We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service at front desk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Toronto Airport
Ranked #96 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I have stayed at this hotel in the past using their park and fly without problems until my last experience on March 24th 2014. Upon arrival I was informed I would not be able to leave my car onsite. I had to leave my car in the self serve park and fly lot down the road. When I inquired as to why the change I was told by the front desk clerk that they were busy and losing money. I said that I was very disappointed with this arrangement and that I booked at their hotel because of previous onsite parking and if I wanted a park and fly lot to leave my car I wouldn't have booked a hotel because there are many more secure lots for park and fly. I also did not want to sit in a bus shelter at 4 am in minus 0 temperatures. I also inquired as to why I was not informed of the possibility of off site parking when I made the park and fly reservations. The front desk clerk advised me of his 11 yrs experience and that their reservations never say onsite parking available or not available. When I disagreed he again stated in a loud voice that they do not have onsite parking...basically calling me a liar even when I had stayed there recently twice before and parked onsite. I asked if an exception could be made this one time due to miscommunication. I got the song and dance that the manager was busy and he would get back to me. We were in our room by this time when I asked for the exception....he stated the Manager was busy and would let me know. It is now coming onto 5pm and I only have to 6pm to cancel this room before they charge me even if I don't stay there so time was limited. We made the decision to leave this hotel...when we went back down to the front deak the Manger was standing with the clerk and neither offered a solution to our problem...the Marriott across the street was very happy to have us for the same money...I am sure the Quality Suites to name another of the many hotels near the airport would also have been happy to accommodate us. Sorry Travel lodge on Dixon u have lost my business and the business of many family and friends who also travel frequently all because of a front desk clerk who,handled a situation very poorly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Toronto Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

However I will attempt to contact you directly about this to discuss this further and as an alternative if you wish to contact me directly at 416 674 2222 x 2951 in regards to your concerns.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,011 - 1,017 of 1,546 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Jim/Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chad H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Toronto Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Room was well cleaned, had a nice couch to sit on and watcg the pkanes arriving and departing the airport, and also had the nice addition of a mini fridge and even a bathrobe and the price was good for an airport hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Carrie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Toronto Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay with us.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts as to how we can improve the guest experience and how you feel about the ongoing refurbishments at this hotel for your information we appreciate the suggestions made.

However I have shared your comments with my team accordingly

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Travelodge Hotel Toronto Airport we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Airline provided overnight room here after flight delay. Slightly musty smell in 16th floor corridor room & bedding clean. Older plumbing but functional. Breakfast not available as hotel restaurant was closed for extended period. Complementary shuttle to airport every half hour was a few minutes late but worked.

Room Tip: Until the Travelodge restaurant reopens, ask your airline for a voucher for a meal at the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vin0tint0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Toronto Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay with us.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts as to how we can improve the guest experience and how you feel about the ongoing refurbishments at this hotel for your information we appreciate the suggestions made.

However I have shared your comments with my team accordingly

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Travelodge Hotel Toronto Airport we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Lorelei D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chad H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Toronto Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We booked this for two nights, the one before our flight and the night we arrived home as it was quite late and we had about a 5 hour drive home from the airport. The first night the room was great but we had some drunken neighbours and had to call the front desk twice to have it dealt with, but otherwise our stay was good. The bed was really great, very comfy and the view watching flights leave and arrive is neat as well. The restaurant was good and the hotel was in a very convenient area. We will likely book here again when we fly international next.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Meg and Brock B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Toronto Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay with us.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts as to how we can improve the guest experience and how you feel about the ongoing refurbishments at this hotel for your information we appreciate the suggestions made.

However I have shared your comments with my team accordingly

Thank you for identifying our employees on behalf of our entire staff here at the Travelodge Hotel Toronto Airport we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chad H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Toronto Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toronto
Etobicoke
Quality Suites Toronto Airport
Etobicoke
Hotel Carlingview Toronto Airport
Etobicoke
Best Western Premier Toronto Airport Carlingview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Etobicoke
Radisson Suite Hotel Toronto Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Toronto Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Toronto Airport

Address: 925 Dixon Rd, Toronto, Ontario M9W 1J8, Canada (Formerly Travelodge Hotel Toronto Airport/Dixon Road)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Etobicoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £70 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Toronto Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton Toronto Airport, a stylish hotel with contemporary comforts. Walk to major corporations and attractions in the Dixon Road area, and enjoy convenient 24-hour shuttle service to/from Pearson Airport. Business travelers are minutes from the Congress Centre and International Centre, and families will love the proximity to Canada’s Wonderland. From the airport, it’s just a 20-minute train ride downtown on the Union-Pearson Express. Kick off your stay with a warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie at check-in. Our modern guest rooms feature complimentary WiFi, a 42-inch TV, mini-fridge, ergonomic workspace and coffee maker, and some rooms offer premium views of the airport in action. Here a few days? Choose a suite for a separate living area and kitchenette. Additional amenities include 7,000 sq. ft. of event space, on-site restaurant and bar, heated indoor pool, fitness center, and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Toronto Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Toronto Airport
Travel Lodge Etobicoke
Travelodge Etobicoke
Travelodge Hotel Etobicoke
Etobicoke Travelodge
Etobicoke Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing