We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Ranked #5 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel is fantastic. Great downtown location so in easy reach of great tourist sights. The hotel itself has two great restaurants and a lovely bar. The staff are super friendly and there is a hotel car that will drop you off locally which is really useful. The rooms are very comfortable with generous bathrooms and beds that you won't want to get out off. The spa was amazing - had the most incredible massage. The gym was average size with good equipment. The executive lounge was excellent and the staff were terrific and very helpful. Thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pythagoras2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,076 - 1,082 of 1,639 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

I was recommended to stay here from a close friend who has high expectations from places that she stays, so I knew I'd be in for a treat. From the moment I arrived I knew that this hotel would be special. All of the staff are friendly and not in that forced American way but in a really warm and genuine way (it must be the Canadian nature). Check-in wasn't seamless due to my booking not being made correctly but the guys on the desk dealt with the issue in a professional way and had me on my way to my room in no time. The room was spotless and the bed totally divine. I had a room that entitled me to Exec. Club Lounge access and this is the real treat. The staff in the Lounge take no time to address you by name and also act as an additional Concierge (the ladies who run Concierge at Reception are EXCEPTIONAL). There is a great full size gym, with Personal Trainers at hand. The location is walking distance to most of Toronto (on a warm day) and if you're going to see a Baseball match the stadium is 3 mins away, perfect. All in all I can't find fault in this hotel and if it's great service (with a smile) you're after then this is the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Tower or the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank showbizandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have recently stayed at the hotel From the moment we arrived to the time that we left, we received great care and service. The staff were amazing ensuring that our every need was looked after. We felt very special and pampered during our weekend stay.
We definitley will come back.

Doug & Helen- Collingwood

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

From the time we arrived the valet to check in were very friendly And welcoming. The room was spotless and bery comfortable as were the beds. The bathroom large and very modern the TV in the mirror was very cool.
Would stsy here again with out hesitation. Its location to all attractions, Steam Whistle,Riplys Aquarium, CN Tower and Dome, all with in easy walking distance.
The hotel provided us a car and driver to take us to lunch, nice touch if available.
This is a high end hotel so if on a budget this is not for you. Lots of perks and extra service so of course lots if tipping. I loved it.

This is a very pri

Room Tip: View on line. Pick lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The Spa is the reason I go and that beautiful grand piano they have on site.

Room:
I really enjoyed the tv illusion-ed in the mirror in the bathroom of while I took a sea salt soak in the tub. (I personally cleaned this tub myself before I got in although it was already clean by health standards)
The bed was magnificently comfortable. Amen.
Which leads me to the staff. Warm, friendly and very helpful. Any part of the hotel I was in, I experienced that common thread among the staff.
I love staying here, I want to live here....almost. ;)
The valet and bellhops are very nice and the hotel staff is very good helping you with directions to wherever you may need to go downtown Toronto.

The bar/restaurant that is pass the lobby with the fire place.... I love love love. Maybe it's the ambiance? Maybe it's the service? The food is good and that's okay. The ambiance and the service make it a great place to have tea or cocktails.
And of slower days, it's so ultra quiet and peaceful.

It's good to just stop by even if you're on your way to an event downtown, it's a great place to go have a drink before hand and meet with your girlfriends. (This is for the young laid back chill kind of person)

Ritz I can't wait to see you again.

Room Tip: If you book a Spa Treatment of up to or over a certain amount $$$$ you then get to utilize all the S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InfinityZenGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The more reviews I put on Trip Advisor the pickier I get and notice more things. However I cannot fault this hotel at all. Great room, all of the staff were friendly and welcoming and seemed to genuinely want us to enjoy our stay.

Location is good, 5 mins to CN Tower and a further 10 mins to Harbour Front, its about 30mins walk to the Eaton Centre but you can pick up the Sightseeing Tour bus at the CN Tower to get around.

Good choice for breakfast and lovely cocktails in the bar, would definitely recommend and would love to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed with my wife on business in Toronto for 4 nights over easter. Arrived from the airport (long transatlantic flight) by taxi at around 10pm. We were both really tired but check in was quick and easy.

Our room was a corner suite on the 12th floor, the room was huge and really well turned out. A spacious living area with desk, Bose sound system, TV and Sofa. Bathroom fully decked out in marble, 2 WC's, Bathtub, Rainforest shower, TV in the mirror ... the works. Bedroom had huge super king bed, so comfortable as would be expected of Ritz Carlton.
Location was downtown, a little quiet over Easter but easily able to walk to all areas and near the subway.
The service was outstanding especially the concierge staff Melinda and Hanna and Irene from reception, anything I asked for was no problem and achieved with a smile.
I didn't use the pool or gym but they seemed ok.

Room service was good, the in hotel restaurant really nice.

In summary I stay at many hotels throughout the world, the best are always the ones in asia. They have a level that is unmatched anywhere. American and Canadian hotels normally lag far behind but for the first time I found one that came close to that Asian standard.

I will be coming back to Toronto many times and will try and stay at The Ritz-Carlton whenever I can.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr_JRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
#10 of 137 in Toronto
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 137 in Toronto
3,558 reviews
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Address: 181 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#4 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#5 Business Hotel in Toronto
#5 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £316 - £602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto’s most centrally located AAA Five Diamond award winning hotel, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto welcomes guests to the heart of Canada’s most culturally diverse city. Just steps from the city’s financial district and cultural attractions, the luxury hotel offers views of the CN Tower, Lake Ontario and downtown Toronto. Featuring Canada’s only cheese cave at TOCA Restaurant, an outdoor terrace at DEQ, and the #1 Hotel Spa in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto offers an oasis in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Toronto Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing