We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, and can't beat the location!!”
Review of SoHo Metropolitan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SoHo Metropolitan
Ranked #12 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Barrie, Ontario
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, and can't beat the location!!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My wife and I went to Toronto for an evening away from the kids and wanted to stay somewhere close to restaurants and clubs for a night out. We even walked to BMO Field (40 minutes)! The hotel was absolutely beautiful and the staff were very friendly. It was the perfect location, and this is now our go-to hotel in Toronto

Room Tip: We upgraded to the King Suite and it was the perfect choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenandelsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    168
    32
    13
    20
See reviews for
44
312
34
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

From the minute we walked in, this place was excellent! Even before that, really! I called a number of Toronto hotels to find which had Space Channel (cable) and while a number in the city thought that was a weird request (if they even bothered to check for me in the first place) the staff at the Soho Met made sure they had the channel by going to a room and checking the television! (And then remembered me upon check-in!)

The room itself was lovely - second floor, overlooking city streets, but not too loud even on game day (Blue Jays and hockey played that day; there are a number of bars/restaurants in the area, as well as the Rogers Centre down the street). Bed and pillows were great and the TV was pretty slick - good size and the swivel bar was really cool.

Now, the bathroom! FINALLY a bathroom with great lighting for makeup! I feel very strongly that hotel rooms are never designed by women or with women in mind because they're usually terrible for putting on makeup. But not this one! Heated floors and a wonderful soaker tub didn't hurt either.

The staff was wonderful, especially Stephanie (sp?). She answered my many questions and really helped make the experience memorable. She was very knowledgeable about the hotel, the city (good recommendations, too), and provided super quick service! (There was one tiny issue with our remote control but she handled it immediately, while we ran out for dinner.)

Perfect location for Blue Jays games, CN Tower, aquarium, etc., also TTC transit is about 1-2 blocks away (depending on the stop).

I also appreciated the option for valet or self-parking. It's usually not a choice.

We considered staying longer, just couldn't make it work. I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jami K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed here for three weeks on business in the serviced apartments. This is a great hotel with everything you could ask for in terms of comfort and location and the service was excellent.
The serviced apartments are spacious, reasonably priced and give you access to all the hotel facilities as well as having an entrance that is separate from the hotel lobby. The gym facilities are great, the pool is ok and the adjoining bakery does great coffee and breakfast rolls.
Location wise this couldn't be any better. It is minutes from the CN Tower, Rogers Centre, Air Canada (10 mins walk) and the Entertainment District. There are too many food choices to list and handy convenience stores nearby.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a more spacious and homely alternative to a hotel room.

Room Tip: The Residences face Clarence Park at the rear of the hotel and you get a cool view of dog walkers an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

If you want to be treated like you own the place then stay here. The concierge service is excellent. They even open the door every time you enter or leave the building. Very friendly service. Our room was the premier luxury guestroom and it was wonderful. Comfortable bed, beautiful bathroom, robes, great coffee machine for that morning fix. You can't beat the location. There are a lot of restaurants and bars in the area. Close to subway line or streetcar. Other than the fact that breakfast was a little expensive, the weekend couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Excellent in everything. Concierge especially deserves big thanks for great service and friendliness. Gym is big an well equipped including a pool and a Jacuzzi, lockers, towels, water, even staff (not the case in all hotel gyms). Full buffet breakfast for just $22 includes even dim sum and delicious omelet. Dressing area in the room is so great! You can fit everything in there. I also liked the artworks in the room. Bathroom has a shower and a separate bath tub and floor heating. Free wifi throughout the hotel and a huge TV with plenty of channels to choose from (in case you want to sit in the room watching TV and miss all the great fun of Toronto). You can prepare coffee and tea for free in the room. Location is great as well with CN tower nearby, Queen St. and Chinatown within a walking distance, Eaton Center also not too far away. On the ground floor of the hotel there is a nice bar (a bit expensive though) and a new dim sum restaurant. Will definitely go again and will recommend to everyone.

Only thing for improvement in my opinion are the pillows which were too thick. The hotel should change one of them to a thinner/softer one that is more suitable for European standards.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The Soho Met is a great hotel in the city centre area of Toronto. CN Tower views from the window and only a 5 min walk. The hotel upgraded us and the room was absolutely superb, and very reasonable on cost. Heated bathroom floor, hi grade sound system in the room, electric curtains and a big TV to watch (didn't really use though!). Staff were very friendly and helpful and went out their way to ensure our stay was as comfortable as possible, The location was fantastic, just a few mins walk from the harbour, CN Tower, shopping area and several over key attractions. Restaurants of every type and budget just 2-5 mins walk away. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend this hotel, particularly for couples. Close proximity to Roger Stadium (Baselball) or Air Canada Stadium (Basketball) only a short walk away. We took in the Blue Jays on one night, but sadly lost to Baltimore! I got the hat though!! The hotel was very convenient and backed up with stylish rooms, very clean and excellent customer service. Watch out for the $30 per night garage parking though.

Room Tip: Parking $30 per night, so budget for this, and restaurants are plentiful two minutes walk away in Ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
444 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The SoHo Metropolitan has become our go-to hotel for all trips to Toronto, which we make a number of times a year. On our most recent stay last month, all of superlatives I noted in my previous two reviews of this property still applied (see links below), so rather than repeat myself, I will comment on a significant change that has increased the attractiveness of the hotel still further, namely the opening on the ground level (just through the lounge/bar) of its new Chinese restaurant, Luckee. Reservations are a must for dining in the attractive restaurant space, but Luckee also provides items for the room-service menu. The quality of the food is definitely above the average for the genre (don't pass on any of the dumplings!), and though the menu is neither as extensive nor adventurous as at a traditional dim sum restaurant, the hardcore fan can at least find chicken's feet! We had brunch there the week after the restaurant opened, and it was still experiencing teething pains—the very young serving staff mixed up our orders with those of other diners, and a couple of dishes we ordered never materialised. The restaurant manager was ever present, obviously committed to the success of this new enterprise, so I have no doubt that these shortcomings will swiftly become a thing of the past.

Whenever we stay at the SoHo Metropolitan we reserve a Premier Luxury room for the extra space and excellent entertainment system. At too many hotels the in-room movies suffer from poor picture quality (noise, snow, incorrect aspect ratio, etc.), but here the high-quality 42" flatscreen TVs provide crisp, vibrant images.

Over the years we have been staying at this property there has been no visible deterioration in the cleanliness, furnishings, or service; on the contrary, the hotel still feels brand new and everything just plain works ... no fuss, no muss. Recommended without hesitation.

Room Tip: Premier Luxury rooms are worth the extra money for their space and amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WMarkR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SoHo Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SoHo Metropolitan

Property: SoHo Metropolitan
Address: 318 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3T4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#10 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#16 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — SoHo Metropolitan 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SoHo Metropolitan Hotel is simply Toronto's finest, whether you call it a luxury, boutique or design hotel. At once supremely indulgent and artfully subdued, the hotel affectionately dubbed "SoHo Met" is a vibrant scene unto itself. From inspired culinary creations and rejuvenating spa treatments to advanced in-room technologies and innovative business services, a limitless range of sophisticated pleasures awaits you. Whether you are staying for just a weekend or weeks on end, you will quickly realize that one does more than stay at the SoHo Met ... one lives it. The moment you set foot upon the marble floors of the SoHo Metropolitan Hotel in Toronto, you enter a world of exquisite delights and unparalleled convenience, where the hotel's commitment to service and personal attention exceed all expectations. The three story, loft-style penthouse suite and 92 oversized, luxurious guestrooms and suites represent the very epitome of SoHo Metropolitan style. European natural down duvets and triple Italian bed linens grace the luxurious king-size beds. When it's time to say good night, use the smart technology to adjust lighting, motorized draperies and do-not-disturb light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SoHo Metropolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Metropolitan Toronto
Soho Metropolitan Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing