We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for, sort of.”
Review of Ada's Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ada's Guesthouse
Ranked #63 of 115 Toronto B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for, sort of.”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

While I expected to get the bare minimum here for such a low price, I expected a bit more in terms of cleanliness. There really was no assistance from the guesthouse. We were checked in and that was that, there is no front desk or customer assistance. We were supposed to get a free breakfast but if we can't get in touch with anyone at the house....you get the point.

I've stayed at other hostels in private rooms in Toronto for slightly more but I would gladly pay $5 more per night for a decent bathroom that's clean (not full of hair that isn't mine) with a functioning shower head. Beware drivers, parking is NOT included either so you'll have to risk parking in the residential area without a permit or spend some cash for a parking garage.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RapJs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    19
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
8
23
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

good, clean, very safe place, near to many facilities and public transportation, good price
very good for short stay, but because no kitchen in it, only microwave, i won't recommend it for long stay
it is very quite, rooms are clean, contains TV, MICROWAVE, refrigerator, and free wifi

Room Tip: room in the upper stairs is much larger and has good view than lower one all rooms are very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nada_np
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rastatt, Germany
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

It was a bit hard to find due to one way streets,but once we were there getting about was easy.
The subway station is just a short walk away, as are various pubs.

Our room was clean, the bed was a bit tight after being used to a kingsized one, but comfortable. there was a wide screen TV, a fridge,microwave, and wifi.
All in all I can give it a thumbs up.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starfighter441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I have stayed at Ada's guest house twice while volunteering at TIFF. It is a great location and very close to the Sherbourne subway station.
Each room has a full bathroom, fridge and microwave, and large TV. I had room 7 this year; last year had room 1 which was larger and on the ground floor. However the room upstairs was more than adequate. The bed was very comfortable and I appreciasted the WiFi.

My only negative was the bathroom could have been cleaner but Norbert (manager) was most appologetic and planned to talk to the cleaners. The rest of the room was very clean.

Next year I may pass on the breakfast offered at Eggsmart restaurant across the street as there is a No Frills grocery store close by and negotiate a lower price and ask for a coffee pot in the room.
I love the quiet location, will be back next Film Festival!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judylamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This is my third stay. A series of appointments brought me to Toronto and I have now found my home away from home. My first stay is already posted (see August 2011 review). My second stay was at the end of May in Suite 1. The room is large and sufficient for two people.

This last stay, I had Suite 8, upstairs which is basically the entire third floor of the original house! The pictures on their website do not do it justice. It has a nice big hallway with mirror, a kitchen with an old Eaton’s full size refrigerator (can be noisy and goes on often), sink, microwave, table and two chairs. The living room has the original old brick fireplace (as does Suite 1 if I recall) which is not in use but nicely presented. A nice flat screen tv is affixed to the brick of the fireplace. All rooms have modern furniture (think IKEA). The living room has a sofa, two end chairs, a table, and an working table (with chair) where you can plug in your laptop or do some work. Also has large Toronto photos affixed to the walls. The bedroom also has a TV! What a bonus for late night movies/news! Large bed, two night tables, big closet and dresser. The bed did not have a duvet as pictured, but a blue blanket. I am not sure if they did this because it was the summer, but it was the same in May with Suite 1. The bathroom is a little small, just enough for one. There is a bathtub with a shower. The sink is a bizarre rectangle shape and you cannot bend your head down to wash your face etc. because you will hit the medicine cabinet which is placed too low. I used the shower to face wash.

From the bedroom, there is a big balcony! Huge! It sits right atop the addition to the original house. You can get a good skyline view of the buildings in vicinity and if you peak to the right, you can get the needle view of the CN tower! There is a small table and two chairs. I also found in the large closet a sun umbrella and hooked that up to the balcony railings as there is lots of sun! A nice way to spend a summer evening!

Suite 8 has three rooms, plus a balcony all at a great price! I stayed two weeks and negotiated a price and I also did not opt for the Eggsmart breakfast. You can stock yourself with morning brew at the Tim Horton’s, a 2 minute walk situated right across the Sherbourne subway or down the road at NO FRILLS. There is also a Shoppers Drug Mart to heal your weary feet after sightseeing. All is within walking distance to the major sites. Buy tokens to use the subway to save some money.

The manager is Norbert and the owner is Arthur. Both are very personable and are on the scene always looking after the place. Since my last May visit, they have put up an iron fence at the front area, flower beds, temporarily laid out patio stones near the flower area to be eventually used as a gathering area (ie: put some chairs, etc. so I was told) an imitation stain glass for the front door area. Keep in mind, I was told that this house is 150 years old.

The inside suites are nicely appointed, but those carpets that are in the inside need to go. Try to overlook that. I think that they may eventually get rid of them and go back to the original hardwood flooring. That would really add more pizzaz to the place.

The place is VERY quiet! There is little ambience to it because they are all separate rooms and there is not a gathering place so to speak. There is WiFi, AC (so needed because of record breaking heat this summer) fully channelled tv’s and each room has its own bathroom.

I do recommend this place and look forward to my next visit in the near future.

Room Tip: If you are staying for more than 3 or 4 days, I would suggest Suite 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bytowngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herzliya
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed at Ada's right after the place was opened. Owner very helpfull. Location was great, quiet but central. The tripple room was small, and bathroom/toilet definetly too small. Breakfest at the nearby "Eggsmart" was nice. Fair price.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaulman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

My husband & I stayed in room #1 Mar 2-6. While we were concerned about the location before we got there, as it was in a different area of TO than we normally stay, I have to say that our stay was great. The area was quiet and almost "homey". There was a Shopper's and No Frills down the street and a Tim's and the subway about 5 minutes up the street. We liked the fridge and microwave. Loved the idea of Eggsmart and only paid less than $5 over our 4 days in extra charges. Unlike some other comments, we found the staff there exceptionally friendly. The room may not have been perfect but we don't spend a lot of time in a room while in TO. We have things to do and people to see! Paul was the best - lending us his umbrella, and phone. He is a lovely man with many stories. The bed was amazing - comfortable and warm. The price was very reasonable. We would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: Hot Air furnace so may not be suitable for people with allergies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duffy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Comfy Guest House and Suite
Downtown
Downtown Home Inn
Downtown Home Inn
#6 of 115 in Toronto
353 reviews
West End
Elliott House B&B
Elliott House B&B
#4 of 115 in Toronto
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Keppner Guesthouse
Keppner Guesthouse
#69 of 115 in Toronto
43 reviews
Downtown
Taigh Ice
Taigh Ice
#64 of 115 in Toronto
2 reviews
Downtown
McGill Inn B&B
McGill Inn B&B
#17 of 115 in Toronto
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ada's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ada's Guesthouse

Property: Ada's Guesthouse
Address: 29 Linden Street, Toronto, Ontario M4Y1V5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ada's Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AWelcomeAda's Guesthouse is located in the central downtown area of Toronto, 2 minutes walk to Sherbourne Subway Station on the Bloor Subway line. We are a short walk to Church Street Village and Yonge & Bloor St. shopping.The whole house is air conditioned. Every room is with private ensuite bathroom. You can view photos of each room, and read what each offers, heredas Guesthouse is located in the downtown area of Toronto, 2 minutes walk to Sherbourne Station on the Bloor Subway line. We are a short walk to Church Street Village and Yonge & Bloor St. shopping.All rooms are clean and quiet with very comfortable furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Ada's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing