We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty average..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Executive Inn
Ranked #51 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
North Sydney, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pretty average..”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We booked on basis on the reviews and was surprised to see the good rating. The hotel facility is at most average and needs an upgrade. The carpets were dirty and coming off. The linens were were clean, but none of the fridges were working. The breakfast was disappointing. The amenities include indoor swimming pool, free internet with lots of parking available. It is also well located and has easy access to the freeway and nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rizwan A, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Executive Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    193
    100
    47
    36
See reviews for
287
95
29
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Unfortunately, I believed what I read when choosing a hotel in the area to stay for the night of July 4, 2014. Next time, for the same price, I will check out the Holiday Inn Express next door, or go north to the Residence Inn by Marriott, just off the 407. The Best Western website described the hotel as "newly constructed" and "the newest hotel in the area", and Trip Advisor reviews were generally quite good. I cancelled a reservation made elsewhere to book at this hotel, because the description said it was new. Well, there is no way on earth that this hotel is new. I would believe that the structure was built in the mid 1990's, operated as a motel/hotel by a different company and then rebranded as a Best Western. There is even a large discoloured patch on the outside of the building where a previous sign was once displayed. Other indicators of the building's age were easily seen in the badly stained older carpets throughout the public areas and in the room itself (and the carpets' frayed ends/trim); discoloured, brittle, separating and aged grout and silicone on the walls and around the counter area in the room and bathroom; wooden room furniture that was badly in need of refinishing or replacement; a refrigerator that had a thick band of pinkish foamy-mold-type residue across the interior lower back of the fridge; a small elevator that was SO slow that you were honestly better off taking the stairs. The stairwell was clean, looked freshly painted and was well maintained. Our check-in experience foreshadowed what the stay was to be like. I arrived with my husband at the hotel and approached the front desk just after 3:00pm on Friday July 4. There was a man working behind the counter providing assistance to a woman who was checking in and there were two other young females behind the counter who were so engrossed in personal conversation about someone one of the young females had been on the phone with, (who wanted to know when she was on duty so that he could come in and see her beautiful face), that we were totally ignored for several minutes, until the man behind the counter became free. At that point the young female who had been telling her co-worker about her phone conversation with her admirer offered to make the cards for our room and the other young woman went out of sight in the back. We were checked in to room 417. One of the two room cards worked. The furnishings in the room were arranged in such a way that it was quite crowded, but the air conditioner cooled the room nicely, and as we were so close to the 401 highway, I was grateful for the sound of it washing out much of the traffic noise. The bed was comfortable and the window coverings had heavy shades behind the curtains that nicely kept the sun out. There was a constant and irritating glitch with the TV reception that made it difficult to watch anything (FIFA World cup soccer and Wimbleton tennis were on). The picture and volume would freeze for several seconds every few minutes, (I would say every 3 - 4 minutes), and the screen would go dark and there would be no volume and then several seconds later, the signal for the channel would kick back in for another few minutes and the cycle continued. I have a thing about someone else's hair in my hotel room bathtub, or on the towels, facecloths or linens. I discovered a straight dark hair on my facecloth when I went to use it and there was a long dark hair hanging from the inset soap dish in the centre back wall of the bathtub when we first arrived. It was still there when we left, as we opted instead to shower once we reached our Saturday destination. Noise carried into the hallway from other rooms, which was to be expected as there were many young families with children staying at the hotel the night that we did. We did not use the pool or exercise room during our stay, but they were popular, obviously making the hotel a good value for some. The two women who worked the breakfast room were very busy and did their best to keep on top of replenishing breakfast items. The set-up for the buffet was a little odd and it took several trips to the counter and standing back to locate everything wanted. Although in advertisements it says that the friendly staff at this hotel are ready to greet you with a smile, we didn't experience that. Upon leaving our room on checkout, though, one of the housekeepers just outside our room on our floor greeted us with a friendly "Hello. Have a good day." I have stayed at some great Best Westerns in the past, but have to say that this hotel does not live up to its billing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank FarRiderWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rizwan A, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Executive Inn, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Plus Executive Inn Toronto-East for your stay. It is unfortunate to hear that your experience with us did not exceed your standards and expectations.

In regards to your feedback, our website does describe this location as “a newly constructed hotel” as it was built in 2002, making it the newest hotel within the Toronto-East area. As for the large discolored patch on the outside of the building, there actually was a sign that was previously displayed for a special promotion we were advertising, which is now taken down.
We apologize that our staff, services, and amenities we offer did not live up to your satisfaction. As your satisfaction is important to us, we will be using the feedback you provided to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. One of our goals is to provide guests with a positive Best Western experience through satisfying their needs and expectations.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Again, thank you for your feedback as we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Staying at the "Best Western PLUS Executive Inn" is always an enjoyable experience... From the friendly and courteous staff, the clean and well appointed rooms, and the fun and relaxing indoor pool and jetted hot tub to working out in the exercise room, this is our "Go to" home away from home when staying in the G.T.A. .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Brad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rizwan A, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Executive Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,
It is a pleasure to hear that you had a positive Best Western experience! We thank you for your recommendation as a valued and satisfied guest. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We choose this hotel because it has an electric vehicle (EV) charging station, but we would stay here again even if we weren’t driving an EV. We were able to fully charge our car the same evening we arrived.
Our room was spacious, very clean and well equipped with a fridge and a microwave. Despite being fairly close to highway 401, it was very quiet overnight and we slept well. The hot breakfast served the next morning was satisfying with a good selection of food including yogurt and some fresh fruit.
The only small thing that could be improved would be if our room fridge had a small freezer to chill our ice packs (it was all fridge space with no freezer).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rizwan A, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Executive Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank You for choosing the Best Western Plus Executive Inn Toronto-East for your stay. We are pleased to hear about your satisfaction with the services and amenities our hotel offers. Your feedback helps us exceed the expectations of our guests and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I can't complain. Every Best Western I went to has had comfortable beds, getting me a good nights sleep, this one included. I almost would want to sleep there instead of my bed every night. This hotel was great. Staff went out of their way to direct us to late night snack places that were open and also give us the directions to the closest train stations to go downtown. They did not lead us astray. They also helped us book an extra night at the hotel without any hassle. The breakfast was free, a great change from the previous Best Western I stay at. I wasn't a fan of the sausage this time though, but everything was decent for a free meal. I'd like to suggest that the bathrooms need some fans in them and the toilets may need some plumbing get a more powerful flush, but other than that, nothing was bad in this room at all.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rizwan A, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Executive Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Plus Executive Inn Toronto-East, as well as, your feedback from your stay. We try our very best to provide amenities and services that will meet your expectations and enhance your overall experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This would be my second stay at this hotel Efficient front staff, friendly and fast. Quiet and clean. Value for money. Only problem was when I dialled the reception and it rang with no answer. No big deal as I was only calling to let them know I needed extra 10 minutes for checkout

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Andaza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rizwan A, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Executive Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Plus Executive Inn Toronto-East for your stay! One of our goals is to ensure that our guests leave with a positive and memorable experience. An experience that meets your standards and expectations. Again, we thank you as we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Great Hotel and I'm familiar with the chain--I stay there frequently. Clean, professional and totally problem-free thanks to a great staff. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again and refer folks there also. Just terrific.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rudy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rizwan A, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Executive Inn, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your stay with us, as well as, your recommendation as a loyal and satisfied guest! One of our goals is to provide a positive Best Western experience that our guests will remember. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Scarborough
Holiday Inn Express Toronto East
Scarborough
Delta Toronto East
Delta Toronto East
#66 of 137 in Toronto
801 reviews
North York
Best Western Plus Toronto North York Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North York
Holiday Inn Express Toronto - North York
North York
Radisson Hotel Toronto East
North York
The Westin Prince Toronto
The Westin Prince Toronto
#57 of 137 in Toronto
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Executive Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Executive Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Executive Inn
Address: 38 Estate Dr, Toronto, Ontario M1H 2Z1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Scarborough
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Toronto
#41 Business Hotel in Toronto
#44 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Executive Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Executive Inn Hotel is the newest hotel located in the heart of Toronto East, just 10 minutes from the Toronto Zoo. Inquire about our Toronto Zoo, Science Centre & Wonderland Packages. Standard Rooms, Executive Rooms & Spa Suites available. All rooms with microwave, fridge & hi-speed wireless internet & more. Our guests enjoy our indoor pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness room & a deluxe hot breakfast. Exclusive: Show your guest key & save at 6 local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Executive Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Executive Hotel Toronto
Best Western Toronto
Toronto Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing