We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chotto disappointing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toronto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sweetheart Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #27 of 114 Toronto B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Chotto disappointing”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Was OK: room OK, breakfast was stingy and disappointing. Good location but felt slightly "uncomfortable" at times. Wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildrover220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    7
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
3
5
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I'm actually an Oakville native who had to stay in Toronto for a few days due to personal business. As a result, I looked into booking really last minute, and contacted Sweetheart mostly based on their price and location. Joe and Kimiko informed me they were out of single/double rooms but would give me the basement suite for the price of the single! They also provided parking for the nights we needed. Awesome.

The night I arrived (with a friend), Kimiko and her staff greeted us quite cheerily. A staff member walked us through the payment procedure and general conduct. She told us breakfast is simple and self-serve. It also seemed to be operating more as a guesthouse than a bed and breakfast.

They were nice enough to accommodate me when my friend ended up staying an extra few nights with me last minute. Staff/guests all are very friendly, say hello (albeit in Japanese) when you run into them in the hallway. :)



The basement suite that I stayed in has a giant bed (I think it's a king) and a small, single bed. Has a decent sized TV, own heating, and a private bathroom. I guess the only thing I was unhappy about is the bathroom. It's nice that I got a private bathroom, but the drain in the shower was terrible. It got to a point where the water level reached my ankles. The pressure isn't bad, they provide towels, shampoo, and plenty of toilet paper, but man -- the place could use some Drainol.

Oh, and one other thing. They have coin-op washing machine and dryer I think you can use if you want (I didn't). That's great and all, but the machines are right next to the basement suite, and on the first night, there was a guy doing laundry at 11pm. There are notices on the wall that say to limit use after 5/6pm... so I guess if those rules were a bit more enforced, this would not have been a problem...



So, in conclusion - sweet location (5 minutes to Queen's Park subway station), competitive price, nice people... not so awesome drainage. Pretty good TV selection (if that matters), high speed internet, a nice and quiet neighbourhood...

I'd recommend it, 'cause I'd stay again. ^^

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrienne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

First of all I want to make it clear that I don't complain in general, however this review I feel is very fair.

This was the last stop in a 3 week driving tour around eastern Canada. We had stayed at 7 B&Bs in total during our stay, and unfortunately this was our least favourite shall I say. My biggest disappointment perhaps is that I thought this would be one of the best.

PROs:
1. Big room (basement suite)
2. Location is fantasic (20min walk to main city, 5 min walk to metro station)
3. Friendly staff

Unfortunately that's it

CONs:
1. Very very dirty room (mold all over the bathroom, dirty marks on walls/doors. The rooms are clearly not cleaned to any real standard.
2. Towels never changed (4 nights!) and by the end our room smelled damp.
3. Breakfast...well I wouldnt call it that. After the secod morning we had to just eat out. Bread and bagels...that's it!

Overall just run down, a few things need to be addressed considering the cost of the place. This has the potential, and maybe was better in the past, but very poor overall and would compare to a 2 star motel. I'm not being harsh as I said at the start, this is completely honest.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarlAndJoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Members of the staff were very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacknak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2011

we stay at sweetheart at least twice a year, usually five days or more each time. we have made friends with japanese who have visited us in ottawa and whom we've visited in japan. Before finding sweetheart we stayed at many places in Toronto, all of them only half the value of sweetheart.
we travel outside Canada for five or so months per year and never thought we'd find a place in toronto that represents the same value as places in japan, chile, germany and so on.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolynrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picton
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2011

My Husband and I stayed at this B&B some days ago.We went to Toronto from Prince Edward County. This time our trip to Toronto was for my husband's operation. I thank the owners for helping us a lot. They have a very good staff who works hard to keep everything clean. We had a very cozy stay this year and last time too. The owner and her Husband are very nice. My husband needed to stay in a very clean place after the operation. We will come back to this B&B in the fall again. We would recommend this cozy and happy B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Downtown
Pimblett's Downtown Toronto B&B
Downtown
Comfy Guest House and Suite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Clinton and Bloor B&B
Clinton and Bloor B&B
#2 of 114 in Toronto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Midtown
Global Guest House
Global Guest House
#72 of 114 in Toronto
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Midtown
Spadina 11 Guesthouse - Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweetheart Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetheart Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sweetheart Bed and Breakfast
Address: 72 Henry Street, Toronto, Ontario M5T 1X2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweetheart Bed & Breakfast, a renovated elegant Victorian style and charming three-story house built in 1897, is situated in downtown Toronto, Ontario. The B & B is surrounded by lots of tourist attractions, ethnic restaurants and pubs. Experience the friendly hospitality of B&B. English and japanese spoken. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing