We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Ranked #6 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
banff
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Downtown”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed here in September and had a great stay. The room was well appointed with beautiful views of the Tower. The location was perfect a 5 minute walk to anywhere. We only had to the chance to eat in Deck which has a great terrace with a beautiful ambance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BanffHowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,235
    217
    63
    17
    18
See reviews for
340
541
60
401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

As some background, we are a young professional couple who prefer to stay at Ritz properties during our weekend trips. Most recently, we traveled to Toronto for St. Patrick's Day weekend. I cannot express my gratitude enough for the care and service we received during this trip.

We arrived early on Friday morning, and they permitted an early check-in at 10am. We were upgraded to an incredible suite with a view of the CN Tower - a complete surprise! I called a week in advance to arrange for surprise cannolis to be delivered upon our arrival. The concierge went out of their way to walk to a great Italian restaurant (Buca), create a hand written note, and set up in the room prior to our arrival. They were also instrumental in the restaurant selection process. We are big foodies and love to experience the best cities have to offer. Their brunch, lunch, and dinner selections were spot on. We are so grateful.

The property is located in a great area - very walkable. Everything is clean and new. The room was silent and the perfect temperature. We did not take advantage of room service or the hotel's dining options because we were too busy exploring. We tried to visit the pool one evening, but it was filled with small children.

All in all, this was the best Ritz experience we've had. This staff is spectacular and it will be hard to top this experience on our next weekend trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HillyD24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimTerceira, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for your kind and thoughtful feedback. I am proudly sharing this with our ladies and gentlemen who I am so fortunate to have on our special team. Providing genuine care for our guests is truly our highest mission and as well as being empowered to create unique and memorable experiences.

Warm regards and thank you
Tim Terceira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My wife and I recently spent a night at this beautiful hotel to celebrate our 33rd wedding anniversary. I have to say that we definitely made the right choice among the many luxury properties available in Toronto. From the moment we were greeted by the valet upon arrival to the check in to the bellman who took us upstairs to our room we felt like royalty. Everyone on staff of the hotel made us feel welcome. We were taken up to room 1708 with a spectacular view of the lake and the CN Tower. The room is spacious with all the luxury amenities. The decor is very classy, the bed and pillows are super comfortable. A very nice touch was two red balloons and two cupcakes along with a note to wish us a Happy Anniversary. We could not have asked for anything else.

Room Tip: choose higher floors for the best views of the lakefront
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awningsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimTerceira, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and feedback. Congratulations on your 33rd Anniversary and we hope to be welcome you back for many more to come!
I will proudly share your comments with our ladies and gentlemen. I know they take great pride in representing The Ritz-Carlton Brand and the joy and genuine satisfaction to know they have had such a positive impact on your enjoyment and experience.

Warm regards
Tim Terceira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here for an event in TO (even though I live in TO) and received amazing service. The check-in was a bit slow (the Guest Service attendant was on the telephone), but the concierge stepped in and took great care of my family and I. We missed the evening snack in the lounge (which was in-house made miniature desserts), when we returned to our suite, to our surprise, the concierge left us a plate of these desserts in our room!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel last weekend. The rooms were very good. The reception service was good. Restaurant service was excellent. The door man and valet parking did not appear to be enthusiastic. They looked bored and preoccupied. Perhaps RC should invest in a good winter overcoat for the valet parkers. I gave my keys to a guy at the door and then wondered if I gave the keys to the right person. He had a regular jacket on top of his uniform!!
The car was brought back without water etc. Overall service is not like Four Seasons or Trump.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 615Sudbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimTerceira, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us this past weekend and thank you also for your feedback - it is greatly appreciated. I was pleased to learn that your experiences in our Restaurant, Reception and Guest room were very good and worth your mention; I was however disappointed to learn that your Door and Car Valet experience was not at the same level. Please know that we have followed up with our "front of house" team and they are genuinely sorry and concerned not to have lived up to your or our expectation to always deliver Ritz-Carlton's "Legendary Service".

I hope you will provide us with another opportunity to provide the level of service and experiences you have enjoyed and expect; and I invite you to contact me directly.
Warm regards
Tim

Tim Terceira
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
416 572 8010
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
283 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Booked via Marriott site using points. A few days before check in, I was contacted by the concierge service to ensure they were ready for me.... Wow. Check in was courteous, friendly and classy.

The room was superb, large, well appointed, with a large LED TV fridge, Nespresso system with excellent espresso, king bed, great view of the city, Large bathroom with heated floor, TV embedded in mirror, separate shower and bath.

The gym was well equipped with ellipticals, treadmills, bikes, muscle exercising machines. The pool was a bit small and shallow but the area was pleasant. The spa was great, sex separated, with school jacuzzi, steam room and sauna, robes, sandals, and a guest lounge with snacks. Upscale!

I didn't not use the restaurant premise. Gold members get free Wi-Fi but no lounge access (I was told they serve light appetizers, booze, and Continental breakfast) but it would have cost me 75$ for access.

If you have a chance, try this place...

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lubiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for one night on March 8th along with my sister and brother-in-law. Both couples had corner rooms on the 16th floor along with Club access. We had a wonderful stay. The staff was very friendly in all departments and the food and drink were wonderful in the lounge. This was a great, quiet spot to relax after a busy day in Toronto. We will definitely stay here again when visiting Toronto.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lexus62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
#10 of 137 in Toronto
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 137 in Toronto
3,256 reviews
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Address: 181 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#4 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#5 Family Hotel in Toronto
#5 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto’s most centrally located AAA Five Diamond award winning hotel, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto welcomes guests to the heart of Canada’s most culturally diverse city. Just steps from the city’s financial district and cultural attractions, the luxury hotel offers views of the CN Tower, Lake Ontario and downtown Toronto. Featuring Canada’s only cheese cave at TOCA Restaurant, an outdoor terrace at DEQ, and the #1 Hotel Spa in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto offers an oasis in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Toronto Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing