We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon in Canada”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Ranked #6 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Honeymoon in Canada”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We absolutely adored the RC Toronto. My husband was blown away by its beauty within the hotel it self. The staff is a perfect 10, especially Dawood at the front desk. He made our trip even more romantic by surprising us with a beautiful picnic basket on our way to the falls. I'm not sure if I spelt his name correctly but he's amazing. We stayed for 1 week in room #705 in August 2013. We will go back every year on our anniversary for its now apart of our beginning...we are expecting our first child in June and we will all be back if all is well in August of 2014. Warning, Toronto downtown in the summer is construction central ....wow. It's great for newly weds who want peace and quiet and time to focus on each other. I think the rooms are sound proof so no red faces. The locals are great. Ton of places to eat... But bring at least $2000 CAD, but if you have $500 that's okay (remember that for two ppl). Please go to Niagara on the lake , it's the perfect place for families. Love you RC Toronto !!!!

Room Tip: #705 views was fine for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keishadowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,202
    213
    60
    16
    17
See reviews for
327
528
60
393
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Had a great stay here. It's definitely expensive, as you'd expect any Ritz to be ($18+ a glass for wine) but we used Marriott Reward points to get the room for free. The concierge and desk staff are ridiculously attentive and friendly. Were able to immediately get a "limo" (towncar) to the airport from the hotel, which we'd seen on other posts as requiring special pre-orders with extra fees. Cost $65 to go to the airport in the nice car, which is basically the same as a cab would be. Loved it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilaoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed here for one night, on a Saturday, for a conference. Although we got a deal on the hotel room, due to the conference, it was still quite expensive (after all, it's the Ritz) and you're left with no choice but to use valet parking as they do not offer any other type of parking at the hotel (just across the street).

When you're paying over $300 for a room plus $45 for parking, you expect excellent service. The staff was friendly and attentive enough but the room had some issues. There was a light out in the bathroom and maintenance took a half hour to come replace it (when they said they'd be there "right away"). We also noticed a beer can behind the nightstand and a lid from a can of salsa on the carpet (right by a chair).

We mentioned this upon checkout but we offered no sort of compensation, other than an apology. We were asked if we had told housekeeping about this. When we said no, we were almost given the impression that we were to blame. I understand that we're young business professionals and not "typical" Ritz Carlton clientele but we're still paying guests who are entitled to good service.

For the most part though, the staff was friendly, the room was lovely (especially the washroom!), the lobby was clean (and smelled nice) and the complimentary water in the lobby was a nice touch. However, I think we will stay at the Westin for future conferences.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The lobby is beautiful and the staff at the front desk were nice. Our suite was clean and spacious. The master bath was gorgeous and the powder room was convenient. The atmosphere was nice. The hotel location is close to the path.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

While not inexpensive, the Ritz Toronto is really all it's supposed to be at that price. When you first walk in, it smells lovely - not overwhelming but lovely. We had a room facing the CN tower and the waterfront. The view of the Tower is so uniquely Toronto and I love waking up to the waterfront view. The room is very nice with a beautiful fluffy bed and robes. The staff is very professional but still friendly. The bar in the back, especially when the outdoor section is open, is a find. It's busy but not full of traders so you can find a seat and talk. We also ate at Toca and really enjoyed it. Us I'll review that separately. I've also heard very good things about the spa but I haven't been. All in all, you get what you pay for here - a tasteful and luxurious experience.

Room Tip: A room facing the CN Tower and the water. The 11th floor seemed to be the right height for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdnfamilytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Gorgeous hotel, not on the main thoroughfare but not too far from the bustle.

The spa is super luxurious only one issue; the water in the pool is pretty much cold and for that I couldnt return. We really went for a nice hotel spa/pool wkend so the pool being too cold means it wouldn't work for us. I went in and got right back out. It's that cold that you don't warm up!

A shame.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank triptime2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I've stayed at a lot of luxury hotels around the world but this is the first try with a Ritz-Carlton. While technically a good stay based on location and room comfort, it did not stand out as somewhere to return to for service or ammenities. The entrance and lobby are beautiful, but the reserved nature of service staff did not feel luxurious so much as cold/indifferent.

The room was comfortable with an excellent view and bedding, but had no character or coziness, it could have been a generic chain business hotel room anywhere and did nothing to recommend a 'Ritz-Carlton experience'. Charging for internet in this day and age is also a turn-off that is not limited to this hotel, but an ongoing nuisance that luxury hotels need to resolve. It's not just about being cheap (which it is), but guest convenience.

The bar was nicely designed and service was respectable, so we would be willing to come back for a drink but for the price point would pick a different hotel stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 136 in Toronto
3,144 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Address: 181 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#4 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#5 Family Hotel in Toronto
#5 Business Hotel in Toronto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto’s most centrally located AAA Five Diamond award winning hotel, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto welcomes guests to the heart of Canada’s most culturally diverse city. Just steps from the city’s financial district and cultural attractions, the luxury hotel offers views of the CN Tower, Lake Ontario and downtown Toronto. Featuring Canada’s only cheese cave at TOCA Restaurant, an outdoor terrace at DEQ, and the #1 Hotel Spa in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto offers an oasis in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Toronto Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing