We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food, Awesome dailey specials”
Review of Olio

Olio
Reserve with OpenTable
Olio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #602 of 8,469 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: US$7 - US$26
Cuisines: International, Canadian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Etobicoke
Cross street: Atwell
Transit: Our closest major intersection is located at Dixon and Atwell/Skyway. Buses that stop in front of the Sheraton Toronto Airport Hotel 801 Dixon Road: 58 Malton (east/west on Dixon, and the 112C via Kipling Station (Skyway/Atwell)
Description: Here at Olio we believe the key to great cuisine lies in its simplicity. We use this philosophy as an inspiration for all our dishes: seasonal, local ingredients prepared in a style that will bring out their natural flavours. Organic produce and meats, as well as fish from sustainable fisheries and environmentally sound aquaculture farms, have been chosen to complement this philosophy. We invite you to join us for a great meal.
Brockville, Canada
1 review
“Great Food, Awesome dailey specials”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I am always impressed with the food, its not your average hotel menu. There is a lot of thought put into the daily specials.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cathy5731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike J, Manager at Olio, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of Olio. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Mike Jahshan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    46
    15
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This restaurant was a delightful surprise, as it's located in an hotel (Sheraton Toronto Airport). The service was very good and the atmosphere pleasant. Reasonable wine list not exhorbitantly priced. Restaurant has a nice layout, with some alcoves that afford privacy. Wait staff were attentive but not intrusive.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike J, Manager at Olio, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of Olio. We are delighted that you had a pleasant experience and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Mike Jahshan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elora, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A nice change from the chain food”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

When looking for a pleasant location to dine with some business partners, I wanted to find something that wasn't the typical "steak house" that now dominates the themes for the airport area. The description of Olio fit this need and I am very pleased with the choice. After reading some of the prior review of service levels and speed I decided these did not matter as we were planning a relaxed evening with a great deal of business discussion.

Service: I believe we were blessed with the waiter that was previously reviewed as speaking to fast. This individual did indeed speak swiftly but was very easy to understand and his personality was a delight around the table. He ensured we were well looked after, checked regularly on our status and made sure every order was exactly as we wanted. I would suggest he drink a little less coffee :) as I was tired at the end of our 2.5 hour dining just watching him. I wish I had his energy.

Food: This is where Olio really is unsung. The menu selection was not overdone and maintained the Mediterranean theme which was the reason we had chosen to dine here. The selections were authentic and inspired. From the simple yet elegant shrimp appetizer presentation to the Oso Buco that was cooked to perfection, we could not find a single item of displeasure with the entire meal. Our usual critic in the group was even unusually quiet and did not complain even once. Very well done and enjoyed.

Atmosphere: Being located in the Sheridan we expected to experience the typical hotel restaurant noise and uncaring attitudes. Quite the opposite is true at Olio. The dining area is open but well appointed with fixtures and features to soften the noise of surrounding tables and allows for an evening of quiet conversation without seclusion. Although we were aware of our surrounding diners we were never left feeling like our conversations were interfering with their enjoyment or theirs on us. The dining area itself was very comfortable for fine and relaxed expectations and imparted a feeling of comfort.

Overall Olio is a gem of a find and is a great change from the chain steak houses that populate the Dixon Road area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike J, Manager at Olio, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review, we are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant time with your guests, and especially glad that we satisfied the critic.

We at Olio are trying to set ourselves apart from the steakhouses along Dixon road, and we are trying to become more than just a hotel restaurant, and your review gives us confidence that we are going in the right direction and we truly appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls
Level Contributor
602 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Extremely good for a hotel restaurant”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The food was excellent, hot and appealing. We had dinner with three children and they received children's menus. Their choices were numerous too and their food was very good as well. The service was fine also. We will eat here again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank journeymaid48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike J, Manager at Olio, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review of Olio. We appreciate the feedback and we are delighted that you had a nice experience, it really means a lot to us.

We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“winterlicious dinner very nice”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

my wife and I enjoyed a very nice dinner on Saturday, as we went to Olio for Winterlicious.
We both chose the 5 onion soup, it was hot but very good. For our mains, we ordered the New York Angus steak. It was amazing, cooked perfectly and melts in your mouth. great choice.

For dessert, my wife had the tiramisu and I had the warm apple blossom. Both were good.

the service was good, not great. she was pleasant. the atmosphere could be better, but overall
it was a nice evening, and we would recommend.

fixe prix was 25.00 each

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank toats07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike J, Manager at Olio, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review of Olio. We are delighted that you had a pleasant experience with us. We are actually doing a face lift to Olio this year to provide a better atmosphere so it doesn't feel like you're in a hotel restaurant. It's exciting planning it, and we hope to see you for Summerlicious and our new Sunday Brunch Buffet coming soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olio also viewed

 

Been to Olio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing