We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hoping my son goes to U of T--so we can come back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Ranked #5 of 135 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Canadian hospitality at it's best! Thank you for making our trip to visit the U of T so wonderful! Even if my son does not go to the University here-we will come back. Service was impeccable, food in the Club Lounge was very good (especially the endless candy jars), room was clean, modern and comfotable and the pool was fun for the boys. Kimberly at the reception desk made my 9 year old's day when Chocolate covered bacon was found in our room after a long day of touring! Thank you so much again! He will never forget this trip. He also wants to come to the U of T.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank educatedtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,591 - 1,597 of 1,714 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2011

I stayed at the one month old Ritz-Carlton in Toronto for one night and had high expectations given the newness of the property and that it was a Ritz-Carlton. I came away thinking that the Hazelton may still be the best 5 star choice in the city.
The positives :
1. It is absolutely spotless and still has that new hotel smell.
2. The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable with really nice marble bathroms. Coolest item is the TV in the bathroom mirror.
3. Mostly the staff were very friendly and tried hard to please.
4. The gym/fitness centre was exceptionally well equipped and had a nice looking if somewhat small indoor pool.

The less positive things.
1. Lack of wow factor in the rooms. There's nothing wrong with them but just a little utilitarian for my taste and not overly large at about 450 sq. ft.

2. The public areas are equally lacking in wow factor.

3. I was booked under the AmEx Platinum card Fine Hotels programme, despite the fact that the hotel was pretty empty I did not get the room upgrade that I was entitled to under the programme and when I asked for the upgrade the clerk who was checking me in told me the my city view deluxe was an upgrade when actually it is the lowest level room in the hotel. There was availability in every room and suite category according the website.

4. 3 small quibbles : the door of my room did not close properly. The towel basket in the gym was overflowing with used towels even though there were no guests in the gym at 7am. it can't have been cleaned at least since the previous evening given the low usage of the facility. Also they charge $10 per day for internet, if Motel 6 can throw it in when they charge $30 per night can't the Ritz-Carlton do the same at $450 per night?

Overall this new Ritz-Carlton is well appointed, well located, spotless and comfortable and a decent choice for travellers on an expense account. But if you want great rooms in a 5 Star hotel in Toronto I would recommend the Hazelton over the Ritz-Carlton.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dopanijoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed 1 night at the Ritz-Carlton. Bravo--they have just raised the bar in the city! Upon entering, the lobby is stunningly gorgeous...lots of fabulous touches such as bronze maple leaves embedded in the marble floor, beautiful furniture, interesting light fixtures by Canadian artsist, beautiful bar & artwork abound. A very classy feel. Check-in was absolutely smooth and the room was immaculate with a great view facing the CN Tower and Lake Ontario. Stunning bathroom with deep bath, separate shower, heated marble floors and tv in mirror. It is worth the upgrade to the Club Level as the lounge is very inviting and is very well serviced. A special shout-out to Hamut, excellent Concierge and John also. Pool area is bright and new and warm and the Spa is divine. I will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kak0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

This hotel is beautiful. I disagree with the earlier reviewer that says this is like a mid American Holiday Inn (I have been to many of those and it is not like that at all). I thought it had some interesting details (maple leafs in the marble floor), beautiful wood, and interesting lighting. The location was great - easy access to the theatre district, to shopping, and it was right on the PATH system.

We had a lovely room with a view of the CN tower and Toronto Island. I really liked the bed but husband's side seemed to be slanted (more well used than he would have expected). The bathroom with the heated floor, big shower, double sinks was fantastic and I really liked the Blue Vision TV in the mirror.

The hotel provided complimentary drinks and snack for a welcome gift because my husband had told them it was my birthday and there was a turn down service which was a nice touch.

The breakfast in TOCA was good although the coffee was weak. We had dinner at TOCA as well and it was good but not great. And we had a snack and some drinks at the TOCA bar which was very good. The service over all was good not great because they still seemed to be learning. It was nothing of great concern but you could see there were still a few kinks to be worked out.

Valet parking and breakfast were included in our package.

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. It has just displace the Royal York as my husband's favourite hotel in Toronto.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimosabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Luxuary at it’s finest in Toronto; as a frequent traveller I am elated to finally stay at a Hotel that really hits the mark in this city, The Ritz Carlton never falls to impress.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RachelKay76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Surprisinly ordinary looking -- like something that would have been considered fresh and interesting in the 1970s. Poorly designed, cheaply executed, forgettable finishings -- it's shocking how widely the designers missed the mark with $500 million. I expected Ritz to have the old school glamour of Royal York, the attention to quality detail of a St. Germain, the vibrancy of the Thompson ... instead it looked like a Holiday Inn at a sub-standard middle American city. Unbelievable how removed from this century and hospitality industry the managers, investors and designers of the Rtitz appear. Oh, and the poor staff seem to have zero training as they fumble around nervously and cluess.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ZoeyCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Took my wife to the Ritz for a "weekend in the city" for our anniversary. Spent the extra money for the Club-Level and it was worth every penny. My wife loved the TV in the bathroom mirror, it was tough to get her out of the tub.
Staff is by far the most professional I have dealt with in Toronto. They had only been open for 5 days but you never would have known. DEQ lounge was a great way to wind down at the end of the night. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CC123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
#10 of 135 in Toronto
1,315 reviews
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Delta Hotels Toronto
Delta Hotels Toronto
#8 of 135 in Toronto
2,186 reviews
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 135 in Toronto
764 reviews
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#23 of 135 in Toronto
3,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Address: 181 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#4 Family Hotel in Toronto
#4 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#5 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £326 - £527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto’s most centrally located AAA Five Diamond award winning hotel, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto welcomes guests to the heart of Canada’s most culturally diverse city. Just steps from the city’s financial district and cultural attractions, the luxury hotel offers views of the CN Tower, Lake Ontario and downtown Toronto. Featuring Canada’s only cheese cave at TOCA Restaurant, an outdoor terrace at DEQ, and the #1 Hotel Spa in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto offers an oasis in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Toronto Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing