We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“surprisingly poor” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Toronto North York Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Toronto North York Hotel & Suites
Ranked #45 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“surprisingly poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

although the lobby is very nice, there was no air circulation in halls on the other floors making the air very stale. too much chlorine in the pool area. not within walking distance to other restaurants or stores. breakfast included in our package was poorly prepared. either pancakes or scrambled eggs, toast, sausages and hashbrowns with either coffee or orange juice with no substitutions. it wasn't great food and the service was very slow. we never got a refill on the coffee. the staff however was friendly and courteous, just sorely understaffed. chose this hotel partly because of the ratings here on tripadvisor and am baffled by the divergence between the bulk of the reviews and my actual stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank candy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shankar N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Toronto North York Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi candy h. May your feedback be positive or constructive criticism, all comments are welcome. As people that work in the hospitality industry, we strive off of our guests feedback in order to better ourselves, work environment and amenities. I want to thank you for pointing out our beautiful lobby as it is quite modern and welcoming, you are completely right. In regards to the hallways of the hotel, there is air circulation, hotel wide. As for our large heated pool, the chlorine level is standard and we never put extra as it gets professionally inspected and cleaned by an outside company. There are many restaurants and stores that are within walking distance it just depends on your taste. There is a mall right within walking distance to our hotel (10 minutes), Yorkgate Mall and it has all the necessities a traveller may need. For example it offers a large grocery store, liquor store, fashion stores such as Designer Depot, Dollarama, Bank of Montreal, convenience stores and much much more.

As for the rise & shine breakfast included with your package, it definitely has all the essentials of a hot breakfast. If it is not to your liking we have a large menu you can order from that includes different many sides. On top of that you get 15% off any meal when ordering from the menu as a courtesy of being a guest at our hotel. The restaurant service was definitely not slow because this past month it has been overstaffed in order to ensure guests are not waiting for their food and getting top notch service.

In addition our TripAdvisor has quite the variety of reviews and sometimes you cannot judge a book by its cover. We mostly have good reviews but sometimes we get the occasional constructive feedback, which is still valued but sometimes is done for different reasons, such as guests trying to gain something from the hotel. Every person is unique and forms their own opinions which we respect. In your case, many complaints that are completely out of the usual were stated in your review which really makes us question the validity of them. Overall, we appreciate your opinion, and wish you safe & happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    174
    65
    27
    14
See reviews for
182
107
32
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

It has a good location. It's clean and newly renovated. I would definitely go back to this hotel. The staff are nice and friendly. I wish breakfast was included. I would highly recommend this hotel. We have a good stay...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank REYJI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shankar N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Toronto North York Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi REYJI! I want to personally thank you for posting your feedback on our TripAdvisor page. You are absolutely right about our location, it is definitely conveniently located with minutes away from all major highways. It is great that you noticed the cleanliness and comfort of our hotel. As for the staff, they definitely try their utmost best to keep our customer service at a high level. As for the breakfast, you can always book the breakfast rate in advance which is a bit pricier although a nominal fee. Also you receive 15% off any meal at our hotel by just booking a room with us. May it be breakfast, lunch or dinner you will always save Canadian taxes and some! Overall thank you for your loyalty to us and we welcome you back with open arms. Have safe & happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent service ... from booking reservation to departure. We would like to extend our sincere gratitude to the entire team, thank you Renata for leading the team and making everyone comfortable, Nick very positive and courteous, Amir always with a smile and helpful, Jaeme very accommodating and Jay a wonderful lady and hard working...You guys are amazing providing the utmost service.

The hotel is very inviting, relaxing, affordable and well maintained. Top notch amenities... World class !!!
Recommendable for everyone to stay... Cheers !!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mher21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shankar N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Toronto North York Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi Mher21! I want to personally thank you for posting your positive feedback on our TripAdvisor page. As people that work in the hospitality industry it means a lot to us when guests such as yourself let us know of our great work and extend your gratitude. As for all the employee compliments, the staff thanks you and is so happy that you noticed their effort and hard work in ensuring your stay is comfortable and pleasant. As a team, every department communicates well with each other and takes the appropriate measures to keep the hotel going smoothly and keeping our guests happy. Once again, I want to personally thank you for your kind words and giving us the opportunity to give you a superior experience. We welcome you back with open arms and appreciate all the recommendations to your friends & family. Have safe & happy travels, hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahuarita, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

we chose this hotel because it was renovated a year ago; everything still nice and new; had decent prices. restaurant attached to hotel was so-so but waiters/waitresses were very nice. unfortunately, no matter where you stay in the Toronto area and no matter what time of the day, traffic is horrific! does not ease-up until after 9pm.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank econthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shankar N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Toronto North York Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hi econthego! I want to personally thank you for posting on our TripAdvisor page, it is greatly appreciated. You are absolutely right! We renovated the hotel from top to bottom and spent over $3.5 million in order to ensure that our guests have a comfortable stay as well as amazing time! Our hotel is definitely brand new and modern with great pricing for the value. As for our on-site restaurant, Western Bar & Grille, it is quite a hit with our guests although everyone has different taste. There are many restaurant options in the area that may cater to your taste and the front desk is more than happy to give you suggestions as well as directions. In regards to the high traffic in Toronto, that is out of our control. The reason being is that we have long Winters and the roads get quite bad therefore every summer, there is construction in the city to renew the roads. We are also very transit friendly, therefore you can leave the car in our large parking lot and take the subway stress free! Overall, I want to thank you for your kind feedback, we welcome you back with open arms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Best Western Plus is very clean with excellent customer service and is close to many tourist attractions and restaurants. I purchased the One-Night Canada's Wonderland Package which I would recommend to those looking for a cheaper Canada's Wonderland/hotel option. I am looking forward to staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jenna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shankar N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Toronto North York Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hi Jenna O! Thank you for posting your feedback on our TripAdvisor page, it is greatly appreciated. I am more than thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and got great use of our Wonderland package. You are also completely right about our location. There are many fun things to do and see and our front desk staff is more than happy to help you with directions as well as suggestions. At our hotel, we aim to meet our guests needs and it is great to know we did that with you and your family. Every department in our hotel works hard to keep our hotel comfortable, clean and pleasant. As for the pricing for our Wonderland package, it is unbeatable! For all the amenities we offer and the great stay & play package, many guests choose us! I am glad you had a fabulous time at the amusement park and we welcome you back with open arms! Have safe & happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillerød
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We had read the reviews on tripadvisor and were looking forward to this stay. We arrived with two tired children and were given a room with a kingsize bed and a sofabed instead of the room with two queensize beds we booked in advance (we were not asked if this was ok). When we came to the room the sofabed was not made up and we had to call reception about this. Then a member of staff turned up with sheets but it was up to us to make the bed. The hairdryer didn't work, the dispenser for shampoo was empty and there was hair in the bath (not ours). I would choose to go somewhere else.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirsten G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shankar N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Toronto North York Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi there I want to thank you for posting on our TripAdvisor page, may it be a positive or constructive comment we appreciate all feedback. In regards to your check-in experience, there is never a situation where the front desk does not inform guests of upgrades. They are actually quite thrilled to let guests know that they are getting a nicer more spacious room. In your case, the front desk agent told your husband and he agreed to the King Suite upgrade. As for the sofa bed in your suite, once you pull it out you can notice that the fresh sheets and comforter are already put on the bed as well as spare pillow in your suite.

In regards to the cleanliness of your room, our housekeeping department strives on keeping the guest rooms and the environment of our hotel pristine. In regards to the working amenities of the room, usually if there is an issue we advise guests to immediately contact us at the front desk and we send someone from our maintenance or housekeeping department to tend to the matter. In your case none of the issues you had were reported to any staff members especially in regards to cleanliness issues. Usually we do not receive these type of complaints although we do value your feedback and wish you safe & happy travels. Thank you for choosing Best Western.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I always look forward to staying at this hotel and go out of my way to book here because of the friendly staff and clean, new rooms. Everything works and the staff always remember me - just like a second home. The restaurant is also great for a quick bite in the morning - recommend the garden omelette. The Wonderland package was great for us as we could take the shuttle and save on parking!

Room Tip: If you are going to Wonderland they have a shuttle that drops you off and picks you up right at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ravi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shankar N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Toronto North York Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi Ravi P! I want to personally thank you for taking the time to post on our TripAdvisor page. It really means a lot to us when travellers such as yourself post your feedback. It is also great for other future travellers to see so that they see the value of our hotel. We are glad that you are loyal to our hotel and decide to frequent our hotel when you are visiting Toronto. As for the physical aspect of the hotel, it is definitely brand new from top to bottom and we strive on cleanliness. The staff delivers incomparable customer service and tries their best to accommodate all guests. You are completely right about the restaurant, it has amazing omelettes and it is connected to the hotel which makes it really easy to grab a bite before you kick start your day! It is amazing to hear that you took advantage of our Wonderland package, we offer one of the best deals in the city for the amusement park that is minutes away from us with an extremely convenient shuttle! Overall, I want to thank you for posting your positive comments, and welcome you back with open arms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toronto
North York
Holiday Inn Express Toronto - North York
Scarborough
BEST WESTERN PLUS Executive Inn
North York
Extended Stay Canada - Toronto - Vaughan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North York
Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites
North York
Holiday Inn Toronto Yorkdale
Etobicoke
BEST WESTERN PLUS Travel Hotel Toronto Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Toronto North York Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Toronto North York Hotel & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Toronto North York Hotel & Suites
Address: 50 Norfinch Drive, Toronto, Ontario M3N 1X1, Canada (Formerly Travelodge Toronto North/North York)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > North York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Toronto
#24 Business Hotel in Toronto
#26 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Toronto North York Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Toronto North York Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Toronto North/North York Hotel North York
Travelodge North York
Travel Lodge North York
North York Travel Lodge
North York Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing