We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy boutique hotel - my favourite when in Toronto”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer
Ranked #11 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy boutique hotel - my favourite when in Toronto”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

It makes me feel like home every time I come here, even though I'm on business. I love the spacious rooms, the comfy bed, the gigantic bathroom with the oh-so heavenly Molton Brown bath products. Brunch is nice, staff is ever so friendly and the location makes it easy to get around the city.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    206
    58
    13
    13
See reviews for
88
364
45
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We family of 4 and first time to Toronto stayed at Hotel Le Germain on a recommendation and loved it. The hotel was very comfortable. We loved the beds and robes were a nice touch. The breakfast was wonderful and the location couldn't have been more perfect near the CN Tower and Hockey Hall of Fame.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel makes a dated and somewhat "tired" impression. The wooden panels everywhere may have been stylish when it was built it can hardly stand the test of time. It may also be caused by the dark, stained tapestry we found in our room at the 6th floor. We booked two rooms, one with double bed for our daughters, one king side bed on the Northside for us, which was said to be quieter. Both were called "superior rooms" but actually these were just the standard rooms. The abundance of wood and the really outdated design of the lightning in the room as well as the rather worn out if not dirty tapestry make the hotel unattractive and all but "fashionable". Maybe this hotel was "hot" when it opened (don't know, wasn't here by then) but anno 2014 it is certainly not a "design hotel" anymore. The reception area is still somewhat attractive.

The rooms are rather small (we had a room at the end of the floor and were surprised by how very small the room was), so I asked for larger room. The other room that was shown to us was slightly larger but with a shower and bath (that is: standing in the bathtub while you shower, done't like that) so we decided to stay in the room at the 6th floor. Beds and pillows are comfortable, no comments here. However for the three days we never had turndown service at the end if the day. Every time we had to ask for extra towels (which were then quickly delivered). We had to call for slippers (tapestry is stained and worn out, no fun to walk on it barefoot) when they came they were too small. However the second room we had for our daughters did have renovated carpet.
If you are sentive to light coming in from morning daylight, as I am, there is a problem. The room has French shutters only, so no curtains, morning light comes in early, too early for a holiday stay and brightens the room.

The concierge as well as the reception staff and doormen are very kind and helpful. The breakfast is excellent.

All in all a rather dissapointing stay. Not for the experienced, spoiled, traveller. Went to Hazelton hotel for a (wonderful) lunch. Seems like a hotel I would definitively prefer over Le Germain.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I have stayed several times. It is always a pleasure. The location is excellent for a downtown Toronto visit. The decor and food also excellent. Its virtues are also its problems. For a glimpse of downtown condo life in a growing city - noise - street ripped up in front - mud - overlooking windows - are all available as well as seeing what it might be like to live in a well designed bachelor apartment with very few possessions and a concierge.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The room we stayed in was beautiful luxury king room with plenty of rooms for the three of us. We've stayed at the ACC Le Germain in the past and enjoyed that hotel very much so we figured we would try the sister location in Toronto as well. We were going to see One Direction at The Roger's Centre and Le Germain is only a couple blocks away from the venue. Easily within walking distance.

The parts that didn't please my wife and I were:

1) The amount of street noise you could hear from your hotel room. Right across the street from the hotel is a night club and the noise coming from the club was loud and intense right up until 2:00 AM. The hotel provides earplugs on the bedside table for a good reason. Without them, you'd have difficulty sleeping.

2) We requested a roll-away bed for our seven year and we were told they were all in use. We then requested extra sheets and pillows and were told they would be delivered in our room shortly. We left to go to the concert and when we arrived back, there wasn't any extra sheets and pillows waiting for us. We called the front desk and were told they were out of extra sheets and pillows but hey had managed to find a roll-away bed for us at a cost of $35.00. My wife said no thank you and she would manage without the roll-away bed and the extra sheets. A few minutes later, the front desk did call back and said they would not charge us for the use of the roll-away bed and that it would be brought up to our room immediately. The biggest concern here is, a boutique hotel should never run out of extra sheets and pillows. Those are the little things you expect to always have available at a boutique hotel.

The staff were very pleasant at all times and the hotel is in a great part of the city. If you can put up with the extreme amount of street noise that will disturb your sleep until 2:00 AM, this is the hotel for you.

The complimentary breakfast located on the mezzanine level is a great way to start your day.

Room Tip: Street noise is the most I've ever experienced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Joe L,

I would like to apologize for the experience you and your family had this past weekend at our hotel. We have typically had good cooperation from our neighbours in adjusting the noise levels after 11:00 pm to accomodate for our guests. This was obviously not the case during your stay and I will follow up with them to ensure that their operation does not disturb our guests.

It was our internal communication process that failed in having the requested sheets and pillows set up for your return. Please know that this is not indicative of the level of service we are able to provide.

I would very much appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further with you and invite you to contact me directly at pdeladurantaye@germaintoronto.com.

I hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,

Paul de La Durantaye
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I would love to give this hotel a five as it is one of the nicest hotels I have ever been to. The design and decor are brilliant and the staff are very friendly, BUT...... Previous to our arrival I sent an e- mail requesting a quiet room as I read some reviews that stated that there might be some noise. We were given a VERY nice room with plenty of space for an extra bed for our son. We then sat on the small rooftop terrace to enjoy the views and our choice of hotel. So far, so good.... In the night when we returned to our room, we could not believe the noise. There are at least two rooftop nightclubs just opposite the main entrance of the hotel in Mercer Street. The music is so loud that you think you are right in the middle of the club. We waited until 1 am expecting the music to stop as it is a residential area with lots of flats around it. Due to the high buildings around the clubs, the sound echoes even more! We phoned reception and were told that the clubs are open until at least 3.30 am. We were offered to change rooms the next day. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite which strangely enough is smaller than the Luxury King Size we had before. We asked for the extra bed to be brought over and left the hotel for a day trip. We returned after midnight to find no extra bed in the room but a complimentary bottle of wine and an apology message for the noise disturbance. We phoned the night porter and were told that a message had been left that the extra bed would not fit into this type of room because of fire regulations. We could not find the message. We then asked for an extra blanket for our son to be able to sleep on the sofa. It took longer than 1 hour and going down to reception again to receive the blanket. By this time it was 2 in the morning and we were desperate to sleep as we did not sleep very well the first night due to the noise. We were looking forward to a long lay in but were woken at 7.45 am with a wake up call which we did not request. This was really the last straw... A lady phoned to explain about the fire regulations and the problem with the extra bed. She apologised and told us that we would not be charged for the extra bed for our first night nor the parking. Lots of these problems could have easily been avoided by taking a bit more care in allocating rooms. If you want to sleep, make sure your room does not face Mercer Street!

Room Tip: If you want to sleep, don't have room onto Mercer St. Also inquire if your room type is availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear KatMaNe,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and I appreaciate your kind words about the friendliness of our staff and the design and decor of our hotel.

I do want to apologize for the frustration you experienced beginning with the noise from the street. We have worked closely with our neighbours to reduced the noise level after 11:00 pm and have had good cooperation in the past. This was obviously not the case on this particular evening and I will follow up.

Our internal communication in order to have everything ready for your new room obviously did not play out as any of us would have liked. We will review as a team how we could have ensured that the change be as seemless as possible for you and your family to simply enjoy a good night's sleep after a long day.

I would appreciate the opportunity in discussing this with you further and invite you to contact me directly at pdeladurantaye@germaintoronto.com.

Sincerly,

Paul de La Durantaye
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The room was modern & well appointed. It was smaller than the typical hotel room found in the upper tier American hotels but I prefer the ambience of smaller rooms & it was designed cleverly to make efficient use of space. I was reminded of the boutique hotels in Paris and Munich. Really comfortable bed, spacious walk-in shower. I was on 14th floor which was quiet. Enjoyed the "Nescafe" machine. The free breakfast was very good. Service = impeccable. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#10 of 136 in Toronto
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer

Property: Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer
Address: 30 Mercer Street, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1H3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#10 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#11 Family Hotel in Toronto
#13 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic experience Groupe Germain's philosophy is founded on elegance combined with authenticity. At Hotel Le Germain Toronto, no detail is overlooked to ensure your comfort and meet your needs. Under our roof, you'll find a home away from home. A local artistic flavour You'll enjoy the photographs of Toronto-based artist James Lahey. Tulips in full bloom brighten every room, while pictures of wispy clouds adorn the interior of the elevators. A welcome like no other Hotel Le Germain Toronto shares the same goal as all Le Germain Boutique-hotels: to create a comfortable and inviting atmosphere where the attentive and personalized service is accommodating yet never intrusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Germain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing