We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Ranked #5 of 135 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Everyone is extremely friendly and accomodating at this hotel. We had a regular studio room and it was fantastic. It is extremely clean, with a good size tv, and an extremely comfortable nice bed. The bathroom is gorgeous with a huge bathtub and a separate shower area and, my personal favourite, a tv in the bathrrom mirror! I did not find the room too small - compared to New York hotel rooms, it is fairly spacious. If you want to be close to the financial district or the entertainment district, the location is perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,472 - 1,478 of 1,713 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

I always lament the state of dowdy that characterizes so many hotels in Canada. So even though this is a Ritz Carlton (chain of choice for American suburbanite McMansionists), this one came as a pleasant surprise. Fairly new, lobby was aesthetically restrained and soothing, with judicious use of stone and wood, quality lighting, maple leafs artfully embedded in the floor in a non-cheesy tasteful manner. Staff were friendly and efficient. Hallways very tasteful in their carpeting. Rooms spacious, nice wood paneling and wood case goods. Sleep quality and pillows were excellent. Why only 4-stars and not 5? This property still suffers from the Ritz Carlton suburb-look disease- room furniture out of an Ethan Allen catalogue, bathrooms that could be perfect, but look half-finished with naked latex paint against otherwise tasteful stone and too many butter-cream tones throughout. A few minor upgrades aesthetically will make this a true 5-star on a global. In the mean time, at least there is a worthy place to stay now in the Toronto financial district.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrekker63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

great services and food , rooms are clean spacious ; staff are so nice and with attention to details

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Was here for a few nights on business. Very nice indeed. Spacious rooms with a view of downtown toronto, TV in bathroom was very innovative and intelligent... was able to watch the morning news while shaving for a meeting. Swimming pool and fitness center were excellent, and the staff was very professional. The place is very well kept. There are a few things which are preventing me from giving this hotel 5 stars however.. 1) The bar on upper level messed up on our drinks order and this wasn't fun, as when i mentionned this to our server, she said she would be right back to get it fixed...the waitrness never got around to get them changed...she seemed more concerned with taking down as many orders as possible from different clients. We just left our drinks sitting there as we waited about 20 minutes... I had to approach her to tell her that we couldn't wait any longer as we had a meeting on the other side of town and had to get going...although she didn't charge us, no apology was given, and no gesture was offered.... this shouldn't happen at any hotel... especially not at the Ritz Carlton. 2) Soundproofing of the rooms isn't that great unfortunately... yes Toronto is busy but I shouldn't be woken up by morning traffic at a Ritz Carlton.. I have stayed at other Ritz, and this doesn't seem to be an issue anywhere else but in TO. All in all a great hotel, but if you are a Ritz Carlton things just have to be perfect ( especially for the price of a room/night that is charged)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lupo1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This well appointed, extremely friendly, hospitable hotel is a welcome improvement to the downtown hotel selection in Toronto. Our room was spacious and well appointed with a great view of Roy Tompson Hall and the park to the North. Contemporary and stylish, with comfort. The Canadian touch to this location (large bronze maple leafs in the reception and lobby floor and Canadian contemporary artwork) is much appreciated. The bars were a buzzing with the after work crowd too.
We had left a clothing article in the closet and it was successfully retrieved with the assistance of the hotel staff. We experienced their excellent 24 hour access and communications, from well across the country, next day. Kudos to the team.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalgaryTraveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I have never walked into a hotel room and been more disappointed. The room is a shoebox , quite literally. The door opens and misses the closet by a matter of inches. The bathroom has a pocket door that slides because if it swung in it would hit the wardrobe door since the hallway is so narrow. The beds (which are comfortable) take up most of the room. For a new hotel the room is dull and very boring. The last two hotels we stayed at, the Westin in NYC and the W in Hong Kong were twice the size and half the cost. Prepare to be under whelmed, from the tiny lobby to the swimming pool which is smaller than a residential pool (no kidding). I was shocked. I kept asking myself if I was actually in a Ritz. The people who work there are their strongest assets, Paul the bellman, Irene at the front desk and the manager Monika were all very professional. We took two rooms as I was traveling with my wife, daughters and two friends. The Ritz sends out a prior email to find out any special requests. (great idea). The lady concierge Erica follows up with a call. Some requests are free and some they list have a charge. We requested a birthday cake (gave the name of birthday boy) and flowers for an anniversary. No charge listed on website or by concierge. However my guess is they found out we were using points (80,000) and then we got a call to tell us they forgot to inform us of the charge for the flowers. The term nickel and dime comes to mind, so we passed. The birthday cake also shrunk quite considerably (see photo). I have read some of the positive reviews of this hotel and marvel at what was left out. Yes there is a view, however the rooms are small,dull and boring.

Room Tip: If you are expecting luxury don't get a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank atlasshrugged77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Amazing, understated service. Great food, drink and atmosphere. I had a great view of CN Tower. They really have got it right here. Good location too. Not ridiculously expensive either, good restaurant prices. Would definitely recommend.

Great service from doorman, conceirge, waiters etc etc,,,,,,,,

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank escapeebristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
#10 of 135 in Toronto
1,315 reviews
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Delta Hotels Toronto
Delta Hotels Toronto
#8 of 135 in Toronto
2,186 reviews
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 135 in Toronto
764 reviews
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#23 of 135 in Toronto
3,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Address: 181 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#4 Family Hotel in Toronto
#4 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#5 Business Hotel in Toronto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £324 - £524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto’s most centrally located AAA Five Diamond award winning hotel, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto welcomes guests to the heart of Canada’s most culturally diverse city. Just steps from the city’s financial district and cultural attractions, the luxury hotel offers views of the CN Tower, Lake Ontario and downtown Toronto. Featuring Canada’s only cheese cave at TOCA Restaurant, an outdoor terrace at DEQ, and the #1 Hotel Spa in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto offers an oasis in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Toronto Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing