We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“... Sublime ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A Seaton Dream B & B
Ranked #13 of 118 Toronto B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 December 2011

My 13 year old son and I were lucky enough to stay in this lovely B&B at the end of October, early November this year. Not only were we able to experience the wonder that is a Canadian Halloween (where all the houses in this pretty street were decked out in gothic splendor, ready to welcome the groups of mini ghosts, goblins, pirates and princesses), but we were also lucky to be there during an unseasonably warm spell - November in Toronto and nearly 20 degrees! What's that about!
We had the best time exploring this lovely city and (with the assistance of our delightful hosts) even finding cool places that interested the fussy 13 year old! The house is so central, that we were within walking distance of many of the City's attractions.
Would I recommend staying at this B&B? Absolutely - it was delightful. Rooms are so clean, uncluttered and spacious and the on suite bathrooms are gorgeous. The breakfasts were sublime (Jamie prides himself on never making the same breakfast for the same guest twice! That is almost above and beyond!)

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2011

A Seaton Dream is one of the finest B&Bs I have ever enjoyed. The property is very well appointed and features a garden oasis in the back yard. Despite being over a century old, the B&B has been renovated with impressive modern amenities. Yet, the house still retains the charm of yesteryear.

Positives include:

- the wonderful host, Allan, who is gracious, warm, and charming. He was kind enough to give us extra time on the day of our departure
- hearty gourmet breakfast was tummy-filling and perfect start to the day
- the bathroom in our room, The West Wing, was outstanding. The sink and huge bathtub are stunning. Nice towels and lighting too, and we appreciated the tasteful built-in shampoo, conditioner, and body wash dispenser.
- decor and aesthetics are first rate
- location: Cabbaggetown is one of Toronto's oldest and most charming neighbourhoods. Seaton St is classic Cabbagetown; rows of Victorian era, wooden porch homes and townhouses on a quiet, tree-lined oasis

Negatives include:

-Noise bleed. This is an old house and not a hotel, so noise easily travels up through the walls and floors. We could easily hear conversations in the living room, and the stairwell is also noisy, due to the echoes off the lovely wooden floors. A floor runner would help alleviate some of this ambient noise.

-Location: the B&B is actually located on the southwest fringe of Cabbagetown; meaning that it is bordered on the west by Regent Park, by the south by Moss Park, and by the north by St James Town, all primarily populated by low-income residents living in social housing. There are many homeless people congregating in these neighbourhoods. Guests from other large cities (Montreal, Chicago, New York, etc.) will barely blink an eye but I think it is important to honestly point out that the 15-minute walk from the B&B to Dundas Square/Yonge Street is quite dodgy, especially at night.

Overall this is an impressive B&B and I do certainly recommend it, despite some of the negatives I mentioned above. The highlights definitely outrank the lowlights and with good sense and the right planning you would be hard-pressed to find a better B&B in Toronto.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank sgkca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Lovely B&B - nice modern facilities, quiet street and a great breakfast. Thank you Alan for being such a lovely host with 2 great breakfasts, excellent local suggestion for dinner. Look forward to coming again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank NK_2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Spent two nights, Alan was a perfect host (Jamie was away). He was extremely welcoming and helpful (insisted on carrying our two heavy suitcases upstairs), gave us good advice on sightseeing and local restaurants - and can he cook a great breakfast! Our room (West Wing) was charming and modernised (the house is 102 years old) , clean and well appointed. Just a short walk to the city centre. And a short walk to lots of great restaurants. Check out The House of Parliament for upmarket pub-fare. Wouldn't hesitate to go back to A Seaton Dream and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: West Wing has a street view, and is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank BMLNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

It is always a happy dream to stay at the Seaton Dream. Jamie is a most accomodating host who will take care of any situation - meal preferences, room, directions to attractions, restaurant advisory. We have stayed here often and have never been disappointed with our accomodations or the friendliness of Jamie and Alan. Cheers, gentlemen, we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank Rideauskater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Inn was warm, friendly and comfortable. Host Jamie was most welcoming and helpful with information about the neighborhood, places to see, etc.

Room Tip: West wing was comfortable; bathroom luxurious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
31  Thank pearl0731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

This was our second time at A Seaton Dream and three years after our previous stay, we were delighted to see that everything was wonderfully the same. A Seaton Dream is truly "a home away from home". Jamie and Alan could not be more welcoming, charming hosts, and will go way out of their way to help with whatever you may need. The rooms are spotless and comfortable, the breakfasts hearty and delicious. The location is another bonus -with a transport pass you can get anywhere easily. This is truly our must-stay place for Toronto.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank jenshaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Bond Place Hotel
#58 of 135 in Toronto
2,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Toronto Garden Inn
Toronto Garden Inn
#8 of 118 in Toronto
253 reviews
West End
Clinton and Bloor B&B
Clinton and Bloor B&B
#2 of 118 in Toronto
711 reviews
Downtown
Downtown Home Inn
Downtown Home Inn
#10 of 118 in Toronto
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Seaton Dream B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Seaton Dream B & B

Address: 243 Seaton St, Toronto, Ontario M5A 2T5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range: £95 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A Seaton Dream B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private bathrooms for all! Experience casual elegance in downtown Toronto. We have carefully planned the decor of our bed and breakfast, which was completely renovated in 2007, to ensure you instantly feel relaxed and comfortable. Whether you are enjoying the garden patio, rejuvenating yourself in the sauna, drifting off to sleep on our new mattresses, or savoring a delicious hot breakfast, we look forward to making you feel at home every minute of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your A Seaton Dream B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing