We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Larger room than expected, fabulous service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Ranked #5 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Had a great stay here. It's definitely expensive, as you'd expect any Ritz to be ($18+ a glass for wine) but we used Marriott Reward points to get the room for free. The concierge and desk staff are ridiculously attentive and friendly. Were able to immediately get a "limo" (towncar) to the airport from the hotel, which we'd seen on other posts as requiring special pre-orders with extra fees. Cost $65 to go to the airport in the nice car, which is basically the same as a cab would be. Loved it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilaoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,151 - 1,157 of 1,671 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed here for one night, on a Saturday, for a conference. Although we got a deal on the hotel room, due to the conference, it was still quite expensive (after all, it's the Ritz) and you're left with no choice but to use valet parking as they do not offer any other type of parking at the hotel (just across the street).

When you're paying over $300 for a room plus $45 for parking, you expect excellent service. The staff was friendly and attentive enough but the room had some issues. There was a light out in the bathroom and maintenance took a half hour to come replace it (when they said they'd be there "right away"). We also noticed a beer can behind the nightstand and a lid from a can of salsa on the carpet (right by a chair).

We mentioned this upon checkout but we offered no sort of compensation, other than an apology. We were asked if we had told housekeeping about this. When we said no, we were almost given the impression that we were to blame. I understand that we're young business professionals and not "typical" Ritz Carlton clientele but we're still paying guests who are entitled to good service.

For the most part though, the staff was friendly, the room was lovely (especially the washroom!), the lobby was clean (and smelled nice) and the complimentary water in the lobby was a nice touch. However, I think we will stay at the Westin for future conferences.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The lobby is beautiful and the staff at the front desk were nice. Our suite was clean and spacious. The master bath was gorgeous and the powder room was convenient. The atmosphere was nice. The hotel location is close to the path.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

While not inexpensive, the Ritz Toronto is really all it's supposed to be at that price. When you first walk in, it smells lovely - not overwhelming but lovely. We had a room facing the CN tower and the waterfront. The view of the Tower is so uniquely Toronto and I love waking up to the waterfront view. The room is very nice with a beautiful fluffy bed and robes. The staff is very professional but still friendly. The bar in the back, especially when the outdoor section is open, is a find. It's busy but not full of traders so you can find a seat and talk. We also ate at Toca and really enjoyed it. Us I'll review that separately. I've also heard very good things about the spa but I haven't been. All in all, you get what you pay for here - a tasteful and luxurious experience.

Room Tip: A room facing the CN Tower and the water. The 11th floor seemed to be the right height for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdnfamilytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Gorgeous hotel, not on the main thoroughfare but not too far from the bustle.

The spa is super luxurious only one issue; the water in the pool is pretty much cold and for that I couldnt return. We really went for a nice hotel spa/pool wkend so the pool being too cold means it wouldn't work for us. I went in and got right back out. It's that cold that you don't warm up!

A shame.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank triptime2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I've stayed at a lot of luxury hotels around the world but this is the first try with a Ritz-Carlton. While technically a good stay based on location and room comfort, it did not stand out as somewhere to return to for service or ammenities. The entrance and lobby are beautiful, but the reserved nature of service staff did not feel luxurious so much as cold/indifferent.

The room was comfortable with an excellent view and bedding, but had no character or coziness, it could have been a generic chain business hotel room anywhere and did nothing to recommend a 'Ritz-Carlton experience'. Charging for internet in this day and age is also a turn-off that is not limited to this hotel, but an ongoing nuisance that luxury hotels need to resolve. It's not just about being cheap (which it is), but guest convenience.

The bar was nicely designed and service was respectable, so we would be willing to come back for a drink but for the price point would pick a different hotel stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

i was at the spa this summer with my fiance. we had a horrible experience. my arm was sliced by a razor blade that was in the lining of the robe they gave me to wear. obviously this is a serious health and sanitation issue and, its the last thing you expect to experience at the ritz-carlton spa.

we reported the incident to management and they had a team of people rush to the spa to deal with the issue. of course, the whole ordeal took away from any enjoyment we were hoping to have during our spa day. and at the end of it all, they charged us full price for our services!

there are far better spas in toronto to go to if you're looking for a luxurious relaxing spa day!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank dan0190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 137 in Toronto
3,684 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 137 in Toronto
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Address: 181 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#4 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#5 Family Hotel in Toronto
#5 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £272 - £556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto’s most centrally located AAA Five Diamond award winning hotel, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto welcomes guests to the heart of Canada’s most culturally diverse city. Just steps from the city’s financial district and cultural attractions, the luxury hotel offers views of the CN Tower, Lake Ontario and downtown Toronto. Featuring Canada’s only cheese cave at TOCA Restaurant, an outdoor terrace at DEQ, and the #1 Hotel Spa in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto offers an oasis in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Toronto Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing