We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the Ritz”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Ranked #6 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Still the Ritz”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Went for a Saturday overnight. Everything good.
Last visit was in 2011. This time, room was looking a tad worn. A couple of lights had issues, which required futzing with. Beadhead light kept blinking. Little things like that. Carpet looked tired.
Service still great on all counts.
Breakfast at Tosca a real disappointment for a Ritz. Somewhat tasteless eggs, tough bacon, crunchy asparagus etc. Overall rubbery. Too damn bad

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fade_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,168
    205
    58
    15
    15
See reviews for
307
514
60
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

I treat myself to a spa treatment at the Ritz every year for my birthday. It is heavenly. I almost don't want to gush too much so it doesn't get run down with people. The service is impeccable, the spa immaculate, the services are great quality. Its not cheap but its worth every penny as you can lounge there all day in peace and quiet (for the most part - see below). The downsides I would say are, oddly enough, for a top spa, the toilets don't flush properly. They flush when they shouldn't and don't flush when they should so you always end up having to flush them manually. Small thing but strange. Their robes are massive. It would be great to have some smaller robes available for more petite folk. And a big downside (IMO) is they've just added in (since I was last there) a basketball hoop in the (indoor) pool and pool toys. Not sure who's bright idea that was but I think it was a bad one. It's strange to have nice, soothing spa music piped through the speakers and then people in the pool trying to slam dunk. That was a major turn off and have to say ruined the chill vibe for me. Hopefully they'll remove them soon to bring the vibe to what it used to be. Other then that the spa is amazing!

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank jc8228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Really enjoyed are stay at the Ritz in Toronto. The location is wonderful for tourists. So close to the harbor and to the tower. Very walker friendly. We walked to dinner each night and one night walked to the Second City show. Many other theatre's near by. The staff was superb. Very kind and paid attention to details. The room was very comfortable and clean. The bathroom was nicely updated and enjoyed getting ready watching the news each morning in the mirrored television. The hotel is part of the underground walkway, so it was easy to get around without needing to go outside. Very close to the foot court and shops on the walkway. Overall, a great stay and would return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuntBee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Last week, I spent 4 nights at the Ritz-Carlton in Toronto. The property was beautiful, the location was great, and the customer service was top notch. The staff went above and beyond to ensure our party was taken care of at all times and it was much appreciated. We all commented how we would be happy to stay at this property any time!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lissy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for New Year's with three teenage girls in a beautiful corner suite.
Cleanliness scored a 4 because I was surprised to see the amount of dust on the floors in the corners. However, hardwood flooring, sitting room and powder room, master bedroom and beautiful ensure separated by a long hallway ... Service was amazing, realized we hadn't called housekeeping to have the pull out bed prepared so I called the front desk at 4am and someone showed up within minutes. The New Year's Eve party was a lot of fun... great music and fun crowd. We all had a great time and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyDogForPresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st Louis
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We have stayed at a few Hotels in this chain and this, by far, was the best. We were upgraded to a suite and it was exquisite - every detail. Heated floors, beautiful fabrics. cozy lighting, nespresso machine and large bath with tv in the mirror.
It was quiet, we never heard a sound.

The staff was welcoming and friendly. It was decorated very festively for the Holidays! I loved the hot tea from Sloan's in the lobby.

Our only complaint was trying to get breakfast at 11 am on Sunday. The restaurant was booked for Brunch, the other restaurant was closed for Teddy Bear Tea and the other restaurant off the lobby said they did not serve food yet. We left very hungry. The Executive Lounge had already taken the food away. We did not want or have time for room service.

I plan to stay here next summer when I return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stlanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I came here to celebrate a birthday. Not impressed by the service or the hotel in general. Would highly suggested looking at the reviews of other luxury hotels before deciding to land here. Expected a lot more.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bedstuygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 136 in Toronto
2,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Address: 181 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#4 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#5 Family Hotel in Toronto
#5 Business Hotel in Toronto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto’s most centrally located AAA Five Diamond award winning hotel, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto welcomes guests to the heart of Canada’s most culturally diverse city. Just steps from the city’s financial district and cultural attractions, the luxury hotel offers views of the CN Tower, Lake Ontario and downtown Toronto. Featuring Canada’s only cheese cave at TOCA Restaurant, an outdoor terrace at DEQ, and the #1 Hotel Spa in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto offers an oasis in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Toronto Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing