We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved every minute....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Ranked #5 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

i just returned from a one night stay at The Ritz. The place and service are superb. Beds are really soft and pool is great... The location is also near lots of eateries and stores. The front desk people are a gem!
My only complaint: once you arrive, valet takes your car... nice touch! until you get the bill for just valet= 48.00 !
Overall. class all the way

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank exquisite t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,066 - 1,072 of 1,688 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

I went to the spa with a friend as a birthday treat. After our massages, we went back to the changing area. In the changing area, there was a woman who was in a terrible mood and was walking around in a huff. This woman pushed past my friend and accused her loudly of keeping her locker door open which prevented her from being able to walk freely in the locker room. She then went on to yell at my friend and call her some very derogatory terms which I will not repeat here. The other customers in the locker room were shocked as well and were trying to console my friend. I was so upset and reported this to management. I expected more from them, they just quietly told us they were sorry and quickly ushered us out of the spa. Needless to say, it ruined our day and I was just shocked at how they handled it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
4  Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimTerceira, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Samantha,
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for the behavior of the other client described and can only imagine how unsettling and awkward it would have been for yourself, friend and other guests. This is a most unusual event and only wish we had been more responsive at the time. Please contact me directly at 416 572 8010 so myself and our Spa Director may personally follow up with you on this experience.

Sincerely
Tim Terceira
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

You can feel he quality and service upon arrival. Anything you can ask for, they will take care of. Location is great. The rooms are well maintained and you feel at home while in the room. The only thing about this hotel that is not above 5 star quality is the pool. I know the hotel is in the middle of downtown, so no expectation of excellent pool. With that said, the pool is not important at all. This hotel is ALL about service! You can't beat the service from the valet, front desk, room service, restaurant, housekeeping, etc. If you go to Toronto, this is a must place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Im4FunTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Central location. Smart design. Legendary service. A winning combination that sets the bar high for other Toronto 5 star hotel. A special thank you to Hanna who provided exceptionally friendly and helpful advice as the concierge. Thank you and well done!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank irachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

After an awful & I mean awful experience in customs, I arrived at the Ritz with my heart still pounding in my chest. Guillermo took me from the cab and ushered me into paradise and bought me a drink before I even checked in, Insta-om!
He singlehandedly erased all the nastiness in my arrival to Toronto.
The hotel is brand new, perfectly located and very, very chic. Gary and Melinda were both incredibly helpful @ the concierge desk. Subway and cabs (USE UBER) were easy to grab near the hotel. Guillermo came to the rescue again with the house car! My friend and I had a lovely ride to dinner one night. Outdoor lounge was a nice place for a cocktail. Great people watching! I can't say enough good things about this hotel & it's stellar staff. It's a shame the customs agents can't take a lesson from the Ritz.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank kimberly g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed at the ritz for two nights in a lake view corner suite. Service was superb. Greetings upon checkout and departure were plentiful and staff very helpful. Offered a flute of champagne when we had to wait in checkin line. Concierge very helpful and recommended a great affordable restaurant as well as anytime tickets to aquarium. Get the anytime tickets as ticket purchase line at venue is very long even on weekday! Rooms were beautifully furnished although I was pretty disappointed in my lakeview view. It was a lower floor so saw lower section of the cn tower and some of the lake amidst the downtown buildings. Not worth the extra money charged for the view room. I asked for a new room and when none were available, they did comp the breakfast which was appreciated. Breakfast buffet at toca's was $35/per person so pretty pricey but very good and nice food selection. Location was great as it is right across the street from the aquarium, the cn tower, and the baseball stadium. Many restaurants on king street to chose from. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

A luxurious hotel with high end amenities - marble floors at the room entry, large bathroom with a separate shower and tub, cool TV in the mirror feature and double sinks, refrigerator stocked with drinks (for purchase), clean, comfortable bed, and tasteful furniture, heated floors and dimmers for light fixtures. The room was immaculate and well-maintained. In-room coffee was really good, one of the best I've had, and 2 complimentary bottles of water are provided daily.

Service was great - housekeeping was stellar and turn down service was provided at night. When I asked for additional coffee cups, it was promptly delivered. When you arrive, the doorman alerts reception so check-in is pretty quick. Reception staff made me feel very welcomed.

Wifi is available for purchase and speeds were good for emails and web surfing.

I found the lobby quite small, and not too impressive. It gets a bit crowded and becomes inconvenient if you are in a hurry to leave in the morning. Not that the hotel can do anything about it, but just an observation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank iaccess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
#10 of 138 in Toronto
1,273 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#22 of 138 in Toronto
3,777 reviews
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 138 in Toronto
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Address: 181 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#4 Family Hotel in Toronto
#4 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#5 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £300 - £516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto’s most centrally located AAA Five Diamond award winning hotel, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto welcomes guests to the heart of Canada’s most culturally diverse city. Just steps from the city’s financial district and cultural attractions, the luxury hotel offers views of the CN Tower, Lake Ontario and downtown Toronto. Featuring Canada’s only cheese cave at TOCA Restaurant, an outdoor terrace at DEQ, and the #1 Hotel Spa in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto offers an oasis in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Toronto Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing