We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Downtown Home Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Downtown Home Inn
Ranked #6 of 115 Toronto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 6 January 2011

I was impressed the moment i open that door. The place was newly renovated, styled in an urban chic style. The place was clean and well maintained. Host Unal has been very helpful and kind during my stay. I definitely recommend this place for the good quality and great price.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Cheryl1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    71
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
20
102
125
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

I had the pleasure of booking a two night stay at the Downtown Park Inn in October of 2010. From the moment I arrived at this lovely B&B in the heart of Toronto's Gay Village, I felt welcomed and comfortable. Unal, who owns manages and lives at the home, was most accomodating and, in addition to having breakfast available at flexible times, he also gave great advice or places to go. As a solo traveler visiting Toronto for the first time, I was glad to have his wise advice on entertaiment, sights to see and restaurants.

This lovely home overlooks a small park and has lovely bedrooms, clean bathrooms and a quiet atomsphere for those who just want to relax. And, because of it's central location, many great places to shop, visit and have fun are just steps away! I truly enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay at Downtown Park Inn when I return to Toronto.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank RoderickH74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

We (5 people) stayed at the Inn for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The place is an excellent value with a great location, close to all the good spots for food and to visit in Toronto.

The inn feels like you're staying in your own home and a big part of that is that the owner was very friendly and helpful whenever we needed info. He keeps the place very clean and he always seems to appear at the right moment.

Parking was easy since I purchased a city pass from the Inn, and for $22 it was a great buy as I got to park across the street for 3 nights.

The only negative I can think of was that the shower pressure wasn't high enough to my liking, but I know that soon enough that will be fixed since the owner is very caring and wants to provide a great experience to all of his clients.

We had stayed at another B&B in Toronto before that charged more, didn't have as good a location and also didn't provide the overall experience that Downtown Park Inn does. We'll definitely go back whenever we go to Toronto. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank PascalT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2010

This B & B is so far one of the best that I have stayed. It is located in a great area with great respect to cultural diversities. The food is healthy and the place is very clean and well maintained. It is a definitely a home away from home highly recommended!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank greatrelaxation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2010

The entire house is freshly renovated. There's nothing about this place that says used, old, or quaint. Despite this, the atmosphere is entirely welcoming.
Our host, Unal, was so nice to upgrade our room for free! I'd initially booked the Lily room, but received the Violet room instead. It came with a massive private deck, which made for a spectacular bonus.
All of the floors are hardwood, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was clean and well maintained.
I'm ashamed to say that we didn't wake up in time to catch breakfast, but the spread looked decent. It lacks eggs though, or anything cooked for that matter.
Unal was entirely hospitable and welcoming. He even accommodated our later-than-normal check out time, which was nice for us late risers.
Overall, it's a classy, well-maintained place that I'd love to go back to and greatly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank drish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2010

If you don't mind sharing a bathroom then this small boutique b&b is a perfect alternative to a hotel in downtown toronto. It is located just 5 mins walk to the metro and 15 mins walk to the Eaton Centre. So it is well situated for a trip to Toronto. There are 2 bathrooms for 6 rooms and everything is very clean. The B&B has just been opened and the furniture is all new. We will definitly stay again if we come back one day.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Gew_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

This B&B combines the charm of an old house with modern comfort and style. Tastefully renovated, the rooms were clean and fresh and the host was very hospitable. Five minute taxi ride to theatre and museums. I will go back.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank neerak14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
#78 of 136 in Toronto
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Town Inn Suites
Town Inn Suites
#65 of 136 in Toronto
701 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown
Victoria's Mansion Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Home Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Home Inn

Property: Downtown Home Inn
Address: 2 Monteith St, Toronto, Ontario M4Y 1K7, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Downtown Home Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re visiting Toronto on business or pleasure, Downtown Home Inn is excellently located within walking distance to Yonge and Bloor, the crossroads of the city and subway system. Here you are surrounded by multicultural dining, museums, art galleries, theatre, nightlife and exclusive shopping. "Perfect Location and Value" is the right phrase for Downtown Home INN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Downtown Home Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Home Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing