We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome food”
Review of The Gabardine

The Gabardine
Ranked #375 of 8,469 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Downtown West
Boston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“awesome food”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

loved our Lunch .. was the best.. excellent service. was packed but the pace was great. prices were very resonable

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trippin0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    64
    18
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“My New Lunch Spot”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I have been meaning to dine at The Gabardine since I saw the restaurant on the show, "You've Gotta Eat Here."

I had watched the show and salivated over the Mac & Cheese they were making so I HAD to have that when I finally went over lunch. It completely lived up to my expectations! It was so delicious yet I didn't feel I had to roll myself out of the place after.

I appreciate this place so much because it had such a down to earth vibe steps away from the Financial District (which is hard to find). I felt like I could have been eating at a restaurant in a small town which I loved. It completely took me away from the hustle and bustle from downtown which I appreciated along with providing a hearty meal.

My only advice is you get there early before the lunch hour rush.

I will be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarisaWorldTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
173 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Comfort food”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I popped in for lunch after walking past the place a number of times. The decor is warm, a bit hipster-ish, but welcoming. The menu is the same, with some updated takes on old fashioned comfort food. I had mac & cheese which was delicious but not for the faint of heart and my guest had a really nice risotto. Menu is small, and the wine list is limited, which, quite frankly works for me. It was nice to see a place on Bay St. not overflowing with hyperbole and show. The restaurant was packed well before noon but the service was efficient, yet unobtrusive. Our server was quite happy to offer an opinion which is always appreciated.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dart_Monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I work around the corner from The Gabardine and figured after seeing it on You Gotta Eat Here that it would be a good spot to meet my boyfriend's mother for lunch when she was in town. She's a foodie and figured it would please her palate!
I'm so glad we got there early as it was packed! Knowing fully well that every eatery in the Financial District is overrun come noon I had her arrive about 10 minutes before so we made the most of our time.
I had the po' boy which was pretty tasty. I will say that it came with a side salad which was literally just greens... no dressing at all. I would have loved a splash of balsamic on there but oh well! She had the rabbit rillettes and kolapore springs smoked trout, to say she enjoyed them would be an understatement!
Overall it was a very enjoyable meal and there are many more things on the menu I'd love to try, I just have to justify $19 for chicken pot pie!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MeganPreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Selva Beach, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

No reservations for lunch so we got there when they opened at 11:30. There were already a few patrons and within 20 minutes it was packed. My wife loves chicken pot pie so she had to try it and it was quite good. It was heavy on the tarragon but we both liked it. We shared the croquettes which were also tasty but for $13 there were only four. It was also very warm inside (they placed a fan in the doorway for people waiting for a table). Overall a good lunch experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Appa01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gabardine also viewed

 

Been to The Gabardine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing