We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castlegate Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #79 of 115 Toronto B&B and Inns
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Such a nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

I've stayed in this B&B two times. Both have been pleasant stays. Location is brilliant, two subway stations are close, a walking distance from some nice bars and so on. People there have been really nice as well. The rooms are not very modern or up-to-date, but I haven't been bothered. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lacu2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    16
    11
    4
    23
See reviews for
5
17
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Blanc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

I booked a room here via hostels.com. I then emailed the Castlegate directly to ask about the cost of parking, and they informed me that they were sold out for the dates I booked. After telling them that my reservation with Hostels.com was confirmed, they told me I would have to request a refund, as they would not honour my reservation. Since then, the Castlegate has done nothing to back up my request for a refund from Hostels.com, and even days after I was told my reservation would not be honoured, the dates were still showing as "available" online.

I normally wouldn't give a negative review for a customer-service related issue, but this is a situation that could have been prevented; the Castlegate should be informing the online sites to block reservations when they are full. And at the very least, they should be helping to make sure I get refunded, as this "error" was not from anything I did.

Based on my experience, I don't recommend the Castlegate, and I advise against booking anything through Hostels.com.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenGalTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Toronto hotels

palmbeachFLA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

I visit TO frequently and until now it has cost me a small fortune just for the use of a bed and a shower. Lets get real this is Not a place for luxury seekers but the price for the location cant be beat. I was happy with pretty much everything. I am not interested in room service . I actually checked in and out without meeting any staff. I arrived after the front desk was closed 9pm and chd out 5am before it was open. It was odd but kinda of nice not to be watched. I did speak with a woman from the hotel i needed an airport cab phone # she gave me a great one. So yes it is cheap and in a great location , and because of this was easy to ignore some tired furniture and dated bathroom

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGrahame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Yes, this is a cheap place and yes they are about to turn it into a youth hostel but in case they haven't yet, do not go there. I have been in several B&Bs in different countries and this is by far the worst ever. The owners have no sense of customer service whatsoever. Cheap does not mean disrespectful. The owners do not even live nearby, they are an hour and a half away. There is no one to help you with anything. The front door did not lock properly when I arrived and they told me I should push it in harder. Three of us - other guests had tried to do this but she wouldn't listen. She just kept telling me how far she lived and to keep pushing it. The room had a stale, musty odor. There was nothing there to indicate where to go to eat, shop or tour. I asked about food and they told me there was a quick walk to Bloor street (10 - 15 blocks - not quick) and said there was nothing to eat around the corner - but there was. The comforter was shredded at the bottom. There were things left behind by previous tenants under the bed. The sink stopped up when you used it. The shower turned boiling hot once you lathered up. I had to return a few days later - because I had paid for it already and did not have time to look for other places. This room did not have a clock in it and they refused to wake me up so I would be ready for my train. My sister - in the states - had to call me on my cell because I did not have an alarm on that. The next morning there was no breakfast and the answering service said someone should be there by 10. Breakfast was meant to be served at 8:15-10:15. Several people were standing around but I told them about Bloor but said I did not recall seeing breakfast nooks there. Nor around the corner. I should also mention that they had these very stained drapes over the fridge/microwave - it would have looked nicer to have nothing over them. The drapes over the bed had probably never been cleaned either. Stains on the sheets as well. Oh, and don't let me forget to tell you that my neighbors for my first two nights - very young and virile and I could hear everything. Including the Nora Jones CD they were playing as foreplay. One last thing, they expect you to pay $20 to clean your room during the day! I wouldn't send my child there who was off to college.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

I absolutely loved it and I would definitely recommend it. I stayed here with my husband and we absolutely lived the location. I would definitely recommend it. Though the rooms aren't the best you definitely get what you paid for.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tay12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed in May for a few days. The arrogance of the owner is matched only by his incompetence. Key didn't work in a room I was transferred to. I couldn't get anyone on the phone. It was 9 o'clock at night. I ended up sleeping on the floor in the hallway. Never again.

Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Lloyd D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

When I couldn't get into residence for my third year at U of T, I ended up having to crash at my friend's frat for a month before moving into my own single room at the Castlegate Inn. I ended up staying there for two years. As a student with limited disposable income, I owe a lot of gratitude for the staff who charged me just $585 a month to rent a single unit, and even gave me a break when they knew things were tough for me. When I first moved in, one of the technicians told me that the manager really works hard to keep the place going for students and all that jazz. He was absolutely right. What with a fully furnished room that satisfied all my needs, compassionate staff concerned with your well-being, and a great location both for school and cheap eating, I consider myself so lucky to have found this place.

Room Tip: The room I had (223 Spadina, Apt. 7) had an A/C and heater installed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selwyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Downtown
McGill Inn B&B
McGill Inn B&B
#17 of 115 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Midtown
Havinn Bed&Breakfast
Havinn Bed&Breakfast
#48 of 115 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Rose Garden Bed and Breakfast
Midtown
Global Guest House
Global Guest House
#72 of 115 in Toronto
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
North York
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlegate Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlegate Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Castlegate Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 219 Spadina Rd, Toronto, Ontario M5R 2T9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Castlegate Bed & Breakfast Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castlegate Inn is located in downtown Toronto close to all major tourist attractions including Casa Loma, ROM, University of Toronto, Bata Shoe Museum and major hospitals. Our inn is steps from Dupont Station, with easy access to the entire city! We have been rated as "one of the best value Bed and Breakfast in Toronto" by Lonely Planet. Each of our rooms is equipped with cable television, mini-fridge, microwave and private washroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Castlegate Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlegate Hotel Toronto
Castlegate Bed And Breakfast Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing