We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad the Hotels were full!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Making Waves Boatel
Ranked #3 of 115 Toronto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Glad the Hotels were full!”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

It started out me looking for a place to stay when a room couldn't be found in Toronto, but Boatel came back in the search results. After staying with Diane and Ted for two nights while on business, I've got to admit this is a class in it's own. Two of the most peaceful sleeps in ages topped off with home cooked breakfast each morning before I walked to my downtown clients. The experience from arrival to departure was nothing short of exceptional. I will definaitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirk H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatelboat, Owner at Making Waves Boatel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Kirk,
We are glad you found us too. Our location is perfect for business travellers like you when arriving by train or via Porter Airlines at Billy Bishop Airport. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.
Diane and Ted
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
98
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I attended a large conference in Toronto recently and stayed at the Boatel.

Here were the advantages I found to staying there:
1) Quiet locale. Instead of all the hubbub at a conference hotel, I returned to a wonderful, calm, "home."
2) Hosting. I was able to invite colleagues back for a drink on the deck and we could have relaxed and substantive discussions.
3) Close by. I was closer to the convention center than some of the folks in official hotels (not as close as the nearest of course).
4) Biking. For $5 for a 24 hour period, I could jump on a community bike at the docks and park the bike 5 minutes later at the convention center.
5) Cost. The Boatel was considerably cheaper than the conference hotels.
6) Curiosity factor. At the conference everyone asks as a matter of course, "Where are you staying?" It was a great ice-breaker to say, "On the harbor in a boat!"

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Detone1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatelboat, Owner at Making Waves Boatel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
What a great summary, thanks for taking the time to share. P.S. you forgot your umbrella.

Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bochum, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This was our first time in Toronto and we came for a concert at the Molson Canadian Amphitheatre. We decided to stay at the Boatel because of its convenient location (just a 30 minute walk to the Amphitheatre and a 10 minute walk to the CN-Tower), but it was much better than just that.

The hosts Diane and Ted made us feel right at home on the boat. They were always helpful and provided us with tons of information about Toronto and coupons for the city's main attractions.

The interior of the Boatel looks like a picture-perfect yacht with lots of brass and polished hardwood on floors and walls. Our berths were cozy and the waves rocked us gently to sleep. The delicious breakfast was served on the quarterdeck with a nice view across the harbor to the Toronto Islands.

The Boatel is Bed & Breakfast at its finest with a nice little twist.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My husband and I decided to stay at the Boatel for our 1st Anniversary, Ted & Diane were so welcoming, the boat is super clean, comfortable, lots of room, feels like home :) Walk to anything you need. Food was fantastic. Without a doubt it will be our go to place to stay in Toronto from now on !

Thanks again Ted & Diane, we really enjoyed our stay!
Tammy & Wayne
Ottawa,On

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TBigelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, On
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Just returned from another great visit on "The Boatel" with Diane and Ted. We keep coming back because of Diane and Ted and of course the great breakfasts. Diane has more great recipes in her repertoire so we will return to sample more. The boat is amazing and so is the location. See you both next year and thanks again! Deb and Bob

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatelboat, Owner at Making Waves Boatel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
We look forward to seeing you again and this time I promise to make Grits and Eggs for you. Thanks for sharing recipes with me. Hopefully by the spring I will have the Boatel cookbook completed.
Diane & Ted
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We came upon the website for "Making Waves Boatel" by luck and how lucky we were, a wonderful , relaxing place to stay.
My wife and I booked the main guestroom (Bondi) for 3 nights in mid-august. We arrived just prior to noon quite easily too, thanks to the great directions that we recieved with our confirmation email. We were greeted by both Ted and Diane, since we were early we couldn't put our stuff in our cabin, but Diane had explained that when we talked on the phone already. She gaves us the tour of the boat and explained all the ins and outs to us, we felt comfortable right away. They gaves us directions to walk to the CNE, only a 20 minute walk away and we got ready to head off. But before we did, Diane asked my wife if she had sunscreen, which we did not, (we were going to get some on the way), and immediately Diane grabbed a basket with various types and offered us some, what hotel does that. We felt like family right off the bat.
We arrived back to the boat late that night and upon entering our cabin found a note on the bed asking what time we would like to have breakfast around and hoping we had a very good day. We didn't have to fill it out though, since Diane was still up and she came out to talk and we further talked some more in the living room area.
The Bondi cabin was spacious, very clean and comfortable, we slept like babies, feeling the slight rocking of the boat from small waves created by other boats going by in the harbor, just puts you right to sleep.
We got up the next morning, put on our robes that were in the cabin and headed up top. The smell of fresh coffee, a beautiful morning outside and being able to sit on the top deck enjoying the view first thing in the morning, what more could you ask for. Oh wait, a wonderful and delicious Eggs Benedict for breakfast. As we enjoyed our first of 3 delicious breakfast with Ted and Diane during our stay, they gave us ideas of places to see and how to get there. One of the best tips was the Hop-on/Hop-off bus, which gives you a nice guided tour of part of the city of Toronto while allowing you to get off at stops, go look around and when your done there, wait at the stop for the next bus, (no more than 15 minutes) and hop back on. The ticket you get is good for 3 days. Daine also gave us coupons (not that she had to but just out of the goodness in her) for a percentage off admission to some of the places we were going to see.
Diane and Ted are extremely wonderful, friendly host who make you feel at home on thier boat. We sat and talked for quite a while on how they came about starting the Boatel and thier travels, they make you feel like family, which allows you to feel more relaxed and enjoy your vacation all the more. We have already decided that this is the place we are going to stay on our next anniversary and any other time we go to Toronto during thier booking season. I would advise anyone who goes to Toronto and wants a relaxing, home away from home feeling to stay with Diane and Ted on thier Boatel.

Room Tip: Have good walking shoes, Hat and sunscreen for hot sunny days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bearjack461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatelboat, Owner at Making Waves Boatel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for all your kind words. We feel like we have new friends! Our job is easy when we have such great guests. We look forward to seeing you next year and thank you for the beautiful card and teddy bear and frog. The Boatel now has a new bear in our home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Diane and Ted were super nice and very hospitable. Every evening they asked what we would like for breakfast the next morning. They wrote a welcome to us on a little chalkboard just inside the door to the boat. The Boatel was in prime location within walking distance to the CN Tower, The Rogers Centre and even a brewery! The large room wasn't booked for the time that we were there so they let us upgrade but we did have to pay for it.
Unfortunately we felt that Diane and Ted's knowledge of the city was limited. As a young couple we were looking for tips on where to eat and places to go and it seemed as if they were unsure or didn't know. On our last night there we happened to stumble across restaurant row that was in walking distance of the Boatel which had so many good choices to choose from. We wished we had known about it sooner.
Overall, Diane and Ted were great but definitely do some city and restaurant research before staying there

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
The Westin Harbour Castle
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Making Waves Boatel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Making Waves Boatel

Property: Making Waves Boatel
Address: 539 Queens Quay W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West , Harbourfront
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Making Waves Boatel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at the most unique Bed and Breakfast in Toronto aboard a 65 foot motor yacht moored in the heart of downtown Toronto. Guests are gently rocked to sleep and wake-up to the smell of freshly brewed coffee and a gourmet breakfast surrounded by a post card view of the city and Toronto harbour. Leave the car and walk everywhere, shopping, catch a baseball game with Toronto Blue Jays at the Rogers Centre, CN Tower, and restaurants galore... all within a short walk or street car access away. Close to the theatre district with many choices of live theatre and musicals to choose from. Take time to enjoy a hop-on-hop-off tour of the city or rent bike to tour the waterfront. Book the whole boat and ask us about having dinner on our skylounge. Take in one of the charters in the harbour for a romantic evening cruise before returning to your own private yacht. Come back to the boat to enjoy the spectacular view from the aft deck and experience life on the water. Warning: marine life is addictive; your first visit won’t be your last. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Making Waves Boatel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing