We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget Hotel, Poor Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn - Toronto East Lakeview
Ranked #101 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed 19 October 2011

When Kingston Road was the only eastern entrance to Toronto, there was a plethora of good inexpensive hotels and motels along the strip east of where Danforth Avenue and Kingston Road meet. The Lakeview Inn is the closest to the junction and perhaps the newest on the strip. The inn is clean and modern.

Our room, 129 was on the main floor and quite austere. It had two queen beds, a washroom, and an old fashioned TV (remember picture tubes?). There was a small table and two chairs and a small hutch for clothing that also held the TV. The coffee maker only came with one package of coffee but the bathroom was nicely equipped with lots of towels, shampoo, conditioner and hand soap.

The beds were moderately firm and the pillows soft and inviting.

I can't imagine who would find this hotel location convenient. The hotel is located in the former city of Scarborough, quite some distance from the attractions of downtown. We were staying one night as our nearby house was under renovation. People driving into Toronto from the east cannot access the hotel directly as there is a boulevard and no left turn into the parking lot.

http://maps.google.ca/maps?q=toronto+lakeside+days+inn&hl=en&ll=43.702096,-79.253813&spn=0.741628,1.234589&sll=43.615085,-79.382576&sspn=0.04791,0.077162&vpsrc=6&hq=lakeside+days+inn&hnear=Toronto,+Toronto+Division,+Ontario&t=h&fll=43.683764,-79.222412&fspn=0.741849,1.234589&z=10&layer=c&cbll=43.702096,-79.253813&panoid=NDtx-Js70g-P__BLoCVeLw&cbp=12,192.52,,0,16.43

There is a bus stop 60 metres east of the hotel. The only bus that will take you directly to the subway doesn't stop at that stop during rush hours. The 12 km ride to northeast Scarborough took 40 minutes with one transfer. I would guess about the same time to downtown. That said, the parking is free and that along with the free breakfast make it quite attractive.

BTW: No bedbugs were seen or felt. I believe posters should be careful using the bedbug card as it unfairly taints a good budget hotel.

Room Tip: Best for visits in southern Scarborough or eastern Toronto There is no view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 303 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2011

Woke up with bed bug bites on my face the next day! The hotel is very much aware that the place is infested but will not admit it. We were offered a room without bed bugs (how is this possible when I`m sure the whole place is infested?) but we declined and left. The man at the desk was very rude about it too and accused us of lying. How could I be lying when there are bites all over my face? Terrible hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank polkadotsprinkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Days Inn East Lake view is the best Days Inn facility that I've stayed in so far (I've stayed in as many as 5 facilities). It is located in a neighborhood called Scarborough. It takes about $30 to get there by cab from downtown Toronto and $3 if you take public transit. By cab, you could reach in about 20 minutes if flow of traffic is free. By public transit (you need to take a bus and Toronto’s subway) it takes about 45-50 minutes in rush hours and slightly more than an hour off rush hours. The bus stop is located about half a kilometer from the hotel. The purpose of my trip was business and I took public transit all the time. I did not have to travel to downtown everyday, so the fact that it was not very close to the centre was not an issue to me. There’re fast food chains located within a kilometer’s distance from the hotel. It is a quiet neighborhood and may seem scary to venture out at night. I happened to go out after 9pm a couple of times and although it felt lonely, nobody bothered me and I had no incidents. I would however recommend using the cab if you need to go out late and public transit would be very inconvenient to use after 7pm anyway.

As far as the hotel itself is concerned, I was quite happy. The staff is very courteous and helpful. There is plenty of space for car parking. The facility is clean. Although corridors smell like cigarette smoke, the room itself was very clean. I did not hear voices from the neighboring rooms (as some guests have expressed concerns in other review sites). My room was a “queen size” and it was fairly spacious to accommodate a family of four. Room service was excellent. Breakfast was very good. Their waffle-maker is already popular in multiple websites. They provide plenty of fruits every morning. They do not start cleaning up the breakfast area as soon as the clock strikes 9.30 (like they do in some motels) as long as the lobby has guests who are having breakfast.

Overall, I was very happy with the facility for the price I paid. Toronto is an expensive city as far as hotel accommodation is concerned and staying anywhere within a 10 km radius from the centre you would end up paying over $150 per night. I would say, cheap price, good quality stay with a not-very-difficult access to the centre.

Bottom-line: Families with children who tend to get tired at the end of the day, consider this option if you could use a cab towards the end of a tiring day of sight-seeing. If you have a car or if your purpose is touring with a schedule where you would visit the city’s attractions during the day and just return to the place to sleep, then this is definitely the place for an economic stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYPhysician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Awful hotel. Arrived late night from the airport, and were greeted by a group of prostitutes as we got out of the taxi. Sad to say, it went downhill after that. Rooms awful - uncomfortable bed, dirty, noisy...

Suffice to say, we ate in the restaurant at the CN tower the next morning, and took the maitre d's recommendation and changed hotels that afternoon!!

Never going to stay in a Days Inn anywhere in the world after that!

Room Tip: Pick another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L0tusBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

After reading reviews on this hotels we were quite concerned about what we had booked, however we found the hotel was what we would expect for what we paid. Reception desk were helpful, we didn't expect to get a breakfast and found it had a fair selection and the receptionist restocked it often. The rooms were clean, quiet (no noise from next door), and plenty of tv choice.
The downside for us was that the hotel was further out of toronto than we expected and what money we saved on this hotel was then spent on taxi's in and out of toronto for 2 days.
Overall we would use this hotel again as an over night stop on the way further north.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1,234,186,408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Given that this location is on Kingston Road, the standards are already lowered manifolds. The reception area gives this place a worse look than it deserves. The rooms are not that bad, I've been to worse rooms. Offers a breakfast out of the reception area which I find very odd. The staff look like they hate working there! The location is not that close to downtown but a comfortable distance away.
I hope I don't have to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel4dawah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Ok il start with the 2 problems we had on the second day our toilet was blocked and our remote stopped working. The girl moved us one room away and there was no issues. Its annoying but not the end of the world.

Good points - Nice size rooms, Good tv choice, beds are ok, free news paper, its a great price we payed maybe $55

Breakfast is self served and pretty basic but perfect for the price you pay a great added extra and saves maybe $15 for a couple.

Staff were fine couldnt ask for much more they helped when asked and solved issues quick.

Location is key here, i booked on hotwire and did not expect to be that far away but i gambled and got it wrong. The location is fine if you have a car or your happy to use public transport. It will take you 50mins to get to the city center but its simple and just a short walk from the hotel to the bus stops. We done it with suitcases so anyone complaining id ignore.

At the end of the day it comes down to budget the hotel is great for the price.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tipp86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Etobicoke
Canadas Best Value Inn Toronto
Etobicoke
Woodbine Hotel & Suites
Woodbine Hotel & Suites
#111 of 138 in Toronto
287 reviews
North York
Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North York
Best Western Plus Toronto North York Hotel & Suites
Scarborough
Holiday Inn Express Toronto East
Scarborough
Best Western Plus Executive Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn - Toronto East Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn - Toronto East Lakeview

Address: 2151 Kingston Rd | Birchmont Rd/Kingston Road, Toronto, Ontario M1N 1T5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Scarborough
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: £58 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn - Toronto East Lakeview 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn - Toronto East Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Toronto East Lakeview Hotel Toronto
Toronto Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing