We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Perfect.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SoHo Metropolitan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SoHo Metropolitan
Ranked #23 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Markham
2 reviews
“Simply Perfect.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2009

This hotel blew us away. We stayed here on our wedding night as our honeymoon was to be at a later date and we could not believe how wonderful this place was! Full marble heated bathroom floors, 550sq ft room, wardrobe area etc. The staff was extremely polite from the booking (through email) to our check out. On our second night, after returning from dinner, they had gave us champagne, chocolate strawberries and put on some romantic music to play throughout the room. You might pay a bit more here ... but in the end you get a lot more!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fragilityg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    158
    32
    13
    19
See reviews for
42
294
30
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2009

I must say that this is a great place and the price is decent. I stayed in the Luxury Room with one king bed , over 450 square feet, a full marble bathroom with heated floor and soaker tub, plus an iPod docking station and high-speed internet access. I must say comparing the prices of other hotels around Toronto it is very reasonable. The other hotels may advertise lower prices but it is for a smaller room.

I was orgionally intending to stay at Hotel St. Germain and reserved it- but noticed from reviews on trip advisor that two clubs on the street made it a very noisy location for a hotel. If I pay for a hotel, I will pay extra for quality and quiet and the soho met my expectations. The third floor was a great and the view was of the CN tower and rodgers center (formally known as the skydome).

The one thing I liked about this location is it is a very quiet street and it is very quiet within the hotel. The noise does travel though but normal and stopped at 10pm.

I was not able to eat at the bakery or restaurante so am not able to give review or advice on that subject. The service was excellent and the bellmen gave excellent help on location/directions to visit and gave a map of Toronto to assist. The cleaning service was excellent and the rooms had been thoroughly cleaned plus the hotel offered a turndown service . It was a decent size room with wonderful large bathroom and soaker tub-I would not hesitate to go back.

I would say Go 2 SOHO and you will have a great experience..

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarlett26ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2009

I have stayed at The SoHo Met on several occasions. I always enjoy every moment.

The rooms are spotless and stylishly contemporary. Sen5es restaurant offers great in-room dining. The staff is always helpful and friendly. I love the Dale Chihuly glass sculpture as you enter the lobby. The hotel is located within a short distance of the popular King West/Queen West villages filled with funky shopping and dining, the CN Tower and harbour, the convention center, Chinatown or the Theater district.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gobyboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2009

My family and I stayed in the SoHo's rather unique residential section for seven months after returning to Canada from many years in Asia. It certainly wasn't the least expensive extended stay accommodation in town, but we didn't mind paying a premium for what we came to be convinced is by far the best hotel service quality in Toronto. The staff – which made every effort to get to know us personally – is really terrific: friendly people, interesting personalities, well-trained, articulate and intelligent, responsive plus prompt. Indeed, speed is one special stand-out characteristic of the SoHo: anything we asked for – no matter how difficult or unusual – was dealt with in an ultra-fast solutions-focused manner. This was just one of the ways in which we felt that the SoHo team – which seemed to suffer low turnover during our long stay – went the extra mile to let us know that our business was valued, and this attitude extended from junior entry-level staff to the senior management of the property. A couple of other positive points worth noting: the bright Senses bakery has a great breakfast with fresh, high quality food (including fun touches like dim sum); the vibrant Senses ‘scene bar’ makes the best martini in Toronto and the people who work there are off-the-scale when it comes to providing sophisticated service; and the engineering/ maintenance team is the best I’ve seen in any hotel (they know how to fix just about anything and even assembled our toddler son’s baby crib). While the SoHo is clearly a trendy and ‘cool’ modern property, even though we had a baby in tow nobody gave us a negative vibe and we would describe the hotel as family-friendly. About the only discordant note from our stay was the lack of attention to detail on some billing matters but this didn’t detract from our overall positive experience.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Homat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkville
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2008

Great hotel. Staff very courteous and nice. Nice lobby and the bakery was good. If you book the luxury, the 450sqf half is the bathroom, nicest bathroom I have ever seen. Highly reccomend, especially if going to Rogers Centre.

  • Liked — Bathroom
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LuxuryLover129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2008

fantastic hotel . i was here on business and the hotel is a nice home away from home. Bedroom is great and bathrrom is wonderfull with a great bath and walk in shower.

I have stayed here many times and cannot recommend it highly enough. I will be back soon.

  • Liked — the bathroom
  • Disliked — room service for breakfast whoch was very expensive and not great
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nicknesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
241 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2008

I stayed here with my husband for five nights on a trip that started out as a family visit, but quickly became a business trip as well. This hotel was perfect for both. Staff were very welcoming at check in and extremely helpful throughout our stay.
The rooms are spacious, the beds large and comfortable, there is plenty of hanging and storage space and the bathrooms are huge and very well appointed (exactly like the Four Seasons in New York if you know that one). We booked at a very reasonable rate through booking.com.
The location is convenient, easy walking distance from the CN Tower and lots of shopping, but not right in the middle of things so the street is quiet and it's a good location to pick up a cab and easy for cars to wait there.
Last Monday morning, with no notice at all, the Business Centre (thank you again, Carmen) accepted two large documents by email and printed out four colour copies in minutes, delivering them in record time. This is the best and most efficient service I have ever had from a hotel business centre anywhere in the world.
If I have any gripes it is that the bakery (the informal restaurant) is a little small and feels very exposed with glass walls on two sides. They really must buy new teapots - if you order tea there there is no way of avoiding having most of it on the table!
If I ever return to Toronto, I will definitely stay in the Soho Metropolitan.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Moth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Toronto
Hotel Le Germain Toronto
#10 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SoHo Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SoHo Metropolitan

Property: SoHo Metropolitan
Address: 318 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3T4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#16 Business Hotel in Toronto
#18 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — SoHo Metropolitan 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SoHo Metropolitan Hotel is simply Toronto's finest, whether you call it a luxury, boutique or design hotel. At once supremely indulgent and artfully subdued, the hotel affectionately dubbed "SoHo Met" is a vibrant scene unto itself. From inspired culinary creations and rejuvenating spa treatments to advanced in-room technologies and innovative business services, a limitless range of sophisticated pleasures awaits you. Whether you are staying for just a weekend or weeks on end, you will quickly realize that one does more than stay at the SoHo Met ... one lives it. The moment you set foot upon the marble floors of the SoHo Metropolitan Hotel in Toronto, you enter a world of exquisite delights and unparalleled convenience, where the hotel's commitment to service and personal attention exceed all expectations. The three story, loft-style penthouse suite and 92 oversized, luxurious guestrooms and suites represent the very epitome of SoHo Metropolitan style. European natural down duvets and triple Italian bed linens grace the luxurious king-size beds. When it's time to say good night, use the smart technology to adjust lighting, motorized draperies and do-not-disturb light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your SoHo Metropolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Metropolitan Toronto
Soho Metropolitan Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing