation in 2010/2011, and we're glad to hear you felt the rooms were clean and comfortable during your stay.
We're sorry to hear you had an issue with your hot water. We've forwarded your comments to our Director of Engineering to investigate. However, if you would like to contact us directly to provide your room number, it would be of great assistance.
Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed here for a quick trip to Toronto to visit the Hockey Hall of Fame. I wasn't sure how I was going to get to the hotel from the Pearson airport. I took the Toronto Airport Express which dropped me off at the Eaton (Delta) Chelsea and walked about 5 minutes to the hotel.

Hotel has a nice lobby, concierge and check in area. AH-Mazing staff. I was checked-in by Nellie. He was very professional, courteous and extremely helpful. He ended our interaction with a big smile to send me on my way. After an overnight flight and a 1.5hr commute from the airport going thru traffic, it was nice to start off my day with that smile.

The rooms are small. I got a room with two double beds and there was maybe a 2-3 feet from the foot of the the beds to the wall. On the 19th floor the view was great, even if it was just other high-rise buildings. But honestly, I didn't mind the size. I was barely in my room during my trip. I was only there to drop off my shopping items, pick up a sweater and sleep. My only real complaint about the room is the doors slam close. It would make it even better if they could maybe get those soft close doors that wouldn't slam.

The bathroom looks like it was recently remodeled. No tub. The only place to put your toiletries in the shower that was higher than your waist was a small soap dish. And really, all you could fit was a bar of soap and 2-3 small travel sized bottles.

The beds were comfortable. Each bed had four pillows, with two types of pillows: two firm pillows and two fluffy, or soft, pillows. Wi-Fi password is supplied to you at check in and I found the connection fast.

The hotel is very close to the subway station on College (Carlton turns into College St at Yonge St) & Yonge St. I used the subway initially to get around, but I found that all the places I wanted to visit (Hockey Hall of Fame, St. Lawrence Market, CN Tower, Eaton Centre, Yonge & Dundas were all within walking distance. If you get an all-day subway pass (approx 11$C) you can use it for 24hrs unlimited.

There are lots of places to eat surrounding the hotel itself. And there's even a movie theater next door. There's also two restaurants and a Starbucks in the hotel, if you're so inclined (There's a Tim Horton's in the College Park Shops building on the corner of College & Yonge St)

Overall, I really liked the hotel. I thought it was priced well for it's location. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to any of my friends travelling to Toronto.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor, away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncn1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
ncn1974, thank you for your "Ah-Mazing" review. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and that our staff was able to make you feel welcome during your visit.
We're looking forward to sharing your comments with our staff at our upcoming pot-luck lunch!
Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again soon! (and maybe win the Stanley Cup this year...yeah, right.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timmins, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a recent 5 day holiday trip with the wife and son. From the early check-in to the free late checkout, this place was great. Clean small room on the 19th floor was perfect. My son enjoyed the pool. Everything was close and so conveniently accessed, this will be my go to hotel in the future!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claude S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Valued guest,
Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to see that you have enjoyed your trip with your family at our Hotel. We continue to improve our services and we are extremely happy to hear we have met your expectations. We are located very close to many important venues in the city, restaurants, subway stations and we appreciate you have selected our Hotel for your visit. Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needville, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel recently while attending a convention. It is located close to subways, buses, restaurants, and shopping. The beds were comfortable and the pillows great. This was by far the best sleeping we have had in a long time at a hotel. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WOW1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We sincerely appreciate your comments via Tripadvisor. We are extremely pleased to hear that we have met your expectations while you were visiting Toronto with your friends. We will definitely share your comments with the Hotel staff to motivate them for the continuing hard work they put on a daily basis. Once again, thank you for choosing us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#54 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,563 reviews
Downtown
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
#60 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Address: 30 Carlton Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2E9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 513
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelUp, IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre Hotel Toronto
Days Hotel Toronto Downtown
Days Inn Toronto
Day Inn Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing