We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carisma

Carisma
Reserve with OpenTable
Carisma is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 8,434 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
“Excellent Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

My wife and I were visiting Toronto for the weekend and wanted a nice evening out..

Food was superb, service was polite, timely, courteous. Easy recommendation.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    114
    25
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
Level Contributor
118 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not up to its billing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I must say I was disappointed with the overall experience. It is an attractive venue just one block from King and Yonge so a great location. The venue itself is attractive and well appointed. Menu and wine list very good and attentive staff. So why the 'average' review. First the service was a bit rushed. I hate having my first course served while we're just in the middle of a cocktail. if you offer a cocktail, please get the timing right and don't rush. Second we ordered a wonderful Bisteca Florentina and as my wife does not like rare meat we ordered it medium. It was served less well cooked than medium rare and we had to send some slices back to be recooked. My daughter and I like medium rare but I must say that it was more rare than medium rare and as a result the meat was cool. The appetizers (3 different) were good but not great. We were offered a cheese plate to 'help finish the wine' which we really like and frequently order so that was great. So overall not a bad experience but given its ratings on OpenTable and Zagat I must say it did not meet these. I may go back but it will not be a first choice.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ByrenToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
259 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Cucina italiana originale!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

After reading the reviews I decided to come over here for lunch. This place is very close to the office I have been going to in Toronto. I went for lunch and it was surprised with the amount of people actually dining in there. The place is chic, you are welcomed by truly italian employees where you literally begin your trip to Italy without leaving Toronto.

Everything is fantastic beginning with the super fresh bread with olive oil and a hint of salt. I had the gnocchi quattro formaggi and it was absolutely fantastic! The gnocchi is so fresh and tasty that it melts on your mouth! For dessert I had the chocolate lava cake and it was excellent as well.

The service and food couldn't be better, hence that's the reason for the certificate of excellence and happy customers! And I am going back there again for lunch today!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
164 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Exquisite Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had lunch with friends earlier this week and had a fabulous meal. There were 5 of us and each had something different and everyone raved about the food and the wine selection. This is a new location for the restaurant, but same owners and same quality of food. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BDAHiFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owen Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well Worth the Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Visited on Monday evening and found it excellent. I guess anytime you spend 2 1/2 hours enjoying a meal, you know it was excellent. We were welcomed and offered a nice big table for the 4 of us. Waiters were very attentive without being in your face. Food was excellent; perfect portions, great choices and great flavours. Wine selection was excellent. All in all a very enjoyable experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DonJ532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carisma also viewed

 

Been to Carisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing