We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in all ways” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ocho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Ocho
Ranked #13 of 115 Toronto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belleville, Canada
1 review
“Excellent in all ways”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed here for one night with a friend, we loved it do much we almost stayed another night but unfortunately we weren't able to :(

Our room was so nice, such a trendy little gem, so close to everything downtown!

There was a small hiccup via finding a few creepy crawlers in our bathroom, it's an old brick hotel so it was kind of expected, also we both pretty much go into cardiac arrest from seeing a spider 20 feet away so we probably slightly exaggerated. As soon as we found them we called the office right away and within 10 minutes we had another room and were offered a free breakfast :) since the staff were going to wonderland that day we were also offered free wonderland tickets and parking (which we had regrettably already purchased a few days before)

Overall the staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were great, and we'd both stay again :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 99Rebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamal A, General Manager at Hotel Ocho, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
And there's no mention of the Pikachu I won you two at Wonderland at the whack-a-mole?!?!?

How could you leave that part out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    48
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
14
73
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

friendly staff, clean hotel and in a perfect location to explore downtown! there's all you need, also a restaurant and a bar with special daily offers. it's a hidden gem and we would definitely stay again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamal A, General Manager at Hotel Ocho, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
The word's getting out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I had the pleasure of staying 3 nights at Hotel Ocho earlier this month. It's a fun, hip and cool hotel in the Chinatown section of the city....which is close to EVERYTHING. The room was absolutely amazing. The bed was super comfortable and the furniture was uber chic. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Richard, Jamal, the bartenders........they made me feel like I was family rather than some random customer. I can't thank them enough for making my stay fun and exciting. I would stay here again in heartbeat the next time I am in Toronto.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krys R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamal A, General Manager at Hotel Ocho, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Awwwww. It was great to have you, we look forward to the next time you visit the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We recently stayed at Hotel Ocho and even though it was just for one night, we were blown away by the excellent service (above and beyond, in fact), spectacular food, ideal location, and super cool décor of the hotel and our room. We can't wait to stay there again!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Treena O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamal A, General Manager at Hotel Ocho, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Awwww that's awesome, next time you're in make reference to this review so I can thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had our wedding reception here and stayed at the Hotel for 2 nights. The staff are without a doubt the most accommodating, friendly, professionals I have ever had the pleasure of both working with and being hosted by.This small fantastic Hotel has it all, Many of our guests stayed at the Hotel and all were extremely pleased. I have to mention the food quality and service of the restaurant, Excellent on both counts.For visitors to Toronto it is a great location.A special mention to Rish and Jamal ,, Thank you a thousand times for all their help with the our wedding reception, we could not have done it without the 2 of them.We highly recommend this hotel.Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Africacanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamal A, General Manager at Hotel Ocho, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
I just don't know what to say to these, I'm overwhelmed, thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Hotel:
Simple and modern for a boutique hotel. Location is great because it's near the heart of downtown, 5 minutes walk to Kensington market, China town, right on Queen street where East side provide commercial shopping like Bedo, H&M, and thebohemian vibe Queen West. One minute walk south to Horse shoe tavern, Toronto's Legendary Bar and Music Venue since 1947. One minute walk north to Dark Horse Expresso Bar, where you can still find the romanticized old coffee culture. Did I mention their pillow is REALLY comfortable? It's better than any Marriott chain that I have stayed with. The only down part about the hotel is they don't have a lot of rooms and the hall way is a bit run down, which doesn't match up to the rooms or the dinning / bar area. But, what can you do? It's a heritage building.

Food:
If the room didn't impress us yet, the food certainly got our attention. Their chef definitely put some thought into it. A good wine, whisky and bourbon selections. Let's face it: Ontario wine only get you so far. Their choices and price on is very reasonable and certainly set the bar high for a small operation.

Ambient:
Exposed brick wall, floor to ceiling window in a metal frame, glass stair well draped with black iron chandelier, a great choice for meeting, romantic outing, or lounging in a relaxed ambient. I don't know how they are profitable because the place is never crowded and funny enough it didn't seem like they mind it either. I am always fascinated to see one person occupying the huge lounge sofa all by himself with a cup of coffee and a book, and no body cares. I love the fact they use local artists's instalment to decorate the place and it's always something new.

Staff:
Friendly, genuine, warm and relaxed. Rish is the event coordinator and she has been a pleasure to work with. She listens very well and communicated very quickly with our requests. She is a pleasure to work with.

Overall:
We hosted our wedding here with ceremony on the ground level and dinner setting upstairs. We had approximately 70 guests and we were told they have never been to a wedding so chill and relaxed, thanks to Hotel Ocho's wonderful staff. They price is reasonable for downtown Toronto and service is extensive. Our guest until today is still raving about how great of the experience they had. The food and wine was so good that people forgot to clinking their glass until dessert is served. We got lucky :)
Our photographer also loved the venue because the dynamic angle, amount of natural light and texture of the building. You have to like rustic heritage look to enjoy this venue.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamal A, General Manager at Hotel Ocho, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Why oh my!

Thanks for the review so happy to hear such praise! You're friends and family were all so complimentary, and it was so easy to work alongside you guys.

Really happy to see such an outstanding review, we really wanted to make everything special and flow as flawlessly as possible.

And yes Rish is an angel, even I know who's really running the show, hopefully you don't stay away too long guys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Spent one night here, nice little boutique hotel. Location is perfect, parked at city lot nearby for 15.00 overnight.

Room was nice, good bed, tv was good, great bath.

Only minor complaints:

- check in issue with finding room - but upgraded us after this so ok
- tried to order a drink at bar and charge it to room (they had my visa) - couldnt do this
- no bathroom door - was kinda strange
- for price could have had more tv channels and a Ipod dock station/charger

Having said this would stay here again. Funky rooms, great staff, perfect if you don't want to stay at the big chains.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamal A, General Manager at Hotel Ocho, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thanks for the review!

Since we're independent we do a few things differently, we don't have a real system for storing credit card information so we tend not to run tabs for the rooms. No hidden fees or racking up a bill though! Up front about our charges.

Noted though, see if we can set something up for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Chinatown
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
#63 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Street and West Queen West
The Beverley Hotel
The Beverley Hotel
#78 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Toronto
Hotel Le Germain Toronto
#10 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ocho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ocho

Property: Hotel Ocho
Address: 195 Spadina Ave, Toronto, Ontario M5T 2C5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Queen Street and West Queen West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ocho 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ocho is the newest hotel in downtown Toronto, which opened its doors on June 15th 2011. Hotel Ocho offers modern boutique-style accommodations featuring our perfectly eclectic mix of visual arts on a backdrop of historical architectural and modern European influenced renovations. Exposed wood beams, steel, white marble and black granite are carried from our bar & lounge to our dining room, and into our cozy hotel rooms. Standard Queen, Superior King & Deluxe King all host plush beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, flat screen TVs and waterfall showerheads. Hotel Ocho offers FREE WI-FI in the entire building. We are conveniently located at the meeting point of downtown Toronto’s key neighbourhoods. Within a 10-minute stroll, our guests will encounter the Bohemian spirit of Kensington Market, hustle and bustle of China Town, night life of King West and Richmond St. Entertainment Districts and one of a kind shopping experience of Queen Street West in Toronto’s Fashion District . eat • drink • sleep. Room type: Deluxe King Room This room offers a large tub and white marble.Room type: Superior King Room This room has black granite floors in the bathroom.Room type: Standard Queen Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Ocho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing