We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and right Downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown
Ranked #70 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed 14 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank Sheridan L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
308SDT, Manager at Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

887 - 893 of 1,629 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

When we booked the room, we thought the location was good and the price was certainly right. The hotel staff was quite pleasant and helpful, the hotel is nice enough and clean. Our room was a mini-suite with queen size bed and small living room. Room was clean and big enough. However, it was tired looking. The bathroom would need some upgrading, particularly a change of the tiles in the shower, which showed signs of mildew. However, that's not the worst part. The worst was the bed. It was so uncomfortable, I felt like I was sleeping on a slab of stone. If you like very hard mattresses, then this is the place for you. If not, don't stay here.

We had breakfast in the restaurant on the Sunday morning and it was OK. The service was good though.

The location of the hotel is also OK, although it is a bit of a walk to get to a street where there is a bit more to do.

The elevators are very slow and very tiny. I image they would be a challenge if you have a lot of luggage.

Otherwise, the hotel is OK -- I would recommend no more than a one-night stay though, just because the bed is so uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
308SDT, Manager at Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Hello Louise63_12,

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. I’m so sorry you did not enjoy the bed in your room. As you can see from the reviews below we do get compliments about them often. I do understand that it is a preference though and hope the staff and amenities we offer made up for the night sleep you had. Once again thank you for letting us and others know about our hotel and I hope we do get the chance to have you as our guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had a queen suite which had two queen beds and a sitting area. This was perfect for our 2 day stay in Toronto. Short walk to TTC and subway connections and walking distance of Yonge and Dundas square. The hotel staff were very pleasant and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I had looked here for my summer trip to toronto and it was a wee bit too expensive for me, but for the price i paid on this stay it was great value.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
308SDT, Manager at Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Hello Shaun C,

Thank you so very much for your review. We are so pleased you were able to try us this time and that your stay went so well. I hope we get the chance to have you back as our guest again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
308SDT, Manager at Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The hotel was very nice. The front lobby and front desk staff were very pleasant . We felt they should have told us when we checked in that the restaurant was closed. Also we came with 3 small children who were excited to swim. I felt we should have been told at check in the pool was broke down, we shouldn't have had to read it in the elevator.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
308SDT, Manager at Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Hello Judy C,

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. I agree fully that your should have been told about the pool and will check with our Front Office Manager to ensure this is being done for every guest. We did unfortunately have a broken pipe with the extreme cold weather and ice storms Toronto has been having. I hope we do get the chance in the future to have you back and show you that this stay was not a normal stay at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We moved to Ramada during Toronto's recent ice storm after we had put up with freezing temp & no power for 48 hours. 2 adults & 2 elderly parents in their 90's - no easy move. The front office staff were all amazing! Helpful, kind and cheerful during what was not an easy time. We had a 2 bedroom suite - comfortable beds, renovated bathroom, very warm & great hot shower. Microwave & fridge, no sink or dishes. It's 3 star because it is a bit on shabby side and no services; breakfast was excellent with wide selection, but dining room closed (I think during this period). No bar or mini bar. Found a great diner around the corner & Loblaws in old Maple leaf Gardens is fantastic with very large prepared food section. Underground parking is easy & useful - but access to hotel is a bit complicated esp if you are handicapped. Overall a good family place in good location, 10 mins walk to subway & great if you are not worried about glitz or many amenities.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Gourmand28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
308SDT, Manager at Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Hello Gourmand28,

I’m so pleased you like many others have regained their power. I’m happy our staff were so helpful and made your stay a great one. Thank you for letting others know about us and Happy Holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed here for two nights with our son and his fiance -- both our rooms were complimentary upgrades to Jr suites. The rooms have been recently renovated and were clean, quiet and spacious. The hotel is centrally located between Bloor + Front street very near Dundas Square so close to subway or within walking distance of many attractions.
As we stayed two days, our second night was discounted so the value was excellent especially for Toronto. Staff were friendly + helpful. There is a breakfast restaurant in the hotel but it lacks any atmosphere so we did not try it.
Well worth the stay + excellent value for Toronto

Room Tip: Request a complimentary upgrade to Jr Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1kramer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
308SDT, Manager at Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Hello 1kramer2,

Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay. We are so pleased you enjoyed it so much and got to try one of our Junior Suites. I hope we can welcome you back as our guests the next time you’re in Toronto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#82 of 138 in Toronto
291 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#59 of 138 in Toronto
2,747 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Town Inn Suites
Town Inn Suites
#63 of 138 in Toronto
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown

Address: 300 Jarvis Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C5, Canada (Formerly Ramada Hotel & Suites Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: £82 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Toronto Hotel Toronto
Ramada Toronto
Toronto Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing