We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere”
Review of Snakes & Lattes

Snakes & Lattes
Ranked #6 of 296 Coffee & Tea in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$6
Cuisines: Canadian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Nice food and drinks, and a cozy sort of atmosphere, with walls and walls of games to choose from. They even seem to always have an expert working that can explain how to play even the most obscure games. The only problem is it can get really busy. On a rainy day, recently, my friends and I thought we'd go here. Only problem is everyone else had had the same idea. We put our name down and went to another cafe waiting for a phone call that a table was ready for us. Good thing we decided to go elsewhere, because I didn't receive a call until 2.5 hours later!
In other words, call before you go.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cooljewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    39
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Love the place; hate the business”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

In short: I have been many, many times. When you can get in, this place is amazing. Great games, excellent staff, decent food. But the business model is wacky, and it's hard to actually almost impossible to actually "plan" on going.

Weird: You can't make reservations. You must physically be present to put your name down. The wait is generally between 1 and 3 hours for a table, but you have to stay in the neighborhood because you only have 15 minutes to claim your table once it is available. I have put my name in at 6PM and received a text at 1AM saying my table was ready. It's mostly because the cost is $5 to sit, but there is no hourly incremental fee, which means people will stay for hours and hours and the store can't predict when tables will be free. Unless you live in the area, it's hard to actually plan on "going" to Snakes and Lattes.

Food: Great coffee, snacks, and paninis.

Service: Nice, extremely knowledgeable staff.

Ambiance: Nice cafe-like interior; can get really hot sometimes because it is so busy.

Recommendation:

To the owners/managers --- charge more money --- charge hourly or charge for reservations -- it would actually make it easier for more people to actually enjoy your establishment -- if you are worried about it being too expensive, then drop the prices of F&B to compensate for the hourly fee.

To patrons -- it's a GREAT time --- but be prepared to wait, and wait, and be prepared to be let down by not getting in a few times before you actually make it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ctimpano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a place! Great”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

I wish we had such a place in the uk, simply brilliant. Great atmosphere and very helpful, knowledgeable staff. The games gurus can assist you in choosing the best games to play for the number of people and type of game you wish to play. They can also teach you the rules of new games and get you playing a new game quickly. No time constraints, entry fee 5 CAD. We visited on two occassions on a Friday, open from 11am to 2am! We played until 11:30pm and had to call it a night, great times!

Helpful?
1 Thank Dandlo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome place to spend hours!”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I lived in Toronto for a year and this was my absolute favourite place - there are hundreds and hundreds of board games and staff that can explain all of them and recommend new ones you would like. If you're at all into board games - get down here immediately and start playing! The $5 cover fee is very reasonable as you can stay as long as you like and try out as many games as possible. The food is good but it's not really the main draw.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Board games we never even heard of”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Literally feel at home here. More games than you can ever want and the staff are very very knowledgeable and helpful. Once you start playing, time just flies by. $5 is totally worth it. (Bathroom could use some cleaning). Will definitely come again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Snakes & Lattes also viewed

 

Been to Snakes & Lattes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing