We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Ranked #5 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Ritz. I'm not sure of the age, but the hotel seemed quite new. We had a corner suite with a small living room and 1 & 1/2 baths. We've stayed at other nice hotels in Toronto such as the four seasons, but the rooms at the ritz were much higher in quality. We would book here again, without question. Service at the front desk and concierge was excellent.

We had drinks and snacks at DEQ. Service was a bit slow at first, but drinks and food were good. We ate at the buffet both mornings and enjoyed it. Service was very attentive and they will cook you eggs, pancakes, waffles, etc at no extra charge. Again, food was good, but not outstanding. As I said, it was good enough that we ate there twice.

Room Tip: The corner suite was worth the extra charge, if you like a bit more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retropj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,414 - 1,420 of 1,681 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2012

From start to finish, the staff, facilities and experience of this hotel are marvellous. I stayed in a spotless and luxurious guest room on the 6th floor which had a patio. The room service was impeccable and the food delicious. The spa on the 5th floor is probably one of the most enjoyable I've used in ages. Overall, the Ritz-Carlton Toronto is worth every penny. I cannot wait to stay over again.

Room Tip: 6th floor room with attached patio is delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScreamyFrassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We have stayed at this hotel 5 times since it opened 2-3 years ago. Each time we have been able to book a package that included full breakfast and parking. Not this time. Although this was one of several special "offers" shown on this property's website as well as on the main R-C website, NONE of the offers were available for the dates we tried (July 27, 28, 29; a Fri through Sun), this despite our having this exact same package exactly a year ago. So we checked random dates for approx one month either side, just out of curiosity. Again, NOT A SINGLE "offer" available for a single date. Perplexing, to say the least. Moreover, the "weekend" rate for Sunday is bumped up an additional $95 - something in our experience virtually all hotel chains had stopped long ago as it is human nature for people to feel they are being overcharged for the Sunday, rather than getting a break on the Fri-Sat rate, the excuse the chains reverted to as explanation. The location is good for what we do in Toronto, the restaurants we go to, so we went ahead and booked. The R-C online booking engine always asks if you wish a high floor or low floor. We checked off High. Upon arrival we found ourselves in a suite on the 10th of 20 floors, not "high" by any definition. A corner Lake View suite doesn't exactly provide much view of the lake from the 10th floor. In fact, the same had occured at the R-C on Grand Cayman a couple of years ago, on that occasion our suite proved to be on the 3rd floor. If you ask, and the guest's preference is simply going to be ignored, why ask?? Again, puzzling. Further, cost of a full American breakfast actually rivals or surpasses NYC(!) - where we stayed at the Four Seasons just last month, NYC being known world wide for costly hotel breakfasts.. Parking was an additional $42 per day (word of advice, park underground in the equally new building next door - not 20 feet away - for a flat $15 on weeekends).

The hotel itself is everything one expects in a 5 star property and really cannot be faulted. Staff is truly exceptional. Unfortunately, they, and the property, are undermined by antiquated and long-out-of-date practices still being imposed by corporate management in Bethesda. From seemingly endless similar experiences related on the Internet, Ritz Carlton is falling behind rapidly and there needs to be changes at the top.

Room Tip: Avoid Ritz Carltons until management cease treating their customers as stooges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldwidewanderer93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This place doesn't need additional advertising. I am on the 20th floor, Club Delux room with lake view and all the goodies included. Was a little dissapointed with their breakfast. Would expect something more exclusive for Ritz and Club Delux in particular. Not enough froots. When I assked for fried eggs instead of omlet, that was served as the part of breakfast buffey, waiter said I have to pay for it! Well, even hotels of that level have problems. The main one is desire to save money where not necessary.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank RAMILO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

DEQ, nice but ordinary...Joana great server, helpful. TOCA, good wild boar ragout, good wines, great steak...but again, nothing that special. Club level room great, wonderful amenities, drinks free. Well worth it for a special night(s).

Room Tip: Lakeview is nice, but not really ON lake, north of Gardiner looking past CN tower and condos...but C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IH9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This hotel is so friendly. My 10 year old son and I had the best stay. The staff was welcoming from the moment we arrived until we left. Everyone went out of their way to make us feel special. Great views of the CN Tower.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 234CMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The Ritz Carlton is one of the best hotels in Toronto. The staff is professional, they understand service, the rooms are above average, and the hotel on par with other Ritz hotels.

Room Tip: Book a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mfsupra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#22 of 138 in Toronto
3,757 reviews
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 138 in Toronto
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Address: 181 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#4 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#5 Business Hotel in Toronto
#5 Family Hotel in Toronto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £278 - £534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto’s most centrally located AAA Five Diamond award winning hotel, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto welcomes guests to the heart of Canada’s most culturally diverse city. Just steps from the city’s financial district and cultural attractions, the luxury hotel offers views of the CN Tower, Lake Ontario and downtown Toronto. Featuring Canada’s only cheese cave at TOCA Restaurant, an outdoor terrace at DEQ, and the #1 Hotel Spa in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto offers an oasis in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Marriott, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Toronto Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing