We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable with all amenities you can wish for”
Review of SoHo Metropolitan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SoHo Metropolitan
Ranked #7 of 135 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Just came from a 3 day visit to Toronto. This hotel is very modern, with a beautifully appointed bathroom all marble with lots of space and Molton Brown toiletries, the bathroom was well lit perfect for putting on makeup. The room was very comfortable and the wardrobe is like a walk in; for once we had his and hers side and drawers; so many times we have to squeeze all our clothes into tiny cubbyholes especially in European hotels. Spacious interior, huge television, great personnel and a very nice room service to boot. We recommend this hotel for its convenience, comfort and reasonable price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toogreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (871)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

508 - 514 of 871 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

This hotel has a great location. It is convenient to the toronto city airport and downtown toronto. The rooms are huge and made me feel like I should have brought more stuff. Huge tub and separate shower, all marble. The closet was more of a dressing room than a closet. The staff at the front desk, concierge and bar were very friendly and always willing to help. They are building a wahlburger there too so soon you will have a great little burger joint right inside. There was also a couch in the room which I love as it feels a bit more like home when you're on a business trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VailtoVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This hotel is wonderful! The staff are professional yet friendly, the concierge is efficient and knowledgable, and the rooms are almost as gorgeous as the bathrooms! I have stayed here a number of times, and although not the cheapest room available in Toronto downtown, if you hate the large top-end chain hotels, and wish to spend about the same money for a boutique hotel experience, then you really cannot go wrong. (I often travel alone for business, and I HATE having to sit alone in a large breakfast area.) The location is fantastic, with a Cora's across the street and a Starbucks a block away, if you choose to opt out of the wonderful breakfast selection available in the restaurant. The TTC subways station is a 10 minute walk away. Underground parking an elevator trip away is also a real benefit in downtown Toronto.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingGaslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Though the layout of the suite was a little odd, it was huge.
The shower was awesome- so many jets.
and the view was great. nice little gym and pool, too.
didn't try the restaurant but heard great things

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OntarioWinelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here for 1 night because we're attending a wedding in Toronto. What a beautiful hotel! The staff is friendly, the hotel very classy and the room was fantastic! So luxurious!, comfortable king size bed, big flat screen tv but my favorite was the amazing bathroom!!! All marble, big soaker tub, with a separate shower, heated floors, big fluffy towels. When we returned from our night out, we entered our room and were greater by the clock radio playing soft classical music, a bottle of water on each side of the bed, a card with the weather for the next day and more fresh towels!! It was such a nice surprise we felt very pampered!
The hotel is quiet, we slept peacefully!!
We would recommend The Soho to anyone looking for a beautiful hotel in Toronto! Plus it's walking distance to many good restaurants and the Rogers centre!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vera D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Pros: good location, near to trendy king west and some nice restaurants (Weslodge/Patria) Also near enough to downtown.
The concierge was helpful and cheerful, and did an excellent job booking a dinner for a group of 12. The maids were pleasant and did a good job cleaning.
Cons: first room had a musty smell and a wet patch of carpet - either from resolving water damage or from a new leak - no one seemed to know why. The bottom line was that no other room was immediately available so my wife and I spent one night in the musty room (trip down memory lane - something like the old basement apartment smell of my uni days). The next day we were swapped to the ash-tray themed room for our remaining two nights.
There was no follow up regarding the room change, and there was no apology made to us for having to spend the initial night in the musty environment. The rooms themselves are OK, although not overly impressive in any particular way.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We arrived at the SOHO Metropolitan, Downtown Toronto on the final leg of our holiday.

Arriving at the SOHO Metropolitan the first thing you notice is that the hotels exterior has a modern look and feel to it.

The same can be said when you enter the hotels impressive lobby. When you go through the revolving doors there's a lounge area to the left and a large dining area to the right.

The reception desk is directly in the middle of the lobby with a concierge desk just to the left.

Check in was very quick and the staff were professional, polite and friendly throughout, within 5 minutes we were handed our room key and heading towards the elevator to our room.

When you enter the suites they are reasonably large in size with a comfortable king size bed, a desk and brand new LCD TV which had just been installed that day. The Freeview channels however were limited.

There are bedside cabinets either side of the bed with a cordless telephone, 2 lamps and a docking station alarm clock.

Just off the hallway entrance is an alcove with complimentary tea/coffee making facilities and a mini bar. Complimentary bottles of water are left each evening which I thought was a nice touch.

Now, the bathroom..... This is where most if not all your money goes towards and it has to be seen to be believed, the bathroom is beautifully tiled from floor to ceiling with heated floor tiles, a double walk in shower with two shower heads and a deep bath which is just luxury. There are also free complimentary Molton Brown toiletries in both the shower and in the his and hers basin area as well. Class!

The hotels facilities include a fitness centre, a medium sized swimming pool and a Jacuzzi, there is however no pool attendant, so if you have children you can't leave them unsupervised.

The hotel bar is modern and busy in the evening, we didn’t have a drink in there so unsure how much drinks cost. The same can be said for the dining area; although the menu did look varied and reasonably priced.

On the whole the SOHO Metropolitan is a spotlessly clean and modern boutique hotel. The staff were helpful and knowledgeable of both the hotel and the surrounding area. The hotel however is situated in the centre of the financial district of downtown Toronto and is a good 20 minute walk to Yonge and Dundas St (where it all happens) and a 15 minute walk to the harbour. The Rodgers Stadium and the CN Tower however is only a few minutes walk from the hotel so conveniently situated if you are planning on visiting these attractions.

On the whole, you can’t go wrong by staying at the SOHO Metropolitan.

Tip. There is an amazing pizzeria just over the road from the hotel called the Pizza Rustica which does amazing pizzas at a very reasonable price. There is also a few bars nearby but they all closed early (around 11pm).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surfyboy1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Hotels Toronto
Delta Hotels Toronto
#8 of 135 in Toronto
2,186 reviews
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#23 of 135 in Toronto
3,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
#10 of 135 in Toronto
1,315 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SoHo Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SoHo Metropolitan

Address: 318 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3T4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#9 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#16 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £175 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SoHo Metropolitan 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SoHo Metropolitan Hotel is simply Toronto's finest, whether you call it a luxury, boutique or design hotel. At once supremely indulgent and artfully subdued, the hotel affectionately dubbed "SoHo Met" is a vibrant scene unto itself. From inspired culinary creations and rejuvenating spa treatments to advanced in-room technologies and innovative business services, a limitless range of sophisticated pleasures awaits you. Whether you are staying for just a weekend or weeks on end, you will quickly realize that one does more than stay at the SoHo Met ... one lives it. The moment you set foot upon the marble floors of the SoHo Metropolitan Hotel in Toronto, you enter a world of exquisite delights and unparalleled convenience, where the hotel's commitment to service and personal attention exceed all expectations. The three story, loft-style penthouse suite and 92 oversized, luxurious guestrooms and suites represent the very epitome of SoHo Metropolitan style. European natural down duvets and triple Italian bed linens grace the luxurious king-size beds. When it's time to say good night, use the smart technology to adjust lighting, motorized draperies and do-not-disturb light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your SoHo Metropolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Metropolitan Toronto
Soho Metropolitan Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing