We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostelling International Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Hostelling International Toronto is a really nice place. I slept there with my girlfriend for 4 nights. We spent two nights in a private room (double bed) and two nights more in a 4-beds room. Every thing is clean. There is a locker in every room and beds are comfortable. The hostel is close to King's station and not far from the Union Station where you can take suburban buses. People who are working there are lovely and helpful. Either the breakfast or the dinner is included in the price (you choose), and the food is good.

Room Tip: Private rooms are very nice and not expansive at all. But you have to book them early (3 or 4 weeks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nico G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 164 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Comfortable beds, pillows were a bit rubbish, safe and secure hostel in a great location. A good bar if not a bit pricy but good food. Bar staff got drunk on Australia Day then closed the full bar early due to a system fault which was total rubbish but good up until then. Hostel provides lots of trips and activities. Good social area, wifi could be better but lots using it. The heating in the rooms was VERY loud but couldn't turn it off as it was -20C outside. overall good stay, could be improved by free brekky for all

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank Dandrews101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Travelling alone, I found there a very friendly, welcoming place. If you're afraid about cleanliness in hostels, do not worry, this one's perfect. The common room is perfect to meet the other travelers and do not miss he Cavern, at the basement, where you can share a breakfast or play drinking games. This is definitely a must-go place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed here for 10 days throughout January 2014. The hostel is very good. The beds are great, the rooms are warm and basic toiletries are provided. The staff were all very good to us and were helpful upon check in and in helping us to organise things to do. The daily activities are very good, however not many people really participate. The location is very good. It is within walking distance to all the major attractions (CN Tower, Steamwhistle Brewery etc). The fact that you get food vouchers is excellent and the food in the Cavern is good quality. The Cavern is what you make of it. I have stayed in hostels with better bars, but this one is not bad by any stretch. I would certainly recommend staying at this hostel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed here for one night as part of an organised tour in December 2013.

As we were part of a group, we were dropped off right outside the hostel and the vans were parked relatively nearby. We were allocated mixed dorms on check-in, so 3 of our group (all guys) shared in a 6-dorm room (mixed gender) on the 2nd floor. We were given a towel and bed linen on check-in.

There's only one lift so be prepared to wait at peak times. Our room was at the end of the hall so didn't hear any noise from other rooms during our stay. There was a locker room on our floor to store your bag in, which was good as our room didn't have a lot of space with all the bunks and other people's cases. There was also a small set of lockers in the room to keep smaller things too. Each bunk had a shelf, with plug and light so whether you're on the top or bottom bunk, you always have at least one charging point and somewhere to put your things while you're in bed, which is brilliant. The mattresses were good quality as was the furniture in the rooms and everything was spotless - the towel and bed linen that were provided were also clean.

Our room was an en suite, so had one bathroom for the 6 of us. Having said that, the sink was outside the bathroom, so someone could brush their teeth / do their hair etc. while someone else was in the bathroom itself. The shower was good, plenty of hot water and good water pressure. The bathroom wasn't the biggest nor the most modern but there weren't any cracked tiles or anything and it was very clean. The room was warm even in December.

The hostel has a good sized lobby, with a security door, as well as the one on your room, which gives good piece of mind. There are a few sofas and a pool table downstairs, plus some boardgames and stuff. The wifi only worked downstairs for us but the range was good on the ground floor and basement and the speed was fast. The patio was closed but The Cavern was open - they have an okay selection of drinks - not the cheapest but alcohol seems to be dearer in Canada - would recommend the hobo (3 shots of spirit and mixer in a jam jar).

Location-wise, the hostel's about in the middle of Queen's or King's on the Metro, so you can get to either station in about 5 minutes (depending on how much snow / ice there is!). We only stayed for one night, so didn't take part in any of the organised events but there seemed to be plenty of them.

Overall, a nice modern hostel, with good facilities that's well located - it's not the biggest hostel in the world but that isn't always a bad thing!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheLush101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Friendly welcoming staff. Good location. Got an upgrade on our room which was great! Breakfast was very yummy. Definitely book the open bus tour (Scott Pilgrim set locations along the way) /Niagara falls ticket at reception - you save money. There are also good ticket deals for NBA and ice hockey games.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I stayed in a private room with my boyfriend for 35 nights. As you can see, we have a long time experience in the hostel and all I can say is that it was just perfect. The room was very clean (they came every day to take the garbage and often cleaned the floor, the shower and the sink).
The staff was just perfect! Couldn't have been better! Always there to help and to do whatever was needed.
The meals from the Cavern were awesome and so worthy! Remember to use the meal vouchers you get!
The location was THE BEST! Close to subway stations, meal places (there's a frozen food store really close that you can make great deals!), Street Car and bus stops and also attractions of the city (everything is really close by walking).
They also have a common kitchen that you can use to cook and keep your food, a pool table, some games at the Cavern area, nice shots on the bar, lockers (don't forget to get a padlock for it: they don't offer it!), a laundry service for 24 hours, a patio for the summer days, a great view of the city and some great things to do every day (some are for free!).
If you have any doubt about choosing HI Toronto, just come, please. You'll have no regret!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MayaraAbreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#46 of 137 in Toronto
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#35 of 137 in Toronto
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International Toronto

Address: 76 Church St, Toronto, Ontario M5C 2G1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Toronto
Price Range: £19 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostelling International Toronto 1.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Toronto, HI-Toronto is steps away from local attractions like the Hockey Hall of Fame, CN Tower, Air Canada Centre, Rogers Centre and Distillery District, and just minutes away from major shopping districts like the Eaton Centre and Queen West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Hostelling International Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International Toronto Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing