We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem.”
Review of All Days Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
All Days Hostel
Ranked #29 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Toronto
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Me and my boyfriend needed a last minute place to stay. We called around lunch time and got a great rate so headed down.
Another guest at the hostel let us in and we were greeted by the reception staff (Manager?) He was great, helpful and friendly. He booked us in our room and told us about the facilities they had.
Everything from the front door onwards was clean and fresh looking. Nothing was worn or old.
Yeah, the rooms are small (we had a double private) but the rates are cheap and unless you want a barn dance, they're adequate for a short stay. We only stayed one night so it was perfect. The bathrooms were clean, room was clean and the kitchen was clean.
We stayed on the basement floor and the kitchen had 2 fridgefreezers if you wanted to bring food home you had loads of room! That being said, there aren't any places locally to buy food so buy some when you're out in case you fancy a snack or breakfast.
There are a few minus points to our stay and i say these as tiny warnings, they didn't ruin or even affect our stay one bit.
1, there were people socializing in the kitchen at 1 am and maybe slightly after. I had a plane to catch the day after and had i been somebody who liked to complain, i could see it being a slight issue.
2, the WiFi didn't work very well, maybe i was in a black spot being in the basement but there is a computer to use for free upstairs if you wish! Again, can't complain, just wanted to check a few things that weren't important.
Overall, loved this hostel. Every other guest we encountered was friendly and said hey. Planning to come back in September and every other time i hit Toronto after that.
Great find, stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayxtay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2012

This is a two-storey building newly renovated at walking distance from Yonge Street, the spinal cord of downtown Toronto
It's located in a very quiet back street in the business area, five minutes away from the subway station.

The price is very reasonable, rooms are good size and decorated like an old fashioned nice hotel. If you share the bathroom, there is two per floor. I would say one for every three rooms which is fair enough.
The kitchen, in the second floor, is newly fitted. Breakfast is not included but only 10 minutes around the corner, there is a big supermarket wher you can find almost everything.
It has a library and two computers with free internet access...

I would have rated this place to be excellent... and it is good if you are prepared for fighting for your money. You feel that you need to bargain over every cent you paid, as if you were in a bazaar in a exotic and remote muslim town, always in the verge of being cheated off.
If you find this distressing, this is not your place.

You pay in advance, even after having paid a percentage in advance to book the room. After that, it is really tough to get any money back, so ask for checking the room before paying anything.

We were given a room with shared bathroom when we booked an en-suite twin. Fortunately I had my reservation printed off to prove it... It was late at night and the owner claimed that he didn't have any available that night because we arrived so late. But I had taken the trouble of e-mailing him the night before informing the late time we would be arriving. So after a bit of argument, he agreed to give back the difference in price for that night and change our room the morning after for the rest of our stay.

Since we were leaving very early in the morning to take advantage of the little time we had in the city and they couldn't change rooms before noon, we agreed to leave everything packed for them to move the luggage to our new room. And so we did, but when we came back, they threw away one of our bags thinking that it was rubbish when it contained our just-bought food for breakfast... Claiming money for that was painful as well even when we had the receipt from the supermarket from that very morning. Finally we got half the price in cash since the other option was claiming it via email once home since we were flying back that day. They only saved $5 but were prepared to risk customer satisfaction.

It's very good value... but you need tough negotiating skills and a dose of mistrust to be able to enjoy it. Not everybody is made to haggle.

Room Tip: For the difference in price, it is worth having an en-suite room instead of having to share the bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank xenale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

place is terrible, dirty bathrooms, i was promised private bathroom and then upon arrival they told me there were no rooms like that. I arranged for an airport pickup but nobody ever came. Very dissapointing experience. The walls are so thin that you can hear every little noise, tiny rooms. Also I had to pay full amount for 2 weeks upon arrival and after 3 days changed my mind about staying there and they wouldn't give me any refund. The location is good but everything else is very bad.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aleksander K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: ドミから個室まで複数タイプの部屋があります。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ykyk2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Fallon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Blue_eye1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LuRabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
North York
Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites
Downtown
Hostelling International Toronto
Chinatown
College Backpackers
College Backpackers
#47 of 108 in Toronto
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East York
The Only Backpackers Inn
The Only Backpackers Inn
#26 of 108 in Toronto
51 reviews
Downtown
Neill-Wycik Backpackers Hotel
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 137 in Toronto
3,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to All Days Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about All Days Hostel

Address: 5 Selby St, Toronto, Ontario M4Y 1W3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Toronto
Price Range: £37 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — All Days Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your All Days Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing