We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refined spacious luxury in perfect location”
Review of SoHo Metropolitan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SoHo Metropolitan
Ranked #10 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Refined spacious luxury in perfect location”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Soho Met is a Toronto Classic. Sure it's a bit older now but the rooms and common areas have been kept in great modern condition and the room size is unmatched in Toronto relative to quality, for the value. The service is top notch, without the pretentiousness of other modern boutiques. The location is also perfect, close to everything that matters but on a quiet corner away from the madness of the city. All in all, if you like the boutique hotel experience at a reasonable price point there is no better place in Toronto.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    172
    32
    13
    20
See reviews for
49
326
37
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My husband travels to Toronto frequently for work and occasionally myself and my little boy will come along. I love Toronto and this hotel is located perfectly if you like to walk around the town centre. You can easily walk to the town centre though you would have to take a cab to the shopping centres if that's where you wanted to be. Modern spacious rooms, Molten Brown toiletries, very comfy beds.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NBD1813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We had a brilliant stay for 2 nights at the soho met, the room was one of the best hotel rooms i have ever stayed in, it was extremely clean and spacious and was luxury to me and my partner. We booked the hotel through expedia so got a really good deal as i can imagine the hotel normally is quite pricey! The room was massive, with a huge bed, mini bar, huge TV, wifi, walk in closet, heated flooring in the bathroom with a huge bath and gorgeous shower, electric curtains, ipod and iphone docking station and a fantastic view of the cn tower! We did not eat at the hotel as the hotel is very central in toronto and is in walking distance to most places, from the hotel we walked to the eaton centre, the cn tower, toronto blue jays stadium and many other places. There is also a heated indoor pool and gym! The only downfall for us was that on arrival you are expected to pay $300 deposit which you get back when you leave, this was only a problem for us as we are not made of money lol! Also $8 will be taken from this per day for you to make use of the hotel facilities such as the gym, pool and wifi. Also the staff where very friendly and we received a warm welcome. I work in a hotel so was impressed by the overall stay we had :-)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sherridan18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the SoHo Metropolitan Hotel in Toronto for one night. What a fantastic boutique hotel, right in the heart of all things creative.

Staff here were terrific, having been greeted by a young man (porter?) when I stepped off the elevator to the wonderful Stephanie at the front desk when checking in, as well as a member of housekeeping that I ran into on the elevator heading to my room. Polite, professional and very friendly.

Check in was a breeze. I received a complimentary room upgrade which was nice. The decor is hip and modern, but classy. A very welcoming/inviting vibe with darker earth tones.

The room was terrific. Quiet, well appointed and luxurious. Not too big, yet bigger than I expected. Desk to work at, motorized drapes, large LCD TV, room to move about without feeling cramped. The closet area looks like well crafted wooden furniture (which it is) and the bathroom was large, roomy with a large soaker tub, large marble shower with two shower heads (one wand). The heated floors are a nice touch! Oh, and complimentary high speed internet.

As someone who travels a bit, one issue I always have is outlets near the bed to plug in my cell phone. I always keep my phone on when traveling, and use it as my alarm clock usually. Having power conveniently located near the bed is important to me as I'm sure it is to others. The SoHo has this figured out with two outlets, right beside the bed, conveniently located and easy to access just above the top of the nightstand. (yes, it's the little things that make the difference)

I went to their lounge for a light bite to eat (soup and salad) and like any hotel meal, it isn't inexpensive, but pretty much par for the course for those who travel a lot and tend to have to eat in hotel restaurants occasionally. What I had was good, and again, the wait staff was extremely friendly. I had breakfast in the Senses restaurant in the morning. Same deal here. Not cheap, food was quality. But $20 for two eggs, three strips of bacon, one slice of toast and some home fries is a little much. Do yourself a favor and go across the street to Cora's.

Although I didn't use all the hotel had to offer, this is a fabulous place. A nice hidden gem in the heart of Toronto

I would most definitely stay here again and would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Lots of restaurants nearby, save some money. Go to Cora's across street for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renedef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The staff of this hotel were magnificent in their attention, nothing was too difficult or too awkward to sort out for us.

The hotel itself met all of my expectations and would not hesitate to visit there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pencoch40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Nice place…..very well designed interiors of rooms! Big and clean...nicely designed bathroom with heated floor. You are in the centre of Toronto. Fine comfortable bed. Good service. Good gym. I will always advice returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snowflake Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. Beautiful decor, charming and helpful staff, delicious breakfast, stylish marble bathroom, sparkling swimming pool. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There are rooms on the outside overlooking the street or on the inside there are quieter rooms overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DefectiveDoughnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 136 in Toronto
3,144 reviews
Downtown West
Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SoHo Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SoHo Metropolitan

Property: SoHo Metropolitan
Address: 318 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3T4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#9 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#16 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — SoHo Metropolitan 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SoHo Metropolitan Hotel is simply Toronto's finest, whether you call it a luxury, boutique or design hotel. At once supremely indulgent and artfully subdued, the hotel affectionately dubbed "SoHo Met" is a vibrant scene unto itself. From inspired culinary creations and rejuvenating spa treatments to advanced in-room technologies and innovative business services, a limitless range of sophisticated pleasures awaits you. Whether you are staying for just a weekend or weeks on end, you will quickly realize that one does more than stay at the SoHo Met ... one lives it. The moment you set foot upon the marble floors of the SoHo Metropolitan Hotel in Toronto, you enter a world of exquisite delights and unparalleled convenience, where the hotel's commitment to service and personal attention exceed all expectations. The three story, loft-style penthouse suite and 92 oversized, luxurious guestrooms and suites represent the very epitome of SoHo Metropolitan style. European natural down duvets and triple Italian bed linens grace the luxurious king-size beds. When it's time to say good night, use the smart technology to adjust lighting, motorized draperies and do-not-disturb light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SoHo Metropolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Metropolitan Toronto
Soho Metropolitan Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing