We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Wedding/Event Venue!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ocho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ocho
Ranked #13 of 115 Toronto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Wedding/Event Venue!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

My wife and I booked Ocho (upstairs and downstairs) for our wedding reception in May, and I'm pretty sure all had a great time. I'm in the financial services business, and great customer service is what I have to live on a daily basis, so in a big city like Toronto that can be hard to come by sometimes. From the day we found Ocho and started conversing with them about our event they were flexible, caring and dedicated to pulling this off for us. Dealing with 'real people' was exactly what we were looking for, and a rare find in a big city (ie versus "pick wedding package A, B, C" at a big chain hotel)

We had approx. 120 people, so pretty close to max capacity (130 is max I think for sit down dinner upstairs), and we were able to bring in different tables and chairs for the reception, as well as decorate to our liking. Everything went smoothly throughout the evening, and the staff attended to everyone's needs. We also stayed the night in the best room they have, and was a great space with a lot of room to move around.

PRO's: Dealing with Rish (event planner), overall pricing, wide selection of beers that aren’t overpriced, ability to test full meal before selecting for your wedding, temperature inside was perfectly controlled, venue looked very cool, accommodating staff.
CON, only 1, not everything can be perfect!: Since we stayed in the hotel the night of, as well as a couple of other friends booked the hotel, we woke up hungry. (Would be cool to have breakfast menu available for the day after maybe, if possible). There were croissants and coffee, but we were told afterwards this cost $5 each. Not the end of the world, I was probably just hung over and cranky, we thought the snacks and coffee would be included in the room rate.

But, overall great evening, would recommend to anyone looking to have a wedding that's not "Package A,B,C" :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawrence P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamal A, General Manager at Hotel Ocho, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Amazing review, thank you do much, so happy everything went well.

Rish is everyone's highlight! I'm beginning to feel left out :(( :D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    48
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
14
74
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My wife and I shared our second evening wedding reception with about 150 people during mid-May -- couldn't have gone better.

First off, we loved working with Rish who is the events coordinator. She is grounded, quick to answer, smart and very effective. Although we ended up staying at a hotel nearby because of our large group, the hotel bar and restaurant are great!

PROS:

1. The building - very cool. Pretty much in isolation, the brick building stands alone. Inside warm light illuminates the bar and dining area. The place is super cozy as many of our guests have said. The hard loft feel with exposed brick and wood everywhere, mixed in with large hanging photos makes the place.

2. The food - at first we were a bit anxious because of mixed reviews, but everyone seemed to have enjoyed their food. Feeding 150 people isn't easy for a smaller place like Ocho, but the servers as well as the chefs in the back were on top of it.

3. Service - the staff were very attentive and kind. Water cups were never empty, as well as wine poured throughout the evening. The bar was good, made great cocktails and everyone was enjoying themselves.

4. Staff - my wife and I keep complimenting how amazing Rish was in planning this event for us. She was very accomodating and super efficient. She genuinely made planning fun! The first initial contact, to the tasting, up until the end of the event, she was truly consistent and wonderful.

5. Pricing - very fair, honest and no gimmicks. The best part was it did not break the bank and we were able to have a great time without feeling we got charged an arm and a leg.


CONS:

1. The bathrooms are cool in terms of layout and design, but when it was packed for our venue, it got crowded and wasn't being cleaned throughout the evening. But again, this was likely due to the nature of the event and the number of people.

Conclusion:

All in all, a great place. Try the food, it is awesome! Drinks are awesome too. Loved working w/ Rish!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamal A, General Manager at Hotel Ocho, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Fantastic, I don't have much to add other than to thank you....

So thank you!

I'll be sure Rish gives this a read :D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Overall we had a good experience staying at this hotel. Mostly this was due to the wonderful location and the pleasing design of the building.
The big disappointment, however, was the unfriendliness/arrogance of the staff. I couldn't believe how aloof they were. There was a function on in the lobby/bar/restaurant the night we arrived, which we had to walk through to check in, and I was treated as if I had crashed a party. First, I had to ask the bartender if this was the hotel. When another staff member came over, she looked me up and down, and told me check-in was usually at 3pm when I asked, confused, if we were in the right place and could we check into the hotel. Ridiculous. Anyway, suffice to say I felt no warmth from the staff over the 5 day stay.
Rooms are interestingly and nicely decorated, the bed was comfy. However, the bathroom has terrible lighting - couldn't see a thing in the mirror. I would recommend putting a mirror in the bedroom so a girl can actually put on makeup with some light.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank 615lh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamal A, General Manager at Hotel Ocho, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
I'm sorry to hear our staff weren't up to snuff, we pride ourselves for treating our guests well, with genuine and friendly service.

I'd like to think that the rough start to your stay may have tainted the rest of your experience with us.

Whatever the case it's disappointing to hear, I'll make it a point to make our guests more comfortable with our location during events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

A lively place , big rooms,clean, big bathrooms , the service is excellent ,worm hospitality ,the restaurant in the hotel has a wonderful food
Different concept of an hotel but a fresh breeze
Located in the middle of town next to china town.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamal A, General Manager at Hotel Ocho, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Google Translation
A delicious Jam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed here for one night with a friend, we loved it do much we almost stayed another night but unfortunately we weren't able to :(

Our room was so nice, such a trendy little gem, so close to everything downtown!

There was a small hiccup via finding a few creepy crawlers in our bathroom, it's an old brick hotel so it was kind of expected, also we both pretty much go into cardiac arrest from seeing a spider 20 feet away so we probably slightly exaggerated. As soon as we found them we called the office right away and within 10 minutes we had another room and were offered a free breakfast :) since the staff were going to wonderland that day we were also offered free wonderland tickets and parking (which we had regrettably already purchased a few days before)

Overall the staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were great, and we'd both stay again :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99Rebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamal A, General Manager at Hotel Ocho, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
And there's no mention of the Pikachu I won you two at Wonderland at the whack-a-mole?!?!?

How could you leave that part out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

friendly staff, clean hotel and in a perfect location to explore downtown! there's all you need, also a restaurant and a bar with special daily offers. it's a hidden gem and we would definitely stay again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamal A, General Manager at Hotel Ocho, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
The word's getting out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I had the pleasure of staying 3 nights at Hotel Ocho earlier this month. It's a fun, hip and cool hotel in the Chinatown section of the city....which is close to EVERYTHING. The room was absolutely amazing. The bed was super comfortable and the furniture was uber chic. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Richard, Jamal, the bartenders........they made me feel like I was family rather than some random customer. I can't thank them enough for making my stay fun and exciting. I would stay here again in heartbeat the next time I am in Toronto.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrysR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamal A, General Manager at Hotel Ocho, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Awwwww. It was great to have you, we look forward to the next time you visit the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Chinatown
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
#64 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Queen Street and West Queen West
The Beverley Hotel
The Beverley Hotel
#76 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ocho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ocho

Property: Hotel Ocho
Address: 195 Spadina Ave, Toronto, Ontario M5T 2C5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Queen Street and West Queen West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ocho 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ocho is the newest hotel in downtown Toronto, which opened its doors on June 15th 2011. Hotel Ocho offers modern boutique-style accommodations featuring our perfectly eclectic mix of visual arts on a backdrop of historical architectural and modern European influenced renovations. Exposed wood beams, steel, white marble and black granite are carried from our bar & lounge to our dining room, and into our cozy hotel rooms. Standard Queen, Superior King & Deluxe King all host plush beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, flat screen TVs and waterfall showerheads. Hotel Ocho offers FREE WI-FI in the entire building. We are conveniently located at the meeting point of downtown Toronto’s key neighbourhoods. Within a 10-minute stroll, our guests will encounter the Bohemian spirit of Kensington Market, hustle and bustle of China Town, night life of King West and Richmond St. Entertainment Districts and one of a kind shopping experience of Queen Street West in Toronto’s Fashion District . eat • drink • sleep. Room type: Deluxe King Room This room offers a large tub and white marble.Room type: Superior King Room This room has black granite floors in the bathroom.Room type: Standard Queen Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ocho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing