We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Ranked #4 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Belleville, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Incredible hotel”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I stayed at this hotel in early December and I can't tell you what an incredible experience it was.
From the moment you approach the hotel the doorman makes you feel like he was waiting for your arrival as a special guest and the level of excellent service just continues on. Bellmen and front desk make you feel like a valued customer and go out of their way to assist you.
The room was wonderful - the amenities, linnens and decor are fabulous. A huge work desk was an added bonus. We were attending business meetings at the hotel and the food was awesome.
This is an experience worth trying.......

Room Tip: If you take a room on the water view side - you get quite the light show from the CN tower. The cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MobyBelleville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,168
    205
    58
    15
    15
See reviews for
307
514
60
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

I recently traveled to Toronto for a James Bond film festival at the TIFF Bell Lightbox. Although I usually stay at Starwood properties, I was not impressed with the Sheraton or Westin locations. I knew I wanted to stay in the Entertainment District, specifically near TIFF Bell Lightbox, which was one of the reasons for selecting the Ritz Carlton. Another reason for selecting the Ritz Carlton was a discounted rate.

The hotel is 30-60 minute taxi ride from YYZ, which is a flat $50 rate. If possible, I would recommend flying into YTZ, which is only a five minute ride and $10 fare. The Ritz has direct access to PATH, the city's underground pedestrian mall. Unfortunately, hotel guests cannot access the hotel from PATH on the weekends due to security reasons. this restriction is quite unfortunate if traveling during the winter when the weather and sidewalks are in poor condition. A TTC subway station and the TIFF Bell Lightbox are a five minute walk from the hotel. CN Tower and the Air Canada Centre are a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel. In the evening and weekends, the area around the hotel becomes quite dead, especially during the winter.

When I arrived at the hotel, the doorman assisted in getting my luggage out of the taxi and greeted me by my last name (I assume this information was discretely read from my luggage tag). The doorman also informed the front desk of my arrival and was warmly greeted at the front desk by last name as well. The hotel was built within the last two years and has a warm and inviting lobby.

My room on the north side of the 16th floor was quite spacious and overlooked Roy Thomson Hall and a park (rooms on the south side of the building should have nice views of the CN Tower). The large bathroom contains a lot of light coloured marble, a double vanity, tub, shower and toilet. A tv is built into the mirror, but I did not use. I was quite disappointed in the smell and quality of the shower gel, shampoo and conditioner provided by the hotel. I ended up purchasing some toiletries at the l'occitane store in PATH, a ten minute walk from the hotel.

The room was a good size and nicely furnished with a ample storage space for clothes and luggage. The Bose alarm clock was useful in charging my iPhone. Although the desk area contains two electrical outlets, one was already in use by the desk lamp. Having only one available outlet at the desk can be an inconvenience if you need to plug in a laptop and another electrical charger. The bed and linen quality were quite nice. I really appreciated the complementary bottled water in the room.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay at the Ritz Carlton Toronto and will consider returning in the future due to close proximity to TIFF Bell Lightbox, Air Canada Centre, CN Tower, PATH and TCC subway station and the overall quality of the hotel.

Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank JJJ830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

No better place to stay when you are in Toronto. It was the perfect place to come back to relax from a busy trip. Only problem was that they gave my bag to another guest and I almost took off on a plane with his luggage. They were able to work it out in time that I didn't miss my flight.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueslady442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

A superb 5 star property in Toronto Centre. Close to the Enterainment and financial districts. Spectacular lake view rooms, with heated floors, wet bar, tv in the mirror in the bathroom. Superb cuisine at TOCA. Fantastic service in DEQ lounge. The spa is the best in the city.

Room Tip: 14 floor lakeview deluxe king
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 668Michelets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

My wife and I satyed on the club floor to celebrate our wedding anniversary. This Hotel will undoubtedly give every luxury hotel in Toronto a run for its money. One thing that stands out for us - it isn't just that this hotel has such great service but it's the consistency of the service that is so impressive. In many other 5 star hotels we have stayed at, while they are lovely, there is generally a 'thorn' that stands out as a service flaw - like room service was slow. But this hotel seemingly has it nailed. It is excellent every step of the way.

Here's one more characterisitic that I really appreciated. They manage to pull off absolute top drawer service without 'snootiness'. It's very relaxed. In other luxury environments things can feel a bit uptight but not here. You settle in quick and enjoy yourself. Staff are very approachable and at the same time very professional.

Even our spa appointments for pedicures was far above average. Conversational and relaxed while still making you feel special. My pregnant wife really appreciated it.

Room Tip: While other hotel chains' club floors, like Fairmont, are questionable in value, this club floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank #1Vancouverite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burlington, ON
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Just a lovely, luxurious and friendly stay. We went for my birthday celebration and couldn't have asked for a nicer hotel. Beds were extremely plush and comfortable. The restaurant, Toca, was exceptional. The spa is definitely worth the price, the best massage I've had. All in all a great experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Three nights here in December. The Ritz is a new addition to the Toronto scene. It is a modern high-rise in the business district (which can be a bit dead on weekend mornings... caveat for leisure travel). The lobby and bar areas are extremely attractive, and the welcome at the door and at the desk was warm. The room is not spacious, but a fine size, and is attractively decorated. The bathroom is typical Ritz, with nice polished stone. Excellent bed, fast and hot room service (delicious lobster pot pie). No problems with a hotel-arranged car to the airport. I found the rates high for a weekend stay, especially in comparison to other luxury properties in Toronto, but I suppose that they charge what the market can bear and there were a number of Christmas events at the hotel. All in all, an excellent stay. I'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gate95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 136 in Toronto
2,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Address: 181 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#4 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#4 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#5 Family Hotel in Toronto
#5 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto’s most centrally located AAA Five Diamond award winning hotel, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto welcomes guests to the heart of Canada’s most culturally diverse city. Just steps from the city’s financial district and cultural attractions, the luxury hotel offers views of the CN Tower, Lake Ontario and downtown Toronto. Featuring Canada’s only cheese cave at TOCA Restaurant, an outdoor terrace at DEQ, and the #1 Hotel Spa in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto offers an oasis in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Toronto Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing