We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unbelievably good service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Ranked #4 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Shenandoah Valley of Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“unbelievably good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

The facility is 1st rate, the accommodations 1st class, but the service is over the top. I had high expectations that were exceeded daily by the staff.

Room Tip: The suites with outside decks are expensive but worth the cost..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dkh540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    913
    170
    33
    10
    9
See reviews for
190
440
40
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

here is one new hotel that seems to have gotten the balance perfectly right! location, service, rooms, facilities and overall fantastic location for downtown toronto - in easy walking distance to the waterfront, financial district, china town, convention centre and - not to forget - air canada center. also across from union station and easy access to public transportation and bicycle-rentals.

overall service perfect, never in your face and never pretentious! lobby and bar (watch the fans push past to see toronto maple leafs play!) beautiful, chic and stylish, without trying too hard! reception and concierge staff incredibly friendly and helpful without ever being pushy!

rooms absolutely beautiful and comfortable - clean lines, modern interior, very spacious and bright with lots of daylight! hotel was dotted with neat little touches, such as the fresh green apples - ripe for the picking - strategically placed and displayed at the elevator doors.

cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. this is the one to stay at in downtown toronto - no contest!

Room Tip: overlooking York street with direct view to CN tower and glimpses of the shoreline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firlefanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

I am a very fussy travel agent and I loved this hotel. The service was wonderful, Mara at the front desk was very accomodating. The concierge, hotel car driver, and housekeeping staff were also wonderful.

Hotel is newer, and you can tell. Very unique modern rooms, with all the amenities you expect at a top hotel. Looks exactly like the pictures shown on site. We absolutely loved the location, directly across the street from union station, and within walking distance to the boardwalk, CN Tower, and unique neighborhoods. There is a huge sports bar right next to the hotel, and you are also right by the sports stadiums. They have a bar/loung in the lobby, but we never took advantage of it.

We traveled with friends, and we were both there celebrating our wedding anniversaries. My friends are extremely high maintenance, and they also loved this hotel.

Free Wi-Fi in rooms, parking runs around $40 per night for valet, excellent coffee bar. Loved the fresh apples offered thoughout the hotel.

The views from the rooms were nothing special, but the room itself was very nice. We did not have room service, so unable to rate that. They have a house car that will take you around the city if it is available. Also, the rooms do have irons and boards, they are hidden in a wooden wall panel.

I will make this my first choice on my return travels to Toronto.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyinthewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brossard, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Absolutely enjoyed my stay at Le Germain. Great location and very helpful staff. Walkable distance from the Union subway station and to many fine dining locations. The lounge was very nice, very comfy and spacious. Rooms are very nice and beds comfortable beyond expectations.
Would have taken a two beds room in suite configuration if one was available. No problem spending time in bed, but would have appreciated a table with chairs...
Really the only frustration came from the shower soap dispensers, giving just a tiny bit of soap every time!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrphysics24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manitoba
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

What a great thanksgiving weekend in Toronto. Rare to do the research and pick what you think will be the best hotel and yet still be wowed and impressed when you arrive. Rooms are spacious. Beds are beyond comfy. Loved the espresso in the lounge. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. Sad to leave!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank florist1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flin Flon, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

While we have stayed at some beautiful hotels...The Bellagio and The Westin Maui Resort & Spa...Hotel le Germain Maple Leaf Square definitely exceeded our expectations! This hotel is extremely clean and modern, with many amenities; but more importantly the best service we have had in any hotel.

All the staff was very helpful, but Susan at the Concierge desk is by far their greatest asset! She arranged for us to have a window table at the 360 Restaurant at the CN Tower with a days notice, suggested and booked dinner reservations, as well as taxi's to & from Cirque de Soliel. She was pleasant and genuinely excited for us to have a good time while in Toronto. Thank you Susan!

The hotel is next door to Air Canada Center, within walking distance to the CN Tower, Rogers Centre, the Convention Center, Union Station, Hockey Hall of Fame, Eaton Centre, and a short subway ride to Yorkville.

The decor & ambiance made our room very relaxing, and the huge windows give plenty of sunlight. Little touches like the flip down drawer on the headboard are perfect for putting your book & glasses. Our room faced Air Canada Center, which I think could sometime be a little noisy...but we just happened to be there at the Leaf's Home Opener, and were excited to be a part of the tailgate party in the square. Also, my husband loved being able to watch the game on the giant screen, so it wasn't a problem for us.

A couple of things I would suggest is that they need more hooks in the bathroom to hang your clothes, and a hand towel rack on the wall by the sink. Also, since I prefer a bath rather than a shower, the wall mounted shower gel & shampoo dispensers were not convenient. I think in the rooms with the tub, there should be some small personal shower gel & shampoo, or move the dispenser lower, as it is easier for someone showering to bend down, than it is for someone bathing to get up and down all the time.

Although this started out as a business trip for my husband... after reading reviews, we decided to stay an extra day, and we are both very happy that we did. Our 1st trip to Toronto was a success thanks to Hotel le Germain.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank G W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Main plus points:
- spacious room with iron and ironing board, hair dryer, minibar, free wifi, TV and radio
- chic and contemporary
- great bar
- really really comfortable bed
- helpful, friendly staff
- convenient for transportation to all parts of Toronto, central enough to walk to many parts of the city

Minus points
- disappointing and expensive breakfast (no cooked breakfast available)
- charge for coffee in room (and no complementary water)
- mini bar wasn't topped up daily so I had to call down for milk/coffee
- plug on the iron didn't fit properly into the socket - which meant it kept falling out of socket while in use

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canthinkofaname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDHenderson, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Dear Canthinkofaname,

Thanks very much for staying with us. I’m glad you enjoyed your time here.

For breakfast, we strive to provide a fresh, diverse continental buffet. If you have the opportunity to return, please feel free to contact us in advance if there is a particular item that you like to eat in the morning. Nevertheless, if you crave a hot à la carte breakfast, there are many wonderful options nearby.

As part of our effort to minimize waste, we have central water filtration on each floor with refillable carafes in each room. We are working to create more awareness about this system for our guests. Of course, if you prefer to have bottled water in your room or for the road, we are happy to provide it free of charge.

Thanks again for choosing Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square.

Safe travels,
Murray Henderson
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 132 in Toronto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square

Property: Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Address: 75 Bremner Blvd, Toronto, Ontario M5J 0A1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto's Second Le Germain HôtelGroupe Germain is reasserting itself in Toronto with Hôtel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square. Integrated into the complex for which it is named, this 167-room boutique-hotel is one element in a real estate development that combines condominiums, offices, retail shops and restaurants.Hotspot for Sports and EntertainmentLocated just steps from the Air Canada Centre, home to the Toronto Maple Leafs (hockey) and the Raptors (basketball), and venue for Toronto's hottest events and shows, the hotel is at the heart of it all.Quiet Oasis in a Buzzing NeighbourhoodAlthough the hotel is immersed in the city's vibrant core, it remains loyal to Groupe Germain's philosophy, which is founded on elegance combined with authenticity. Each Germain property strives to achieve the same goal: to offer a comfortable and inviting atmosphere where personalized, yet discreet service is of the utmost importance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing