We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chinatown Travelers Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chinatown Travelers Home
Ranked #65 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Toronto
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chinatown Travelers Home”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

31 Grange Avenue, Toronto--one of the 3 location of Chinatown Travelers Home.
I stayed one night in May, the price was cheap, but the room was terrible!
The bugs all over the bed, I can't sleep whole night! A really bad experience I had there.

Room Tip: Never go that place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank F Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    2
    6
    7
    34
See reviews for
1
13
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

We only booked 2 nights to start with as we were a bit cautious of past reviews. We did have to wait a while for someone to meet us at the house but it was easy to find. We had booked a 2 person private room and the ended up taking us to another building a few blocks away.

There are absolutely no extras here so don't expect them, however if you are looking for a clean room in a great location for $50 a night then this is your place. We had an attached bathroom and the manager bought us a fan as it was quite hot. We stayed 4 nights in the end. It was all we would expect for the price and we would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amba6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Prior to our actual arrival, we read the various reviews about how horrible and inhabitable the hostel is. We were rather apprehensive, but we decided to give it a shot as we were tight on budget.
There wasn't much problem finding the place as it was centrally located, but it within a housing estate.
Quick summary of the hostel - Atmosphere was absent, service was mediocre, cleanliness was average, location was awesome, amenities were basic, price was dirt cheap.
The room was small, but it had the basic - bed, pillow and sheets (NO BEDBUGS! We checked intensely)

In general, if you're paying $20 per night in a large city like Toronto, you really can't expect much. I would recommend this place to those who are not fuzzy and view the hostel as merely a place to sleep. There's nothing much in this hostel, other than it's really affordable and has a good location.

Room Tip: The first or second level, avoid the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank genhxa2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We arrived pretty late at night (drove from Chicago w/ lots of traffic and construction). The profile on a few different websites implied that there would be a night manager available- this is not the case. Called the phone number scribbled onto a piece of paper taped to the reception room door with the word "night manager" scrawled underneath. A man picks up the phone and tells me that he didn't know there was anyone coming to check in that night, that we should've gotten there earlier and that he wasn't going to do anything for us. We left and checked into a different place for the weekend and never looked back. Don't waste your time (or money).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with StudentUniverse

Helpful?
3 Thank Rachael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Toronto hotels

Bern, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is literally the worst place I ever stayed in and I travel a lot.
It is situated within a living quarter and really hard to find. I think I would not have managed it without a Taxi. Luckily it is in the center, so the taxi was not that expensive. The location is the only good thing about this hostel but there are hostels which are far better located and are not more expensive.
It was really creepy on my arrival because there was no hosteling atmosphere. Just a door with a high security lock and a phone where you were supposed to call. The person on the other end had a hard time to understand me. For me it was likewise, she had a real strong accent.
To picture the bad condition:
No reception, you have to call them for everything and they came to the hostel after several hours, so you had to stay and wait or got the chance to miss them.
There was only one bathroom for a whole floor.
The bathroom was dirty and covered with all kinds of staff including head and pubic hear. When there was toilet paper it was wet and dirty too, including red droplets. There where insects all over the bathroom, also an at least 15 centimeter long centipede. As for those who ask themselves why I am writing this: centipede bites can be poisonous and even be deadly.
The mattress I was lying on was covered with lots of stains in different colors: black, blue, yellow, white,... I don't want to imagine what everything is. The room was not clean either. There was hair lying around and balls of dust. I did not have a closer look on the cracks...
There was no space to put your baggage.
It was really hot, because there was no air conditioner and 4 persons in one small like 12 square meter bedroom do produce some heat.
I booked a 3 bed female room and got a 4 bed mixed room but payed for the female room.
Last but not least: a roommate had bites from bed bugs and even killed 2 of them.
I recommend: never ever stay there. I moved out after 2 nights and there still where 2 nights to go. No early checkout possible. But I preferred to pay for 2 nights in 2 places than stay in this hostel any longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FabiKn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We arrived as a girl ran from the place screaming”I won't stay” Our room--3 beds squished together with a fridge?we found stained mattress protectors,a ground floor sliding window that didn't close,filth in the fridge& surly staff who informed us we needed 48h to cancel(website saying 24)& keys held together with a dirty hair tie.Beds were awful&only clothes storage was a series of nails hammered into the walls.The WC was horrible;the only cleaning was the shopping-bag-bin on the towel rack, beside the stained toilet rolls on a bicycle chain,. "cable TV" was a few channels, powered from the most loose fitting outlet Ive ever seen. Not getting electrocuted was the highlight of my stay.Woke often by inexplicable fridge screeching to life randomly. Why this was even in our room was a mystery--there was no way to prep food.1rule to remove your shoes&put on filthy communal flip-flops; though most shoes at the door were flip flops. Should you sleepily forget to take off your shoes, staff barge into your room behind you&chastise you like you forgot as an insult&not because there's no light in the porch where the reminder hangs. If I was doing it again, i'd sleep in subway.

Room Tip: If the room really is very cheap for a good location then fully expect a dive as awful as this trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Candy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We came first night and they didn't have room which we reserved, so we got "discount" and shared room in different house.. Bathroom was ugly, but the room was ok... Next morning i found the cocroach in my bed... We try to get refund for the second night, but only thing we got was an email adress.. After couple minutes of complaining we got another room in different house.. Finally the room was clean, but shower and toilet in the same room as beds. I'll never visit this hostel again...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kozlik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Chinatown
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#100 of 136 in Toronto
187 reviews
Chinatown
Studio 6 Toronto
Studio 6 Toronto
#88 of 136 in Toronto
169 reviews
Queen Street and West Queen West
The Beverley Hotel
The Beverley Hotel
#73 of 136 in Toronto
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Street and West Queen West
The Rex Hotel
The Rex Hotel
#9 of 115 in Toronto
203 reviews
Downtown
Hostelling International Toronto
Chinatown
College Backpackers
College Backpackers
#49 of 100 in Toronto
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chinatown Travelers Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chinatown Travelers Home

Property: Chinatown Travelers Home
Address: 31 Grange Ave, Toronto, Ontario M5T 1C6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Chinatown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Chinatown Travelers Home 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Chinatown Travelers Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing