We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh Canada!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostelling International Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Oh Canada!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Spent 6 nights at HI from 18th-24th April this year. Stayed in a 6 bed dorm which although a little small, was comfortable and the en suite bathroom was an added bonus. Beds were fine, if a little squeaky and the room was kept in good condition.

Downstairs the communal washrooms on floors 3 and 4 are kept clean and well looked after. However, as with most hostels you need a bit of luck to walk straight into a free shower. Small storage lockers are available within each dorm, while larger facilities are found on the 2nd floor. We had our own padlocks, but I think you can buy these at reception if required.

The Cavern bar provides a decent breakfast and dinner selection. We received free meal tickets within our package, but were surprised to find not all items on the menu are included - for example only tea and coffee were free of charge in the morning, while orange juice cost an additional $2.

Most evenings were themed with Comedy, Games and Live Music main events. Drinks are reasonably priced and the Jalapeno shots provide an added kick! However, while there is always a good atmosphere and the staff are very friendly, it can become cramped with the
low ceilings and compact seating areas. The other downside is because they want to make the bar a success, subsequent bar crawls and organized nights out are now no longer provided which makes it a little harder to meet new people.

However, the hostel provides daily tours/packages you can join and sign up to. These include sporting events, open top bus rides and the opportunity to venture further afield to Niagara Falls etc...Reception staff were very accommodating, especially Rebekah and were always available to provide further information on eateries, night life areas and prices for activities.

HI is in a decent location, slightly off the main city centre with all major landmarks within walking distance. For example the CN Tower is about a 20 minute walk, while the main shopping area is nearer 15. Trams run throughout the day and cabs are very easy to flag down. They are not expensive, especially if you're part of a group. Highly recommend the Jack Astor's pub at the bottom of the road also - good food and the female servers provide excellent eye candy!

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and received value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    176
    68
    17
    10
See reviews for
8
35
237
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have stayed at 4 HI Hostels in North America (Ottawa, Montreal, and Washington D.C) and this one was not too shabby.

Stayed for a month with the Mrs. and was hooked up with a sweet deal in a private room.

Positives:
- Staff in all departments were very friendly and helpful
- The beds were very comfortable and room was quite clean
- The bar has very cheap drinks and tax is included into the advertised price which was straight forward. Great place for local live comedy and music too.
- great kitchen facilities.
- The location of the hostel is awesome as it is a quick walk to the market, downtown area, the underground path (for the snowy days) and also very close to the trams and the subway.

Negatives
- Wifi is terrible. In my room i had to stand by the door to access it and it was as fast as dial up. Had to sit in the common room to use it at a decent speed. Don't even try to use Skype. No chance.
- The common room had little to no atmosphere. No body talks! Its creepy...
- Quite a few dodgy characters stayed in the hostel so i was happy to have my own private room.

To sum up good experience however after staying at Montreal HI Hostel this place could do with a few improvements.

Room Tip: Rooms on floors 5 and upwards are quieter. Less foot traffic. Go to Toronto in the summer. Winter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muelsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Hostelling International Toronto is a really nice place. I slept there with my girlfriend for 4 nights. We spent two nights in a private room (double bed) and two nights more in a 4-beds room. Every thing is clean. There is a locker in every room and beds are comfortable. The hostel is close to King's station and not far from the Union Station where you can take suburban buses. People who are working there are lovely and helpful. Either the breakfast or the dinner is included in the price (you choose), and the food is good.

Room Tip: Private rooms are very nice and not expansive at all. But you have to book them early (3 or 4 weeks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nico G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Comfortable beds, pillows were a bit rubbish, safe and secure hostel in a great location. A good bar if not a bit pricy but good food. Bar staff got drunk on Australia Day then closed the full bar early due to a system fault which was total rubbish but good up until then. Hostel provides lots of trips and activities. Good social area, wifi could be better but lots using it. The heating in the rooms was VERY loud but couldn't turn it off as it was -20C outside. overall good stay, could be improved by free brekky for all

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Dandrews101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Travelling alone, I found there a very friendly, welcoming place. If you're afraid about cleanliness in hostels, do not worry, this one's perfect. The common room is perfect to meet the other travelers and do not miss he Cavern, at the basement, where you can share a breakfast or play drinking games. This is definitely a must-go place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed here for 10 days throughout January 2014. The hostel is very good. The beds are great, the rooms are warm and basic toiletries are provided. The staff were all very good to us and were helpful upon check in and in helping us to organise things to do. The daily activities are very good, however not many people really participate. The location is very good. It is within walking distance to all the major attractions (CN Tower, Steamwhistle Brewery etc). The fact that you get food vouchers is excellent and the food in the Cavern is good quality. The Cavern is what you make of it. I have stayed in hostels with better bars, but this one is not bad by any stretch. I would certainly recommend staying at this hostel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
344 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed here for one night as part of an organised tour in December 2013.

As we were part of a group, we were dropped off right outside the hostel and the vans were parked relatively nearby. We were allocated mixed dorms on check-in, so 3 of our group (all guys) shared in a 6-dorm room (mixed gender) on the 2nd floor. We were given a towel and bed linen on check-in.

There's only one lift so be prepared to wait at peak times. Our room was at the end of the hall so didn't hear any noise from other rooms during our stay. There was a locker room on our floor to store your bag in, which was good as our room didn't have a lot of space with all the bunks and other people's cases. There was also a small set of lockers in the room to keep smaller things too. Each bunk had a shelf, with plug and light so whether you're on the top or bottom bunk, you always have at least one charging point and somewhere to put your things while you're in bed, which is brilliant. The mattresses were good quality as was the furniture in the rooms and everything was spotless - the towel and bed linen that were provided were also clean.

Our room was an en suite, so had one bathroom for the 6 of us. Having said that, the sink was outside the bathroom, so someone could brush their teeth / do their hair etc. while someone else was in the bathroom itself. The shower was good, plenty of hot water and good water pressure. The bathroom wasn't the biggest nor the most modern but there weren't any cracked tiles or anything and it was very clean. The room was warm even in December.

The hostel has a good sized lobby, with a security door, as well as the one on your room, which gives good piece of mind. There are a few sofas and a pool table downstairs, plus some boardgames and stuff. The wifi only worked downstairs for us but the range was good on the ground floor and basement and the speed was fast. The patio was closed but The Cavern was open - they have an okay selection of drinks - not the cheapest but alcohol seems to be dearer in Canada - would recommend the hobo (3 shots of spirit and mixer in a jam jar).

Location-wise, the hostel's about in the middle of Queen's or King's on the Metro, so you can get to either station in about 5 minutes (depending on how much snow / ice there is!). We only stayed for one night, so didn't take part in any of the organised events but there seemed to be plenty of them.

Overall, a nice modern hostel, with good facilities that's well located - it's not the biggest hostel in the world but that isn't always a bad thing!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLush101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#45 of 136 in Toronto
2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#39 of 136 in Toronto
1,777 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International Toronto

Property: Hostelling International Toronto
Address: 76 Church St, Toronto, Ontario M5C 2G1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostelling International Toronto 1.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Toronto, HI-Toronto is steps away from local attractions like the Hockey Hall of Fame, CN Tower, Air Canada Centre, Rogers Centre and Distillery District, and just minutes away from major shopping districts like the Eaton Centre and Queen West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hostelling International Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International Toronto Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing