We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's about the people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer
Ranked #10 of 134 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's about the people”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

While the ambience of Hotel Le Germain was impeccable during our five-night stay in Toronto, including handsomely-appointed rooms, in-room expresso machine, a bowl of apples on the table, a mini-bar and extra fridge in the executive suite where we stayed, and filtered water right outside our door, our impression of the place was solidified by Jeffrey at the front desk, who was not only friendly but marvelously helpful in getting us settled in. When we found the junior suite we had booked to be a bit small for our needs, he arranged our stay in the executive suite which was nearly twice the size. That welcoming attitude was echoed by the rest of the staff during our stay, from room service to the breakfast room (especially Claudia and Rey), to the doormen who were always friendly and ready to help. And this review wouldn't be complete without throwing some praise to the chef and staff of Victor restaurant just off the lobby, where we had a 5-star meal that included tastings from many of Toronto's ethnic neighborhoods. We have stayed at trendy boutique hotels in New York and London, but none so friendly and service-oriented as Hotel Le Germain. When visiting Toronto in the future, we have found a home at this hotel.

Room Tip: Check Expedia during less busy times for less expensive rates. The seventh floor suites have accessi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    200
    57
    13
    13
See reviews for
85
354
44
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I was at the Le Germain in Toronto for 3 days for a meeting. The service was excellent, the rooms were more than comfortable and quiet. I did not go to the restaurant. Breakfast had hard boiled eggs, no gluten free bread , fresh fruit was available. Coffee was espresso or drip and was beyond reproach. The gym was bare bones and uninviting. The Totem gym is nearby, I found a class similar to cross fit , 22.00 for the day. The Lee restaurant is nearby and spectacular

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fel1x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I'm a Starwood guy, and I often stay at either the Sheraton or Westin in Toronto. But this was our anniversary, so I decided I'd like to try something different, so we stayed here. I booked a 15% of rate, and an upgraded, very spacious room. The hotel is lovely. A nice modern space with spacious rooms. There was no doorman/valet when we arrived which was unfortunate, and we had to wait at the front desk for a bit before being acknowledged -- which annoys me -- but otherwise it was a good stay. The breakfast, while nice, was nothing special. I'm not sure I'd pay twice the rate of the Sheraton to stay here on any regular basis (especailly given my SPG status), but it was nice for a treat. Very close to the Princess of Wales theatre and we had a terrific meal at LUMA as well. I dont' think you'll go wrong here if you don't mind spending the cash.

Room Tip: make sure you get a discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musicmansimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte- Brazil
Level Contributor
228 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Le Germain has big confortable rooms,nice decor, nice amenities , quiet room.
Location was excellent, two blocks from CN tower, close to waterfrtont and bars or restaurants.
Free drinking filtered water in corridor every floor.
This is an example for others hotels.
We don´t need to buy bottles of water outside hotel or pay expensive and small bottles of mineral water in minibar.
Also prevents environmental damage with water plastic bottles use.
Free internet.
Nice decor, in room and outside room.
Fiendly and helpful staff.
Free,24 hours, excellent gym.
Brekafast was very good, with assorted cheese , pastries,breads,smoked salmon.,juices,fruits, 6 kinds of granola, yogurts, etc.Full of health options
Impossible dont´like.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FRANCISCO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I was in Toronto for 5 nights on business and stayed here. I cant say enough good things about the hotel. The location is good, the staff are great and the whole vibe of the place is just civilised !.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinoGurusamy, Director Of Operations at Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Steve M,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay, our location within walking distance to the business district , along with complimentary wireless internet access and breakfast makes us an ideal choice for business travel. I will pass on your very nice comments to the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We have stayed at pretty much every hotel in the downtown core of Toronto. This was our first stay at Hotel Le Germain and I no longer want any other hotel. Every person from the door man to the desk clerk were always smiling and very friendly, in this day and age is at times hard to find. I would strongly recommend this hotel for your stay

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biarritz, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The lobby is awesome, food at the Victor restaurant excellent, rooms are spacious and comfortable. Only negative point, lighting in the rooms is poor.
Very convenient situation.
The staff is incredibly nice, helpful, they made us feel at home. Thanks to all of them.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimdesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 134 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer

Property: Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer
Address: 30 Mercer Street, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1H3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#10 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#11 Family Hotel in Toronto
#13 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic experience Groupe Germain's philosophy is founded on elegance combined with authenticity. At Hotel Le Germain Toronto, no detail is overlooked to ensure your comfort and meet your needs. Under our roof, you'll find a home away from home. A local artistic flavour You'll enjoy the photographs of Toronto-based artist James Lahey. Tulips in full bloom brighten every room, while pictures of wispy clouds adorn the interior of the elevators. A welcome like no other Hotel Le Germain Toronto shares the same goal as all Le Germain Boutique-hotels: to create a comfortable and inviting atmosphere where the attentive and personalized service is accommodating yet never intrusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Germain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing