We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic and Stylish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer
Ranked #10 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2011

This is the second time we've stayed at le Germain and we certainly weren't disappointed. If you are sick of standard hotel rooms and are interested in style and design you'll love this hotel. The staff is young and helpful and the breakfast bar contains fresh and healthy selections.

This will be our hotel of choice any time we are in Toronto and we are anxious to try their hotels in Montreal and Quebec.


  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bic20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (927)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

714 - 720 of 927 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

We recently returned from a trip to Toronto and stayed at the Le Germain on Mercer St. (I mention the street name only because there is a second Le Germain Maple Leaf.) It was an absolutely great, great hotel. Before we even got there the concierges Anne helped us get a reservation at a top restaurant in Toronto, when I was told I would not be able to. She also sent me information on other restaurants and attractions and which tour company they were familiar with for our day trip to Niagra Falls. Every staff member had a smile and were always happy to help us and answer any questions.
The hotel itself, is on a side street, the rooms are well appointed, the king size bed was very comfortable, the rain shower was great, plenty of storage space for our items. Fitness center and putting green available upstairs, and in the library there was a coffee/cappuccino/hot chocolate machine that was easy to use and delicious. The hotel is located in the entertainment district of the city. We were able to walk to the CN Tower and the Hippo Tours on our first day there. We also walked to St. Lawrence Market and the Steam Whitsle Brewery. Starbucks was just around the corner. Very conviently located to everything!!
We would definetly not hesitate to come here again or recommend this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CATCHMEBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

My partner and I arrived in Toronto for our 5 day vacation, never having been there before, we were excited to begin our journey. We were excited partly because we had already had assistance from the Concierge at the hotel, who was able to get us the perfect reservation time at Canoe Restaurant. When calling on our own, they only offered late night openings and when we explained this to the Concierge, she had the reservation made and sent to us via email within 2 hours! Each and every time we called with questions prior to our trip, they were more than helpful, and always went the extra mile! We knew at that point that we had chosen the right hotel.

From the moment our car dropped us at the door of Le Germain on Mercer Street, the stay was fantastic, and on a scale of 1-10, it is a perfect 20! The hotel is tucked away on a small side street with minimal traffic, but close in proximity to everything a tourist wants to see when visiting Toronto. The staff greeted us with a huge smile and welcome at 9:00 am, when we arrived, which was very early considering rooms are not normally available until afternoon. Not this time...... our room was ready and waiting. We were given our room keys and all the information we would need to know. Our questions were answered, and then some! If we didn't know where to connect with transportation or wanted more information about a tourist attraction, they went out of their way to provide us with whatever we needed, such as, telling us the streetcar and trains only take exact change, and they offered to make change for us. The staff always made sure we were all set with maps and anything else prior to venturing out of the hotel on tours, or sightseeing.

They have a wonderful library area where you can relax and have a cup of coffee from their Espresso/Coffee/Hot Chocolate Machine. All the staples needed for your coffee were always well stocked. The first day we arrived, we just wanted to see the library and walked up the stairs to the area. The coffee machine had an "out of order" sign placed on it, not that we wanted a cup at that moment, however we did stop at the desk to let them know. The staff responded right away with "we are so sorry and we will have someone come and repair it right now". We were taken aback by the prompt response and desire to please their customers! By the way, when we got back later that day, the machine was repaired! Out of all of the hotels we have been to, I would have to say this one has employed the most customer pleasing staff I have seen thus far. They really NEVER said no, or I don't know.

The rooms were beautiful, clean, and so unique. The bed was like a piece of heaven! The housekeeping staff were also wonderful, very friendly, and always willing to please. We asked for bottles of water and each day they were left in our room, we never had to ask again. You were made to feel like you were the only guests staying at the hotel. I know the hotel was very busy that week-end because there was a wedding party staying there, but if we had not been told that, we would have never known. You are treated like royalty. If we have the chance to visit Toronto again, we would choose Le Germain and would definitely recommend it to anyone who asks. Thank you to the whole staff of Le Germain for making our first stay in Toronto a wonderful memory!!

Room Tip: If you want a tub in addition to a rain shower, you need to request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2beafoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

I chose this hotel based on trip advisor reviews but was disappointed with the quality of our room. The furniture was gouged and stained and the ceiling was in very poor condition.
The room was very quiet which was nice but overlooked an alley filled with garbage. The hotel staff was great and the room was very clean.
I thought it was overpriced and overrated as well.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SKA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

The hotel is ideally located for international visitors, as it is an easy walk from the Hyatt Regency Airport Express stop. It is close to Wayne Gretsky's bar and within easy access of some major attractions (CN Tower; Rogers Centre; Steam Brewery) as well as a number of theatres, and there's a good range of restaurants - for breakfast and dinner - close by. Although on first look it may not be too prepossessing, as it is adjacent to an empty lot used for parking and opposite a night club with roof terrace, inside it is cool and contemporary ( a look that is reflected in the bar, which looks very glamorous at night) and surprisingly peaceful.
Importantly, as we stayed here our first two nights in the country, following a midday flight form teh UK, our superior double room (and especially the bed) was very comfortable and plenty big enough. It featured a good sized and powerful shower (the Aveda toiletries are a nice touch, alongside good quality towels and bathrobe) and although the bathroom's glass wall initially felt a bit 'exposed', the floor to ceiling blind coordianted with the blind at the window and gave sufficient privacy while allowing natural light into the bathroom. A high quality Ipod dock and tv added to the feeling of urban chic.
The staff were very friendly and efficient - we needed our bedding changed on arrival, and housekeeping responded incredibly quickly.
At £160 a night, room only, it wasn't cheap, but it was worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veggiemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

I stayed at this small boutique hotel for a conference at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre. A previous very positive experience at Le Germain in Montreal led me to book this hotel. It is a mere 5 min walk to the Convention Centre, so very convenient. The room was beautiful and well appointed. The daily breakfast that was included was a lovely spread of a wide variety of items, delicious and plentiful! The service (check-in, breakfast, phone, room service) was consistently great. I phoned the reception on the second day to ask that the bathroom fan be looked at (because it had a faint but constant rattle to it and there was no switch to turn it off). It was quickly looked at by maintenance and couldn't be readily fixed so I was offered another room (an upgraded one) with apologies for the inconvenience. I hadn't made a big fuss about this either, because it was just mildly irritating. Of note, most of my colleagues stayed at the Royal York and Intercontinental (the 2 hotels recommended by our conference organizers). There was a huge Bollywood festival going on and they reported total chaos. Upon checkin at 4pm, some of their rooms weren't ready until after 10pm! There was excessive noise in and just outside these hotels until past 2:30 am a few nights in a row, so many of them were very sleep-deprived. Their hotels offered little in terms of apology or compensation. I felt very lucky in my lesser known, luxurious oasis just a few blocks away....

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucieF68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 July 2011

Dear Ms. LucieF68,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your lovely comment.

We pride ourselves in delivering the highest standard of service and I’m glad to see that we lived up to your expectations. I will make sure to pass on your comments to the rest of our team.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back shortly! And perhaps your colleagues too?


Sincerely,

Dino Gurusamy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I am a regular at Le Germain when I go on business trips to Toronto. I have stayed a few places but after Le Germain I wouldn't choose anywhere else. When on a business trip it is crucial to be at a hotel that you can sleep well. The rooms are super clean and the beds are super comfortable. I have actually considered purchasing one of their beds for my home. In addition, the breakfast is included and it's very good. There are all kinds of fruit, cereal, fresh juice, and the staff will make you a cappuccino if you so desire. I find the staff to be friendly and helpful. The other great thing about Le Germain is it's across the street from Second City (http://www.secondcity.com/). It's a great show and definitely worth checking out on an evening you don't have to work late!

Room Tip: Some rooms only have showers. Request a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Princessa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#7 of 137 in Toronto
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
#11 of 137 in Toronto
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer

Address: 30 Mercer Street, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1H3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#10 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#11 Family Hotel in Toronto
#13 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £198 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic experience Groupe Germain's philosophy is founded on elegance combined with authenticity. At Hotel Le Germain Toronto, no detail is overlooked to ensure your comfort and meet your needs. Under our roof, you'll find a home away from home. A local artistic flavour You'll enjoy the photographs of Toronto-based artist James Lahey. Tulips in full bloom brighten every room, while pictures of wispy clouds adorn the interior of the elevators. A welcome like no other Hotel Le Germain Toronto shares the same goal as all Le Germain Boutique-hotels: to create a comfortable and inviting atmosphere where the attentive and personalized service is accommodating yet never intrusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Germain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing