We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite place to stay in Toronto. Clean, affordable and convenient.”
Review of Downtown Home Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Downtown Home Inn
Ranked #6 of 115 Toronto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
“My favourite place to stay in Toronto. Clean, affordable and convenient.”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I am a frequent visitor Toronto for work and have stayed at the Downtown Home Inn as well as Unal and Ergin's other B&B, the Toronto Garden Inn, dozens of times in the last few years. Both locations are well managed and comfortable. Unal and Ergin reply promptly to my emails and the bookings have always gone smoothly. I like the self-serve continental breakfast; I can be out and about quickly without have to wait for someone to cook for me.

The rooms, the dining area and the washrooms are always clean. This location is a very short walk from Wellesley subway station. The Church-Wellesley Village is trendy neighborhood with an abundance of affordable places to eat and shop.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Screen_name_fr_Andre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    71
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
20
102
125
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed at the Downtown Home Inn two nights, Thursday and Friday in June 2012. The location is extremely convenient, on a dead end street across the street from a park. It is about a 4 minute walk to the Wellesley Station and within ~20 minute walk to major sites/attractions. There are plenty of restaurants/bars on the street adjacent to the bnb,

You can walk to the Toronto waterfront./CN tower in about an hour, or hit the train up and get there in less ~10 minutes.

Upon entering the building, there is a eat-in kitchen and a small sitting area. The space was very clean and modern looking. We stayed on the third floor in the Violet room. The pictures on the website matched the decor of the room. The room was nice size with a small TV, very comfy bed, a standing closet to hang clothes, a small desk and mirror and access to private deck, which you have a view of the CN tower.

The innkeeper was fantastic and attentive. The continental breakfast offered a good variety of cereals, bagels, english muffins, cheeses, juices, and granola.

The days we visited Toronto hit over 90 degrees, but our room stayed cool with central A/C.

Overall, our stay was fantastic! We will definitely stay there again when we return to Toronto. This place offers good value, excellent hospitality, and above all convenience in downtown Toronto.

Room Tip: There are only 2 bedrooms on the third floor and one bathroom-- this seemed to the be the quieter o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAT3715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

It is an excellent cozy B&B with just a few bedrooms, which makes the place homely. The breakfast is “all-you-can-eat”, with lots of fruits and bakery options. Besides, the kitchen is well equipped so you can arrange meals for yourself anytime. Even if some of the rooms share the bathroom, there was hardly ever queue (even in the morning). The place has highest standards of cleanness (I had my towels changed every other day without even asking for it!).
It is located 3min from a subway station, thus within 15min. you can reach any place in Downtown Toronto. Besides it is a LGBT neighborhood – what actually was an advantage since there were number of nice cheap places for eating out.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beciasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Staying at the Inn was like staying at a friend's place, including the ability to raid the fridge in the morning for breakfast. I stayed there Thursday - Sunday in June 2012. It is located next to a shady park in a great area with plenty of shops and restaurants nearby. The Wellesley subway station is a few minutes walk away through a nice residential area.

The Inn is very clean with lovely wood floors and comfortable bed. I stayed in the Iris room, with the shared bathroom right next to my room. The room was quiet and peaceful, with a vine-covered brick wall just outside the window and a constant cool breeze even in the afternoon heat. The Inn has free internet which is also a big plus.

For breakfast I chose the greek yogurt with fresh fruit, orange juice, cinnamon toast and butter, and tea. It was also great to have the kettle handy in the afternoon so I could have a cup of tea while getting ready to head out for dinner. Unal is a friendly host and I also enjoyed chatting with his helper from Australia.

If ever in Toronto again I will return to stay at the Downtown Home Inn!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zakrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2012

The Inn was nice, clean and welcoming, and I felt very safe. Very well-situated in a lively area. Whilst we were only able to communicate virtually on that occasion, I found Unal very helpful, and was following up to emails promptly (before, during and after my stay), which I think is essential when conducting honest business. I will definitely come back for another short stay in Toronto and intend to refer this inn to both personal and business contact as well!

Room Tip: The third floor probably offers more privacy. The bathroom on this floor is tiny and to be shared wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishon Lezion, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I came to Canada in order to travel, enjoy and try to test business options.
I was almost 4 months in Canada, also in Toronto, (and other places in Ontario), Montreal and 1.5 months in Alberta. Every time when I got back trips, I returned to B & B of Unal.
I felt very rested here. Really nice house, I was almost in all rooms, all decorated very nice. Unal thought about all the little details, which will be both beautiful and comfortable. The B&B looks more beautiful than the pictures.
The place is very clean, excellent bedding and smell and have a pleasant atmosphere of home.
Varied breakfast, healthy, generous and rich. And has always been an interesting and pleasant company during the meal. The kitchen like the rest of the house comfortable and beautiful. Excellent location and the center of downtown! (and safe area)
There is an excellent subway transportation distance of 3 minutes. Everything is really close, supermarkets, restaurants, cafes, gyms, shopping centers and attractions. Yet the place is quiet, the house is located on a small street and back.
I traveled almost everywhere on foot and everything really within walking distance. Unal also acknowledges the excellent Toronto was always fun to consult with him and talk to him. Is an excellent host! Many thanks Unal for everything!!
I highly recommend this place! I could not expect for more. And apparently safe return next month :-)

Room Tip: all the rooms are very good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irit_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

This Inn is surrounded by restaurants and amenities, and very close to transit. All furniture is modern, with beautiful bed linens, a very comfortable bed. Spotlessly clean environment. The grab your own breakfast is okay; amenities which were there Tuesday were gone Wednesday, and some supplies completely empty by Thursday, but the 7-10 availability and the overal quality is good (except the bread products). Excellent speed wifi. Very quiet location.

Room Tip: The Acacia room, while less expensive, requires a one flight walk up to the bathroom, through the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaVerte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
#78 of 136 in Toronto
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Town Inn Suites
Town Inn Suites
#64 of 136 in Toronto
701 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown
Victoria's Mansion Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Home Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Home Inn

Property: Downtown Home Inn
Address: 2 Monteith St, Toronto, Ontario M4Y 1K7, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Downtown Home Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re visiting Toronto on business or pleasure, Downtown Home Inn is excellently located within walking distance to Yonge and Bloor, the crossroads of the city and subway system. Here you are surrounded by multicultural dining, museums, art galleries, theatre, nightlife and exclusive shopping. "Perfect Location and Value" is the right phrase for Downtown Home INN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Downtown Home Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Home Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing